We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
The_Wire
Usk, United Kingdom

Making memories at Sunset Lodge

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Nov 2023
We had a family holiday at Sunset Lodge in October 23. From the moment we arrived at the lodge, where we were welcomed with traditional African singing, we knew we'd chosen the right place. The lodge is luxurious and spacious whilst retaining the spirit of real Africa. Vince and Toni are wonderful hosts, and arranged various trips and safaris for us whilst we were there. The pool is fantastic, the rooms are spacious and well appointed, and the food (cooked by the wonderful Beauty) is to die for.

You are right in the middle of nature. We saw giraffe, zebra, buffalo, warthogs - all from the comfort of the lodge. It really is quite surreal having breakfast with a family of giraffe stood only feet away! We also went on game drives, again organised by Vince, where we saw leopards, lions and rhinos. The Jubulani elephant sanctuary is also close by, and whilst it's an early start I advise you not to miss it. Really an incredible experience!

Nice atmos all round really. Already looking at dates for next year.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vincent van Rooyen, General Manager at Sunset Lodge & Safaris, responded to this review
Responded 12 Dec 2023
Thank you for your lovely review. We are indeed looking forward to your visit next year! From the entire Sunset Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 368
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 368
  • Trip.com
    R 2 381
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 368
0.4 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
Free parking
Pool
R 4 402
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 744
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 744
  • Priceline
    R 3 861
1.1 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 486
R 3 448
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 3 448
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 114
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 310
0.8 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
Free parking
Pool
R 3 504
R 3 224
  • Priceline
    R 3 504
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 504
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 504
1.2 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
Free parking
Pool
R 10 120
R 9 310
  • Priceline
    R 10 120
  • Agoda.com
    R 10 120
  • Vio.com
    R 10 120
1.0 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 21 100
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 20 500
  • Hotels.com
    R 14 770
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 879
8.9 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 22 500
  • Hotels.com
    R 16 170
  • Expedia.com
    R 16 170
  • Priceline
    R 23 100
9.8 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 39 000
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
12.8 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 15 178
  • Expedia.com
    R 15 245
  • Agoda.com
    R 11 198
  • Hotels.com
    R 15 133
13.5 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Guernsey Private Nature Reserve
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
69
1
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
69
1
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kruger park perfect hosts south africa perfect stay wild animals toni safari meals hoedspruit lodge drive buffalo warthogs stories tours game dream
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2023

We were in October in South Africa and had the pleasure of staying for a week at the Sunset Game Lodge.
As we set our foot on the property, we were captivated by its natural beauty and the surroundings.
Our room was spacious, well decorated and we loved it's natural charm. We were surprised every morning by the wild animals passing right by our terrace, including warthogs, giraffes and buffalo.
The incredible level of service provided by the staff and the hosts Vince and Toni, was another highlight of our stay. Their graciousness and attentiveness made us feel special. We loved hearing about their local insights, culture or just simple engaging in their conversation.
Every day the hosts created a menu according to our wishes including vegetarian and meat options. They even joined us at table outdoors for the meals, which was simply phenomenal.
We enjoyed the pool and a great variety of the activities such as the Bush walk, Game Drive, Mariepskop Mountain and Blyde River Canyon.
To conclude we were left with beautiful memories of Sunset Game Lodge and its fascinating location but also a deep appreciation and connection with these gracious hosts and their staff.

Room tip: If you rent a car to go there, then go for a SUV or 4x4. There is a dirt road leading to the lodge
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Passenger792215
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vincent van Rooyen, General Manager at Sunset Lodge & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Dear Axel and Krish, what an absolute privilege it was to have you staying with us. Thank you for the review and for taking the time to write the review. We are so looking forward to a return visit, perhaps we can take a drive to Mozambique for a few days, a Bush and Beach Holiday! Wishing you everything that is good, from all of us at Sunset Lodge and Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2023 via mobile

My wife and I brought the whole family on our honeymoon. From young to old, we all had a great time at Sunset: amazing wildlife, stunning landscapes, beautiful rooms, excellent food and local expertise provided by Vince, Toni and the team.

The lodge itself is beautiful, with stunning views of the Drakensberg mountain range. The rooms are all decorated immaculately, each with their own design. The kids loved the pool. There’s a well equipped gym for when you realise you over indulged at dinner the night before. And the high level viewing deck means you can see further into the bush to spot the wildlife.

Vince and Toni organised all our excursions, including big 5 safaris in the Kruger, quad biking wildlife trips, small aircraft sight seeing flights etc. But the personal touch provided by the team on walks around the lodge were the best, allowing you to get up close and personal with termites, zebras, impalas, trees, plants and even different animal dung!

Each night, amazing food was served, sitting on the patio, sometimes just a few yards away from warthogs, buffalo and nyalas. We had some lovely evenings watching the meat cook on the braai, with a glass of wine as the sunset.

The kids loved it and were kept entertained even when their attention span for nature started to wain (translation: the wifi always worked).

The older folks amongst us truly appreciated the different world you step into when you stay at Sunset. The beauty of the place is matched by the knowledge that the team provide and the support they provide in arranging all your trips.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vincent van Rooyen, General Manager at Sunset Lodge & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2023

Dear Chris and family, thank you very much for the review. It was a pleasure having you at the lodge and seeing the kids enjoy the pool and the animals as well as teaching them about nature. Thank you for the compliments it is highly appreciated. From all of us at Sunset.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2023

We’ve come back to this wonderful Sunset Lodge and this time we’ve brought the whole of our family.
Not only did we find an abundance of animals at the lodge & on Safari but our family enjoyed extensive excursions & was treated so specially at this fabulous lodge. The children (big & small) had a magical experience. Thank you so much Vince & Toni

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sandracranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vincent van Rooyen, General Manager at Sunset Lodge & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2023

Dear Sandra, although we treasure every guest it is even more special when we receive return guests. Thank you for your visit and your review, it is much appreciated. On behalf of the entire Sunset Team, Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2023

Very relaxing stay. I prefer to sit and relax but if I was so inclined there were plenty of activities available for booking.
Vincent and Toni are very knowledgeable about the surroundings and wildlife and are very accommodating. It is very unusual and pleasant to have the owners sit down and have their meals with you. The food is great and you are well looked after.
Will definitely visit again if I am in the area.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vincent van Rooyen, General Manager at Sunset Lodge & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Dear Stephen, thank you for your review, we are looking forward to seeing you again when next you visit our area. Regards, The Sunset Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2023 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the lodge. Our stay was simply perfect. The hosts are amazing and you'll get some of the best food you ever tasted. We did 3 safaris, organised by the hosts, and managed to see almost all animals we wanted to see, and even more. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank rik a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vincent van Rooyen, General Manager at Sunset Lodge & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

Dear Rik, thank you for the review and recommendation. It is highly appreciated. From the entire Sunset Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews