We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect stay...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Homestead

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Homestead @ Southcombe Farm The Homesteads lovely living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Homestead @ Southcombe Farm
The Homesteads lovely living area
The Homesteads king size master bedroom
The Homestead @ Southcombe Farm is situated in its own private garden
The Square in Holsworthy.  Full of shops, cafes and pubs
Dam building on the farm stream
Spot wildlife on the farm
Help us feed the animals
Quiet country location, explore the farm
Great beaches and surf nearby
Lots of things to look at in the wildlife hide
Kids love doing river walks up the farm stream
Depending on the weather we always do a tractor ride for families with children
Lovely countryside all around waiting for you to explore!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holsworthy, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clare Str...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfect stay...”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a lively week we had at the homestead... The cottage was comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The children loved the freedom to play in the fields and enjoyed a real sense of adventure.
They loved helping with the hens and ducks, a really memorable holiday for all!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Homestead, it is really appreciated :-)
I'm pleased you all had a great time and enjoyed being on the Farm!
It was great to have your help with the animals and hear about all your wildlife sightings.
Thank you again for staying with us :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B
1 review
“holiday break at the homestead”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I have stayed at the farm many times, this time I chose the homestead accommodation it was equal to the Barn for its comfort and amenities.The hosts are delightful people and very helpful ensuring that all needs are met.The farm is set in many acres of pasture and woodland, wellington boots are strongly recommended when venturing off on countryfile type hikes.Holsworthy is asplendid set off point for amultitude of places of particular interest in devon and cornwall. I'm already looking forward to my next visit to the Farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The policy of the owners to ensure all was well!
Liked least: I didnt dislike much at all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the Homestead. It is very much appreciated.
I'm so pleased that the Homestead lived up to your expectations and that you still enjoy staying with us at Southcombe Farm after all these years.
Thank you for staying with us again and we very much look forward to welcoming you next year :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb, luxury accommodation on a Devonshire farm with perfect hosts!!”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Paul and his family made us feel extremely welcome from the minute we arrived.
We wanted the comforts of home in a peaceful location but with something for our little ones (4 & 6) to do during half term. We couldn't of wanted anymore. The "Homestead" is the perfect retreat, immaculately presented with everything you could possibly need for a smooth week away. Plenty of room for a family of 4. Paul was always on hand should we of had any questions of where to eat out or places worthy of a visit. Our children really enjoyed feeding the animals each morning with Paul delivering a very informative and fun tractor ride. Having Waitrose (5 mins in car) very close by made self-catering really easy. We visited the "BIg Sheep" and had a great day out. Even on a wet day we managed to find something to entertain the little ones with a short drive away. (If you can pull yourself away from the Homestead that is.
This was the best holiday we've had in the UK for along time. (I am fussy where I go).
A big thank you to Paul & Jim, we will see you again in the future. Missing the fresh eggs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday and being so complementary.
I'm really pleased you all enjoyed The Homestead, the farm and surrounding area.
Thank you again for staying with us and it would be great to welcome you back in the future :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHD2015
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK - ended up being fined”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Paul was very accommodating who helped us settle in. Great place to have a weekend away with the lads. Only downside is before we booked, pictures illustrated to have a flat screen television. Upon arriving, we found a old 1990s style telly (Paul has now removed the picture with a telly). However, Paul and his parents were very helpful when our car got stuck in the mud and pulled us out with a tractor. Wellies are a must when visiting the Homestead during winter/rainy seasons. Because we are young lads, we did take the liberty and ended up paying £230.99 in addition to the rental to fix all the damages we caused. Some damages which were claimed against us was not caused by us. Windows had dead insects (flies, spiders), so upon opening windows for some morning fresh air, we was swamped with a load of dead insects falling on us. However, great accommodation. Lovely cosy cottage. And a great place to stay. Recommendations all round only if you take care of the property. Thanks Paul.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your two night stay at the Homestead over New Year.

I would like to apologise for:-

1. The flat screen TV not being available during your stay. It was in the process of being replaced and in the interim I provided a large conventional TV with a tube. A flat screen TV has now been sourced and placed back in the Homestead. For the record none of the online pictures of the Homestead have been changed.

2. Flies. Unfortunately during the winter, flies do sometimes take shelter in between the windows and the frames. When the window is opened the flies can fall or fly into the house. I am sorry about this and in future will check all the windows before guests arrive.

Regarding the charges. It is clearly stated that all damages must be paid for, the property must be left clean, tidy and there is no smoking. The charges incurred were for the following:-

1. The cleaning charge. You left washing up, food and all sorts of mess in the kitchen area. The rest of the house was left in a mess with bedding in the lounge and someone had slept in the store room. You had also helped yourself to our supplies.

2. Ash left all over the dining table and burn marks to the table cloth.

3. Multiple burn marks on wooden floors. They needed to be rubbed down, filled and re-varnished where burnt.

4. Multiple burns to the door mat.

5. On New Years Eve when you drove your car into a field it became apparent that there were 6 of you in the property when the maximum capacity of the Homestead is only 4.

It was a disappointing New Years Day for us at Southcombe Farm when you left and we found all the damage and mess. However, I am grateful that you faced your responsibilities and paid for the damage you caused.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxury Holiday Accommodation”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I have just returned from one weeks holiday staying at the Homestead.We were greeted by Paul who made us very welcome.
The accommodation was immaculate, also included were very nice touches such as homemade cake,milk,and freshly laid eggs in the fridge.Extras like washing up liquid,dish cloths,lovely white towels,bathrobes and even toiletries in the bath room shampoo,shower gel etc.
The homestead has a lovely veranda which we sat out most evenings with a glass of wine,and first thing in the morning with our coffee taking in all the beautiful views of the farm and surrounding area.
The property is ideally located to explore North Devon and Cornwall with its beautiful countryside and beaches.
Holsworthy is only a few minutes drive where there are some nice places to eat out.
We both would like to thank Paul and his family for their hospitality during our stay and hopefully we will be able to come back early in the new year,cant wait to sit in front of that lovely log fire with a glass of wine the weather was too warm on this visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views from all the rooms.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thank you for your complementary review. It is much appreciated :-)
We are all really pleased you had a great holiday and want to return.
Whatever the time of year you can be sure of being very comfortable in the Homestead @ Southcombe Farm.
Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing