We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Villa in a perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Helia

Villa and pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa and pool
View from patio area out to sea over olive groves Rear of  Villa and Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Villa and pool
View from patio area out to sea over olive groves
Rear of  Villa and Pool
Relaxing by the  large  pool
Front of villa
View across pool out to sea
View to Almyryda
View to White Mountains from front balcony
Part of Lounge and outdoor dining
Kitchen
One of 2 double bedrooms
Rear balcony
View of the White Mountains
View from the patio area
Walk through the lower garden area
Lower garden area
Lower garden area
Almyrida beach
Almyrida beach
Chania harbour
View of Souda Bay from Aptera Fort
Almyrida Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew B
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villa in a perfect location”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked to stay for 6 days and really wish we had booked for longer. Myself, my wife and our two girls (age 2 and 3) absolutely loved the villa. The pool was perfect and so clean. It was difficult to get the girls out of it and it was the first thing they wanted to do when they woke up.

As others have said the views from both sides of the Villa are outstanding - the sea to the front and mountains to the rear. The villa is far enough out of town to be peaceful and quiet in the evenings, but is only a short 5 minute car ride to the beach, shops, restaurants in Almyrida. The kitchen had everything we needed as a family of four to prepare all of our meals.

There are herds of goats that roam around the area and our children loved hearing the bells that they wore and running out to see where they were. If you are travelling with children I would definitely recommend this Villa. It is completely enclosed with a low wall which means they are safe and the road running past the Villa is so quiet, I think we only saw three other cars in 6 days. The pool is deep so our kids couldn't touch the bottom, but they were happy to be using their rings or arm bands with us.

We were all so sad to leave the Villa on Saturday and our daughters are still asking when we can go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the peace and tranquility in the evenings.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent villa, peace, tranquility and wonderful views.”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned with my husband from a lovely relaxing holiday at villa Helia. The villa stands on a large plot surrounded by trees, olive groves and flowering shrubs with the scent of Honeysuckle, Rosemary and Jasmine. Woke up in the morning to birdsong and looked out of the window across the olive groves to the sea, bliss. The pool is large and an unusual shape with plenty of room for sunbeds all around. The 2 balconies are very spacious, to the rear looking down to the sea and to the left the mountains where the sunsets are amazing and the front looks out over the valley to the hills beyond. The owner, Graham, was very good with communications and is very friendly. We will be back. Thanks again Graham.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbl5
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Villa Helia is a beautiful place in a beautiful place...”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Villa interior is cool uplifting and comfortable, all mod cons and creature comforts catered to. Lovely rooms etc Outside, intriguing stone walled and shady gardens with little winding paths grandstand sea, mountain and inland views.Totally conducive to complete comfort and relaxation. Pool was pristine and private, enjoyed a great swim everyday. walked to a nearby village on the lovely back country lane full of greenery and bird song.
We hired a car online from local firm , absolutely grade A. Drove to three historical sites on the island - motorway makes everywhere accessible - great days out .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: villa and pool
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northernb...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Peace, quiet & beauty in May”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week early in May and loved every minute. The situation of Villa Helia means wonderful views, peaceful surroundings and the feeling of being in the middle of nature.

I have to say that although we arrived at Chania airport at night, the instructions of how to drive to the villa were so good that we managed to get there in the dark without one mistake. When we arrived the door key system was efficient and easy to use.

The villa itself is spotless, well equipped and well functioning but it was the outside that we loved and where we spent most of our time. The pool is large and provided us with a display of swallows dipping in and out of the water as we had breakfast on the terrace each morning while in the late evening we enjoyed the nightly visit of a polecat who hunted for food by the pool as we drank our raki nightcap. As well as those treats, we swam there daily too. It's a deep pool, which suited us well.

The gardens are extensive and in May were full of the most beautiful wild flowers. We spent many a happy hour there with our cameras. A personal favourite of mine (but I'm sure no-one else's) was the washing line strung between two carob trees - made me feel I was truly in Greece! There is another villa next door where a family with two children were staying, but the hedge between us gave a great deal of privacy and as both villas have extensive grounds, there was always a feeling of space and tranquility. Birdsong and sheep bells were the predominant sounds.

Although a car is pretty much essential, walking to Gavalohori via a small lane, with views of the Lefka Ori, in May still with snow on their peaks, is pleasant. In the surrounding area, both by the sea and further inland, there are many tavernas serving good food. Small supermarkets can be found in Almyrida, a ten minute drive, and Chania with its shops, restaurants and history is about 20 minutes away.

We were pleased to find that everything worked in the villa and the one small hiccup we had - a partial electricity cut in the night - was solved by a two minute phone call to the managers. The wifi was faster than a great many we've come across in Crete and the variety of books, maps and games in the villa was great.

We spent a wonderful and memorable week there and I'd recommend this villa to anyone not wanting to be in the thick of the tourist areas; it's certainly one of the best we've rented in Crete in the last 20 years. But for anyone with toddlers, be aware that the pool is deep and not fenced. For everyone else in search of beauty and tranquility, I'd recommend Villa Helia strongly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just about everything, especially the closeness of nature.
Liked least: The beds were a little firm for us, but this is pretty much universal in Greece.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah N
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go- it's a great well apointed villa, views, quiet location & pool fabulous”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spacious, light and airy, clean, well apointed and thought out. Great views all round, only 30 mins walk down the track then road into the town, with great places to eat. Beach good, and easy safe snorkelling as well. You can buy most things in the town- or the next one along has a good size supermarket. Pool a good size and imacculate, with pool furniture, towels etc. You do need a car if you want to explore. The welcome pack- was very welcome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no visitors book with top tips of good places people have found to visit/eat.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing