We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
169
27
5
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
27
5
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner the river attending a wedding hadrian's wall cooked breakfast surrounding area the kitchen first floor room was spacious church street secure storage excellent bed and breakfast rooms were perfect my friend street parking full english breakfast stayed two nights
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Back at the Reading rooms its nice to see smiling friendly faces of the owner and staff the room was spacious clean and well equipt breakfast was lovely freshly cooked with a good choice of juices and cereals this place is great place to come and visit the northeast

Room Tip: Rm 2 has great views of the river tyne
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We spent three excellent nights at The Reading Rooms. Brian looked after us very well, even offering the larger two-singles room, which happened to be available, in spite of us booking the slightly smaller twin room. Lovely outlook over the River Tyne; we could come and go as we wished. Breakfast was very flexible for time and content – our host was happy to adjust to our needs in the morning. Very good quality food.
Our evening meals were at the Anchor, opposite and over the bridge – very good value and quality – and also the Fish and Chip shop (same position) which has huge pieces of haddock, which we took back to the B&B to eat, being given the use of the items in the kitchen.
Parking was always available on the main street - we moved the car up to the B&B in the early evening when many more spaces became available.
All-in-all, just what we wanted for a November stay, and we managed lots of the Roman sites, most within 15 miles of the B&B. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: 1st floor twin (+ third single) has views over the River Tyne
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank excel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

I have nothing but positive things to say about The Reading Rooms.

Pictures don't make justice to the place and Brian was quick and friendly in his responses and also as flexible as we needed him to be considering checking in / out times!

We visited Hadrian's Wall one morning and the following day / check out day, we followed Brian's advise and went to Kilder Forest to ride a bike (unfortunately bikes were all booked up due to school holidays) but still managed to have fun around the area... Drove to Edinburgh and then went back to the borders to Holy Island and Alnwick Gardens; again, following Brian's suggestions which were simply great. What a great host! He really highly contribute to the great memories my friend and I managed to write in our week holiday. We were very lucky starting our trip at The Reading Rooms

I will definitely stay over again!

My trip continue being special thanks to your great hospitality and valuable advise!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Eliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

My family (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed here for 3 nights and we had a lovely time. The room felt spacious, even with 4 people; beds were comfortable, everything was clean, and the view of the river was great. Breakfast was made to order with lots of options. Brian was an especially gracious host who went out of his way to offer us detailed advice and suggestions about the area, specifically in line with our own interests in seeking the archeological sites nearby. He saved the day when we left town and forgot our passports there! Highly recommend to anyone looking for a cozy (yet very comfortable) bed & breakfast; it's exactly as described in their listing and photos. One note: If traveling there by train, although some things online say it's located in Hexham, it's actually in Haydon's Bridge so take the train (or bus) to that stop (2 minutes walk from the B&B).

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank StoughtonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Stayed for 3 nights. Really good bed & breakfast. Spotlessly clean, comfortable room. great breakfast. Some great extras that make stay-over even better. Good value for money. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews