We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for both chilling and relaxing, or...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Helia

Villa and pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa and pool
View from patio area out to sea over olive groves Rear of  Villa and Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Villa and pool
View from patio area out to sea over olive groves
Rear of  Villa and Pool
Relaxing by the  large  pool
Front of villa
View across pool out to sea
View to Almyryda
View to White Mountains from front balcony
Living room
Living room, kitchen and outside covered dining area
Kitchen
Downstairs double bedroom
Downstairs bedroom wardrobe and view
Upstairs double bedroom
Upstairs double bedroom and balcony
Upstairs double bedroom
Upstairs twin bedroom
Downstairs bathroom
Upstairs bathroom
Rear balcony
View of the White Mountains
View from the patio area
Walk through the lower garden area
Lower garden area
Lower garden area
Almyrida beach
Almyrida beach
Chania harbour
View of Souda Bay from Aptera Fort
Almyrida Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
thanetian...
thanet
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great for both chilling and relaxing, or exploring some of Crete's history and sights.”
Reviewed 10 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is beautiful - high quality, spacious, spotless, well-equipped, in large gardens with panoramic views. Sunsets over the mountains were a photographer’s dream. There is air-con plus ceiling fans, a full cooker, enormous fridge-freezer, two bathrooms, a DVD player with a stack of DVDs, CD player with selection of CDs, books, games – a real home-from-home. A generous welcome pack was provided – tea, coffee, water, eggs, bread, jam – even a bottle of the local wine! We had no noisy neighbours – just the tinkling bells of the local sheep, the local cockerel crowing and a friendly moggie or two passing through. Communication with the owner was easy and efficient and every query I had was quickly and pleasantly answered.
The supermarkets in Almyrida aren’t up to much but a short drive into Kalyves takes you to the INKA store which has everything you could need and even opens on Sundays.
Almyrida is a sweet little seaside town with a great choice of eateries lined up along the shoreline. We found it very easy to park – either next to the Almyrida Beach Hotel, along the promenade or slightly off the main strip. The beach seemed a bit crowded but we didn’t really use it as we had such a lovely place to go back to.
I can thoroughly recommend the 20 minute stroll from the Villa to the pretty village of Douliana. (Follow the owner’s written directions for this walk and not Google, as Google will mis-direct you to the garden of a rather grumpy Brit!). The Blue Garden Restaurant and Pool Bar in Douliana is lovely and ideal for a lunchtime snack. There is also a taverna and at least 2 other bars. The lady at Natalia’s Houses will even rustle you up an ice cream sundae with home-made grape syrup for a very reasonable price! A drive to nearby Georgiopolis is also well worthwhile.
Now the negatives (which are not the fault of the villa but which may be relevant to your enjoyment of the holiday!):
Cretan country roads are a total nightmare – especially those leading to hillside villas! The track to Villa Helia is single lane, pot-holed, steep and slippery. Non-confident drivers beware!
Although the walk from the villa down to the seaside at Almyrida is picturesque and quite easy, I would advise driving unless you are prepared to either walk back up (bearing in mind that there is no lighting so it is black as pitch after dark!) or to fork out 17 Euros plus tip for a taxi back – surely the most expensive taxi ride metre for metre in the civilised world! (Which was a bit of a shock given a reviewer last year saying taxis were easy and cost 5-10 euros!) Our taxi driver apparently had no idea where Villa Helia (or the boatyard on the way) were to be found. He phoned his office but they didn’t know either. Despairing of getting back, we had the idea of showing him our destination by finding Villa Tamos on the taxi driver’s smart phone. (Villa Tamos is the villa next door and, unlike Villa Helia, is pin-pointed on Google maps). The driver then followed Google’s directions! Incidentally, the “Villa Tamos method” of navigating also works when you want to find your way back from other outings – providing you have a smart phone! The driver also complained incessantly, on the short journey. about the state of the road surface as if it were of our doing!
The only other negative as far as I was concerned was that the beautiful pool was too deep for me to touch bottom at any point except the area near the steps. I came to swimming late in life and need to be able to know I can just put my toes down. This was not a problem for the rest of the party who ploughed up and down confidently but just be aware if you are a wuss like me! Perhaps pack a float?
All in all a great holiday choice whether you want to chill and relax or to explore the area and take in some of the history and sights.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Em_Em65
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just spent an idyllic 2 weeks in Villa Helia, we booked for our honeymoon, and we weren't disappointed, even though we had a later flight and arrived in the dark, we found the villa with the excellent directions we had been given, the villa is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need, every bedroom has air conditioning and a balcony with stunning views, we chose a different balcony every evening!! the area is incredibly quiet, except for jingle of sheep bells, and of course the chicadas, we sat out on the balconys in the evening watching for shooting stars and we were lucky enough to see a few, the villa is far enough away from everything for peace and quiet but close enough to Almyrida if you want a romantic meal, the village of Gavalohori is approximately 10 minutes by car and has a few wonderful tavernas, the beach of Almyrida is also very pretty and a few evenings were spent watching the surfers and the sunsets, the villa has a huge pool and with the temperature in the 90's it was perfect to cool down, the Villa is of very high standard, and Graham has certainly thought of everything you might need, and even a few things you might not, we loved it so much that we are looking to book again next year, I cannot rate this villa and Graham high enough, as it truly is a little piece of heaven!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you really enjoyed your honeymoon at our villa. We are also happy that you love the area as much as we do and look forward to welcoming you back next year for your stay in September. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review of your recent holiday at our villa. We are really pleased that you and your family had such a great time. The peaceful, beautiful, location , yet so close to the amenities in Almyrida is what attracted us to have the villa built there and are glad that you appreciated this.
We hope that you and your family will make a return visit in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CazzaPlac...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely spectacular!”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The lovely online photos don't actually do this property justice. The villa is large, airy and well looked after and the pool is nothing short of spectacular! We had a wonderful stay with our two young children at the start of June. The villa was well equipped, and the large private grounds perfect for days lazing around the pool. It's just a short drive into Almyrida to a long, safe, sandy beach and a good selection of restaurants. Graham (the owner) was very helpful pre-trip will lots of information and guides to the local area. We couldn't ask for more from a holiday, we would love to return!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
I am really pleased that you and your young family had a great holiday at our villa. Thank you for your positive comments about the villa and the pool. We also love the amenities that Almyrida offers.
We hope that you and your family will return soon. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoJoTouri...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet villa”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My heart was in my mouth when we turned off the main road on to the dirt track leading to the villa - over 1 mile later and some real twists and turns we arrived to this lovely private villa perched high at the top of the track.
That was the only time I queried booking here, the villa itself is spacious and well equipped, with ample storage in all bedrooms.
The pool is large enough to have a really decent swim and by the evening the water has warmed up to bathwater level - wonderful. There are large private gardens and although there are other villas around we never felt overlooked nor did we have any problems with noise, despite there being a young family next door.
Despite original reservations we actually found the walk down the track to Almyrida (1.7 miles downhill) was just what we needed after a lazy day around the pool. It set us up for a cheeky G&T for our efforts whilst we sat overlooking the beach and enjoying the sunset before deciding which of the many restaurants to try that evening. It was easy to get a taxi back - prices ranged from 5 - 10 Euros.
For us the week went far too quickly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
I am really pleased that you enjoyed our villa and pool so much and endorse the positive comments of other guests.
For the benefit of others it is worth clarifying that the access road is part asphalt and part loose surface. In Crete this is normal , particularly for new properties.
I know you enjoyed your walk to Almyrida, where you enjoyed the amenities , but there is a much quicker route which I would be happy to share with you if you have a return stay.
Thank you again for your booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing