We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful find”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Congleton, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sheila L
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful find”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and husband and our daughter and grandchildren stayed at this gem of a holiday rental. We had absolutely everything we could possibly need in the cottage, and we all had such a relaxing time. We were so impressed that my husband and I have already planned our return trip. The fact that you are only 10 minutes from congleton town and straight out the gate onto the buxton road makes this a very convenient place to stay. Hopefully we can return in September .

Date of stay: June 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2014
Thank you for reviewing our cottage and for your super comments both for this review and also during your stay with us - it is so much appreciated. It was lovely to meet you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again soon. kind regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneS01
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing break in superior accomodation”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It is remiss of me not to have posted our review sooner:
Dave, Jake & I enjoyed a lovely break at Swallows Cottage during whit week, we found the cottage to be furnished to a high standard and were very much at home and relaxed during our stay.
The cottage is ideally located to visit the surrounding areas of Cheshire and the Peak District, amongst the areas we visited we most enjoyed Chatsworth House and the Blue John Mines. There are several great walks from the cottage if you prefer not to have to drive we recommend walking the "Cloud" the views are spectacular.
A great holiday and very much recommended.
We would like to thank Brenda, Tom & Jenny for a fab cottage and wish them every success.

the is and with BusDenotgae with the cottage offering a and relaxing atmos

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the relaxing atmospshere provided by the cottage having been restored with thought
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us and we're so pleased that you enjoyed our cottage - and visiting the local area - including your walk up Bosley Cloud to enjoy the spectacular views. Thank you also for your good wishes (and also for the birthday cake!).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24neilt
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have stayed in many self catering cottages but Swallows Barn has to be one of the best. The cottage was spotlessly clean upon our arrival, very well equipped & fitted out to a high standard. The lovely crisp white bed linen was also a treat., as were 2 ensuite bathrooms! There is a lovely atmosphere about the cottage very much a home from home we had some great days out, but looked forward to returning to the cosy cottage in the late afternoons

Brenda & Tom made us very welcome nothing is too much trouble for them, if you want to know any local information ask Brenda she is only too happy to help and has some great ideas for local walks & places of interest of which there are many. It was lambing time when we visited ask Tom or Brenda to show you around the farm its very interesting, the lambs were so cute

On her recommendation one evening we walked up to Bosley Cloud, wow the views from there are amazing.

We will most definitely be returning hopefully in the near future

Date of stay: May 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review of our new holiday cottage, Swallows Barn. We really enjoyed having you to stay with us and felt that you arrived as strangers but left as friends - so we were really sorry to see you leave. We particularly enjoyed chatting whilst sharing a bottle of wine on the patio on a lovely sunny evening - most enjoyable! We'll look forward to your return visit. Best regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaArena...
Macclesfield UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities, well-equipped & beautifully presented”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Swallows Barn with my three young children for 7 weeks whilst I was waiting to move to a longer term rental property. We had a wonderful stay in the Cottage. The owners, Brenda & Tom, could not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable or comfortable. The cottage contains everything you may need for a long or short-term stay and I have no hesitation in recommending it. The children had their own bathroom and there is a TV in every room. The children also enjoyed the fact that they lived on a farm. Brenda gave us a tour of the farm on our first day at the Cottage, which the children loved. There is also a lovely wood burner, making those winter evenings feel very cosy.

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was lovely and warm and extremely well-equipped.
Liked least: Difficult to say, everything about our stay was lovely.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review of our new holiday cottage. We aim to present a clean, comfortable and cosy cottage with high quality standards. We also aim to offer a warm and friendly welcome and every assistance to make your stay at with us as enjoyable as possible on our working farm. We are therefore so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Swallows Barn / Colley Farm. We really enjoyed having you and look forward to your return visit. With every good wish from Tom & Brenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.