We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Helia

Villa and pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa and pool
View from patio area out to sea over olive groves Rear of  Villa and Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Villa and pool
View from patio area out to sea over olive groves
Rear of  Villa and Pool
Relaxing by the  large  pool
Front of villa
View across pool out to sea
View to Almyryda
View to White Mountains from front balcony
Part of Lounge and outdoor dining
Kitchen
One of 2 double bedrooms
Rear balcony
View of the White Mountains
View from the patio area
Walk through the lower garden area
Lower garden area
Lower garden area
Almyrida beach
Almyrida beach
Chania harbour
View of Souda Bay from Aptera Fort
Almyrida Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julesno01
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

After much searching we found Villa Helia and what a fabulous find. We reiterate everything the other guests have said. The views were breathtaking, the pool and house were very well kept, with a welcome full house clean halfway through, the pool more regularly and Graham's correspondence and information were priceless! The pool and outside space were definitely the highlight for us, our girls lived in it . At 9 and 12 they loved every minute of it and told us ' it's the best holiday we've ever had'! We got everything we would have wished for in a holiday and more. Lazy days by the pool ( lots of books and board games in the house), early morning swims as the sun rose, early evening swims watching the sunset, some lovely trips out sightseeing plus the local beaches and restaurants were gorgeous. The Cretans are also very lovely, helpful and welcoming. The villa is situated up a dirt road so whilst our hire car sufficed we have said when we go again we will hire a 4x4! On that note we can't wait for our next stay it was certainly the best family holiday we've ever had and we're all very sad to leave 'our house'! Thank you graham and family for the welcome pack and loan of your wonderful home 'we will be back'

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
I am really pleased that you and your family enjoyed our villa and pool so much and endorse the positive comments of others. As has been said the access from the road is fine for a hire car. For the benefit of others it is worth clarifying that the access is part ashphalt and part loose surface and that in Crete this is perfectly normal , particularly for newer properties.
As you have said the views from the villa are stunning and as noted by others in a very peaceful location.Thank you again for your booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korpakos1
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We returned for another year to this excellent villa and once again was well worth it.Great facilities even more now that wifi has been added.As other said in reviews location and views are outstanding;living quarters match the above and are a reflection of how well maintained the property is by owner.
We would no doubt been returning next year and would highly recommend this villa to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, tranquil location
Liked least: Not available
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Villa in a perfect location”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked to stay for 6 days and really wish we had booked for longer. Myself, my wife and our two girls (age 2 and 3) absolutely loved the villa. The pool was perfect and so clean. It was difficult to get the girls out of it and it was the first thing they wanted to do when they woke up.

As others have said the views from both sides of the Villa are outstanding - the sea to the front and mountains to the rear. The villa is far enough out of town to be peaceful and quiet in the evenings, but is only a short 5 minute car ride to the beach, shops, restaurants in Almyrida. The kitchen had everything we needed as a family of four to prepare all of our meals.

There are herds of goats that roam around the area and our children loved hearing the bells that they wore and running out to see where they were. If you are travelling with children I would definitely recommend this Villa. It is completely enclosed with a low wall which means they are safe and the road running past the Villa is so quiet, I think we only saw three other cars in 6 days. The pool is deep so our kids couldn't touch the bottom, but they were happy to be using their rings or arm bands with us.

We were all so sad to leave the Villa on Saturday and our daughters are still asking when we can go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the peace and tranquility in the evenings.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent villa, peace, tranquility and wonderful views.”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned with my husband from a lovely relaxing holiday at villa Helia. The villa stands on a large plot surrounded by trees, olive groves and flowering shrubs with the scent of Honeysuckle, Rosemary and Jasmine. Woke up in the morning to birdsong and looked out of the window across the olive groves to the sea, bliss. The pool is large and an unusual shape with plenty of room for sunbeds all around. The 2 balconies are very spacious, to the rear looking down to the sea and to the left the mountains where the sunsets are amazing and the front looks out over the valley to the hills beyond. The owner, Graham, was very good with communications and is very friendly. We will be back. Thanks again Graham.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbl5
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Villa Helia is a beautiful place in a beautiful place...”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Villa interior is cool uplifting and comfortable, all mod cons and creature comforts catered to. Lovely rooms etc Outside, intriguing stone walled and shady gardens with little winding paths grandstand sea, mountain and inland views.Totally conducive to complete comfort and relaxation. Pool was pristine and private, enjoyed a great swim everyday. walked to a nearby village on the lovely back country lane full of greenery and bird song.
We hired a car online from local firm , absolutely grade A. Drove to three historical sites on the island - motorway makes everywhere accessible - great days out .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: villa and pool
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing