We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“For the nature lover”
other travellers have booked this property
Breakfast can be served to you on your private dining deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breakfast can be served to you on your private dining deck
Church Cottage Studio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Breakfast can be served to you on your private dining deck
Church Cottage Studio
bespoke kitchenette
Its the one for you!
Luxurious King size bed
The perfect Cyber Detox Retreat
Sandymouth beach - a short drive away
View from the meadow
Dartmoor - a short drive away
Church Cottage Studio
The perfect Autumn/Winter  Retreat to two
Cosy nights by the woodburner
Sunset at Widemouth bay, Bude
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Holsworthy, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mandamoo1...
Melton Mowbray
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For the nature lover”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Excellent value for money. Exceeds expectation. Great service from booking to leaving. Made very welcome. Fabulous food in quality, taste and presentation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind review, it was a joy to meet you both and host you at Church Cottage Studio. I look forward to welcoming you back when you have time I your busy schedules to return and explore all that this lovely part of North Devon/Cornwall has to offer.
Kindest regards
Paula x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P
2 reviews
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Everything about Church Cottage Studio is simply superb. The setting is stunning with beautiful views across the wild flower meadow and the woodland beyond. At night time star gazing from the decking was simply amazing together with the beautifully flood lit 300 year old oak tree made for a perfect evening. The attention to detail is second to none with very many thoughtful touches that make The Studio very special. The hosts, Paula and Kevin are perfect in every way - nothing is too much trouble. If you are the slightest bit interested in classic cars or cars in general then this is the place for you with some fantastic driving roads and Kevin will point you in the right direction along with his own classic cars. It was an absolute pleasure to spend time enjoying the beautiful surroundings and everything this special place has to offer. We are already planing our next trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Julie and Rodger, thank you for your lovely review of Church Cottage Studio. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your evenings stargazing on your private decking and the wonderful sight of the floodlit oak tree opposite. We are also pleased that, as fellow classic car enthusiasts, you discovered the joys of driving across the wonderful Dartmoor National Park and all that it has to offer in terms of breathing taking views and quaint Devon villages.
We are looking forward to your return trip in 2017, so have already started to plan some lovely driving routes for you along the amazing North Devon/Cornish coastline.
Kindest regards
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louy8773
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Which to praise first...? The perfect host? The glorious location? Or the stunning accommodation?
This was our second visit in a month and when you visit you'll understand why.
Paula and Kevin are impeccable hosts. The studio is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Having stayed in quality hotels such as The Savoy, I would rate this studio a higher class. Attention to detail is both impressive and overwhelming. Paula has taken great care in choosing furniture and finishing touches. Nothing beats sitting in the chaise longue, looking across the decking towards the meadow with a book in hand. The grounds ofChurch Cottage Studio holds a wonderful history and hearing how it has been restored makes it all the more special.

Location wise, it is a 15-20 minute drive to Widemouth Bay and its wonderful sandy beach. A short distance further and you can enjoy a traditional Cornish pasty in Boscastle. An hour and 20 minutes away is the Eden Project. So, it's a fantastic location to explore both Devon and Cornwall.

Breakfast is plentiful and is prepared to perfection. Nothing is too much trouble.

I simply cannot recommend Church Cottage Studio enough and I look forward to returning soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Wow, what can I say! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review X it was lovely to host you both again and to hear about your daily adventures as you explored this amazing region. I try to ensure that guests experience the very best hospitality, the kind that I expect to receive myself. So I am really delighted that you both appreciate everything that a stay in Church Cottage Studio offers in terms of atmosphere, location and that all important element of relaxation. I look forward to seeing you both again soon as you continue your journey of discovery around Devon and Cornwall.
Kindest regards,
Paula x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A
1 review
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This place is amazing, within 30 seconds of getting out of the car we could feel all the stress of day to day life slipping away. Paula and Kevin are the most kind and thoughtful hosts we have ever met. The studio is luxurious and the attention to detail is out of this world. The breakfasts fit for royalty and the little touches throughout made us feel truly spoilt. We couldn't get enough of the stunning views and walking around the meadow, every time seeing something new, from dragonflies to deer. We had all good intentions to visit some of the many local attractions during the day but just couldn't bear to leave the place! This way surpassed our expectations and we cannot wait to return. Thank you Paula and Kevin for making our break just perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Thank you for your great review. It was lovely to see you enjoying the views and simply watching the wildlife and walking around the meadow. Thank you also for your kind comments about the breakfasts and hospitality treats. Look forward to welcoming you back whenever you need to de-stress from day to day life.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coffeeadd...
wales
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Surpassed all expectations!”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Wow!

From the moment we arrived at Church Cottage Paula and Kevin were outstanding.

The Studio was absolutely immaculate , with incredible attention to detail.

Paula and Kevin were perfect hosts, breakfast was delicious each morning and cooked to perfection.

We felt relaxed immediately and were so fortunate to enjoy 3 days of absolute bliss !

Missing you already and can't wait to return , over the cattle grid to our little peace of Heaven

Thank you Both xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Thank you for your fabulous comments, they are greatly received. You both were great fun loving guests who came here to relax which you did. We are glad you liked the studio, this is what it was designed for, also pleased that breakfast was enjoyed by you both.

We too are really looking forward to your next visit over our cattle grid "where time calms down".....

Keep smiling,

X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing