We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spot”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage and Main House Swans Nest Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Cottage and Main House
Swans Nest Cottage
Swans Nest Cottage
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Single Bedroom
Single Bedroom
Shower Room
Laundry Facilities
Approach to Cottage
View from Cottage
Malton - Ryedale
North York Moors National Park
Yorkshire Wolds   -   Lost Village of Wharram Percy
York from Cliffords Tower
York - Stonegate
Robin Hoods Bay
Flamborough Head Cliffs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Malton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrea P
Adelaide South Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just out of Malton down a country lane, the site was convenient for accessing this part of North Yorkshire as well as shops and amenities in Malton, a decent sized market town. Very quiet and immaculately kept, the cottage is worth visiting for the toiletries alone! It sleeps three but its size is best suited to a couple I think as the living area is quite small. Mike lives next door and is a congenial bloke happy to give advice and help if required. We had a delightful stay and would return again or recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surrounding countryside
Liked least: Lack of easy dining facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieAnn9...
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Fantastic short stay at Swans Nest. The owners were very accommodating and helpful. There was a never ending pile of firewood which was great as it was lovely to sit in front of a nice warm fire after a day out in the cold!
Everywhere was lovely and clean and the surrounding area was beautiful.

Would love to stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Hi Katie. Thanks so much for the kind review, it really does help us. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Cheers from Yvonne & Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryRowe
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice as always”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Another stay with Yvonne and Mike, Warm Quiet and Cosy, we just need to book a week when it does not rain, but, all the more reason to sit in next to the Wood burning Fire. We will see you all again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosts and the Fire
Liked least: The Rain
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYC80
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Fantastic 2 weeks in a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a great time in this cottage. Yvonne and Mike were fantastic hosts and were very friendly and helpful. They were there when needed and you didn't feel they were intrusive at any point. The cakes and flowers were a nice touch.

The cottage itself is fairly secluded and very quiet but not too far away from the local town centre of Malton. Eden Camp is down the road and there is also the nearby town of Pickering. York is a bit further away although I would suggest you use the park and ride at Monks Cross. There are buses to York but it involves some walking to the main road and a bus change in Malton with a limited timetable.

There is various wildlife nearby. We saw all sorts of birds, a couple of pheasants which seemed to enjoy wondering around the front of the cottage as well as rabbits and hares on the nearby road as well.

I felt the cottage was a bit smaller than I imagined but it didn't take anything away from the experience. The cottage is spotlessly clean and the kitchen is well equipped and of good quality. The sofa was comfy and there is a decent sized television with a good range of films to suit most tastes as well a few board games for the evenings or a rainy days. There is a wood-burning fire and other heating in every room but the cottage felt fairly warm anyway.

Upstairs there is a rack with leaflets with lots of nearby attractions and some a bit further afield. The bedrooms are comfortable, bright and tastefully decorated and the single bedroom has a sink. There is plenty of draws and wardrobe space to put your clothes in.

There is also a laundry room which is next to the cottage but we didn't use it so we are unable to comment.

The only minor down points were that the loo was downstairs but LED torches were provided to get down the stairs at night and intermittent Wi-Fi. On some days it would refuse to work but considering the location its to be expected.

Overall we had a fantastic stay here. We would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort
Liked least: Loo downstairs (minor point)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Splodgego...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, spotless, quiet secluded spot, with free fuel for the log burner. Fantastic value.”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The welcome we received was in the form of a hot cross bun each, a roaring fire and flowers in a vase on the window sill - so lovely! The cottage was more roomy than the pictures can show and it was very clean. The quality of everything was very good indeed and there was provision for everything. There were games and DVD's for rainy days. Upstairs there was even a fluffy hot water bottle in each room, but the cottage was perfectly warm enough, especially when we had enjoyed using the wood burner in the evenings. Outside the bird feeders kept us interested, with tits and other small birds, and even a woodpecker visiting. The whole place was kept immaculately and we really enjoyed our stay. We will definitely return again for another holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome and log fire.
Liked least: Toilet downstairs, but no problem.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing