We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Peyia!”
Review of Peyia Tavern

Peyia Tavern
Ranked #11 of 77 Restaurants in Peyia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: “Peyia Tavern” is a family restaurant and is highly recommended, here you will have the opportunity to sample the “Traditional Special Meat Meze”, great dish for the meat lovers. The meat is cooked in the traditional Cypriot way. The Special Meze is served one dish at a time by the Taverna staff which are family members. Be careful not to over face yourself with the bread, salad, dips and pourgouri (traditional couscous) which is served as an appetiser prior to the meat dishes. Also the taverna serves traditional dishes like "Halloumi", "Sieftalia" and "Stifado".
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We came here tonight after booking at around midday, we arrived and were immediately greeted and shown to our seats, as we sat down we received a basket of bread as well as Greek dips such as tzatziki along with houmous, after a brief time our waiter came over and asked what drinks we would like, we promptly received these and ordered our food. We ordered 3 mezes along with the Halloumi and Chicken dishes between 5 of us, partnered with carafe and a few native Cypriot lagers. As well as the food being impeccable with more than enough to stuff each one of our stomachs, it was at a very reasonable price at way below €100, which we all felt was great for the mixture of service, location with views, and quality of food.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Acott13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Made an impromptu visit to the Peyia Tavern without booking, and although the restaurant was extremely busy, the staff still managed to find us a table. The food was excellent and the service friendly and at a pace where we didn't feel rushed. The halloumi here is the best we've ever tasted. Perfect. Will definitely visit again when we return to Peyia.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank Saz970507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We were recomended to eat at this restaurant by an English couple who now live in Peyia. We met the owner by chance on arrival and he sat us at a table where we asked for the menu - there wasnt one - he told us it was a "live menu". He rattled off details of the food that was available and we decided on the Mezee. It was brought to the table piece by piece so that everything was hot and fresh and it really was delicious. No room for a dessert as the meal comprised of Greek Salad , Pitta , Haloumi, Chicken , Pork , Lamb and Cous Cous. Euros 30 for the meals . Make sure you book a table if you are staying in any one of the numerous villas in the area.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ncressy127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

After been recommended this in our holiday apartment for this lovely place to eat ..... what can we say ,my son and ourselves we’re not disappointed . We we’re lucky to get a table ..... so please book if you can to avoid disappointment ! £15euro for meze pp , great friendly staff . Right in the heart of peyia village .
Sorry didn’t take many pics as was to busy enjoying the food !

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Pip1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

1st night of hols & the recommendation we got to try the Peyia tavern was put to the test.
Drinks ordered we wondered about menus.. There aren't any, a list of meats to choose from and that's it, I chose lamb.
There followed a series of plates and bowls of great food, couscous, salad, bread, dips, seasonal veg.. Once that was on it's way, the meat and fresh chips arrived.. Massive Lamb Chops and plenty of everything. We made friends with Silvio Burlesconi the cat and I wondered how much this would cost.. The answer.. Not much..
We saved a second visit for later in the holiday and if anything it was even better, staff are super friendly but not in your face. Would recommend to anyone.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peyia Tavern also viewed

 
Peyia, Paphos District
Peyia, Paphos District
 

Been to Peyia Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing