We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great well equipped appartment.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Luz, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Eddie K
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great well equipped appartment.”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The appartment is well equipped for a small family or two couples. It is in a convenient location, close to good restaurants,bars and shops. The pool & garden area is well cared for with ample sunbeds.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thanks for your review and nice comments in the visitors book. We are pleased you had a wonderful holiday and hope you will return and visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay in our holiday home. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hughieboy
Bicester, Oxon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice apartment let down by a couple of issues...”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Firstly, this is a nice apartment. It is spacious, modern, clean and well appointed. It has a balcony from which you can see the sea, has plenty of parking and a lift. We decided to book this after seeing the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and we liked the look of the place. We are regular visitors to Luz and have stayed in all sorts of accommodation over the years locally so we did arrive with a level of expectation.

The apartment is a in a nice looking development at the top of Luz near the main Burgau road. Whilst there is no facilities on site, there is a small supermarket a couple of minutes walk away along with a cashpoint and an Italian restaurant. The main facilities, bars, restaurants etc of Luz are about a ten minute walk downhill (a bit longer coming back up!). The thing we most liked about the apartment was the look and size of it and the view from the balcony. Unfortunately though, there were a couple of issues which might not bother some people but spoiled things a bit for us.

The main issue we had was that although it is a nice apartment and the pool area is well laid out there is no provision for shade. There are no parasols by the pool and although there was a small beach type parasol in the apartment that could be used there was nothing to stand it up with. If you wanted to sit outside it was either in full exposure to the July sun or sit there physically holding your umbrella! Not ideal. On the one occasion my wife found an umbrella stand not in use some woman snapped 'you can't use that, it's ours...!' at her..... Nice!

If you book a holiday let with a pool you expect to be able to make full use of it. I spoke to the management office and they seemed oblivious to what if any arrangement was in place regarding the brolly issue and said they would look into it. Well, nothing happened and we ended up not being able to sit by the pool very much which was really disappointing. In addition,the pool itself was looking pretty dirty towards the end of the holiday.

Other issues for us, the bedding and towels were pretty low rent. Typical long suffering holiday let quality here, nothing to complain about but nothing to commend. There is also a wooden skirt that sticks out horizontally at shin level around the beds. Got a couple of bruises from that until we wised up!

I contacted the owner on our return about the things I've mentioned to see what they said before submitting a review who just said 'we take your comments on board, glad you enjoyed your holiday...!'

We left feeling it could have been so much better with not much effort. It's like a certain standard is met around the place and nothing more, that's your lot. The price was good and everyone we have dealt with has been friendly but it seemed that there were too many bare minimums and a polite indifference to real customer satisfaction. You are paying for the use of someone else's property and that is how it feels rather than feeling like you're on holiday. As a base for a short break where you just need decent accommodation for a reasonable price then it's pretty good but for a longer holiday or a poolside break the shortcomings will probably get on your nerves as they did ours.

Maybe we expect too much, it was nice enough but not for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the apartment.
Liked least: The lack of any shade around the pool.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am disappointed that you felt that we showed indifference to your feedback, as I did take your comments on board as I said I would, as stated in my second e-mail to you. In fact, we now have a parasol base for sole use of the apartment.

Having spoken to our Management Company (who are based on site) they have informed me that following your visit to them, where they filled a parasol stand that you brought into the office with water for you, they did not see you again and thought that your issue was resolved. If you had called into the office on the way down to the pool, still having the same issue, you would have been told by Lauren (who is fairly new and said she would find out for you), that they did in fact have stands that you could use. We frequently use the pool on our visits and if it's too windy for an umbrella and stand, we find the pagoda and trees give us some shade.

Our information booklet in the apartment does say that any issues with the pool cleaning should be reported to our Management Company and they can get the pool cleaners in to sort it out. As the weather is sometimes windy there, on occasions the pool needs to be cleaned more frequently. It's a shame that you did not report this to the management company as this could have been sorted for you.

I was also very surprised at your comments regarding the linen, as previous guests have not raised this as an issue and have given us wonderfully positive feedback about the standard of the facilities provided, never that there were 'bare minimums'. Our guests are usually surprised at the high standard of the apartment and this is reflected in all of the other reviews.

When I visited the apartment shortly after your stay I did check the clean laundry that had been used from your stay: six sets of bedding from the three beds that your wife and yourself had used (including the second sets that had been changed over mid way through your stay) and found one double sheet which was a little bit worn but clean, that was not meant to be in the guest laundry cupboard and I have thrown it away. The other bedding is relatively new and am sorry that you felt it was sub standard, as the apartment is certainly not a 'long suffering holiday let', with an average of 6 weeks' bookings per year as this is our holiday home mainly for our own use.

Regards
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
741nneta
New Jersey
2 reviews
“Beauty of the coastal Portugal”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a great time at Luz in July. Apt was in very good condition and all appliances there even more than we needed. we had a beautiful Atlantic view from the balcony. We spent almost all sunsets there. The only thing is that an actual time from apt to the beach is more like 15 min, not 5 as was advertised, but it was not a problem.
Water was very cold though, swimming was brief. so, the warmest water we found in lagoon east to Faro. The small town of Luz is fine. Food and services everywhere were great, people are very friendly. me and my husband will definitely return to the south of Portugal to explore this beautiful area more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sea view
Liked least: long walk to beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve B
1 review
“Wonderful and relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent six nights in the apartment and could have stayed longer. Great location, perfect for kids; our son enjoyed his time in the kids pool. The apartment was clean and very well furnished with a great view on the sea.

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing