We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazingly Relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tyrella

Light and airy lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Light and airy lounge
TV unit showing flat screen TV, DAB stereo, DVD player and DVD library Open plan lounge with comfy sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Light and airy lounge
TV unit showing flat screen TV, DAB stereo, DVD player and DVD library
Open plan lounge with comfy sofa
Brentor Dartmoor
The fabulous, Valley of the Rocks
Tarka Trail cycle way
Devon celebrity, Verity
Hartland Quay
A Cornish beach
Sunset at Bude Canal
Action stations at Pendennis Castle
Tiverton Horse drawn barge, day trip
The Square, Shebbear, war memorial
The Square, Shebbear
Dingles Heritage Fair. A unique step back in time and undercover too
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holsworthy, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caz2576
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazingly Relaxing”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Paul & Lynn were fantastic hosts, there if you needed them but left you to enjoy your break. I highly recommend the pub opposite, they did a mean roast and were really friendly and welcoming.

The flat was lovely to stay in and had all you could need and was an ideal place to be able to go off for the day to places like Barnstaple etc.

Thank you both Lynn and Paul

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
You are most welcome. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne P
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommendable”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Tyrella was an excellent choice of a place to stay while my husband was on a short training course in Buckland Filleigh. Paul and Lynn were really helpful and friendly and were kind enough to have provided a few essentials on our arrival after a long journey. The apartment was warm and comfortable, the shower was fabulous and the bed was as comfortable as the one we have at home, making it the best bed we've slept in in all of the self catering holidays we've had over the last 15 years!
Being self catering meant that I could come and go as I pleased while my husband was training. I found it to be in easy reach of Clovelly, Hartland Abbey and the Alpaca Park, all of which were well worth the visit. The pub across the road served great food and the staff and locals very friendly and welcoming. We would definitely come back to Tyrella if staying in this area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed and the shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent accomodation, a real 'home from home'!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in October 2013

My husband and I had a very pleasant stay in Tyrella. The first floor flat was very well equipped and immaculately clean. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful and gave us a very warm welcome! The village was ideally placed for exploring the surrounding area and countryside, within a semi-rural setting. The local shop was a short walk from Tyrella and was well stocked for all your emergency supplies. We didn't try the pub, but was clearly used by the locals, especially at the weekend. Should we ever want to stay in the area again, Tyrella would be near the top of the list!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the flat and it was well equipped.
Liked least: It was on the main street, opposite the pub and could be noisy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had such a good stay at Tyrella. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mum21kent
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We (myself, my husband and my 12 year old son) had the pleasure of staying here mid July. We had an awful time with our hire car company which resulted in us being without a car - Paul the owner went out of his way to help us; collected us from the station, showed us places en route that we could visit, and suggested ways we could get around. We could not have been more grateful. Unfotunately the bus service ended up being suspended due to local roadworks and this resulted in us having to cut our holiday short, as without a car or a bus service you really are stranded. However, that does not stop me recommending this accomodation. It is very comfortable, clean and has everything you could possibly want. The local pub is ok, and the local shop sells some nice local produce which we were lucky enough to sample. It is peaceful and a great base for exploring North Devon/Cornwall.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The overall comfort of the accommodation
Liked least: The noise from the cold tap in the bathroom
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you all. We would love to see you again for you to be able to see our local beauty spots to the full.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larky71
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Escape the Rat Race.”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

If you're looking for a quiet getaway in North Devon then look no further. A clean, modern, self contained flat in a quiet village with a Shop around the corner and a homely pub serving great food and ale on your doorstep. Also within easy driving distance of the coast. Paul and Lynn are always on hand if you need anything and are very friendly. We've stayed three times now and will definitely return. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness of flat / pub across the road/ peace and quiet
Liked least: No mobile phone signal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoy staying with us and look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing