We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SamWise
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Idyllic place to stay with excellent hosts and facilities!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jan 2021
This was my first proper trip into the bush and I didn't really know what to expect. I think Toni and Vincent and the Sunset lodge setting has ruined any future stays anywhere in the bush! Braai-ing on an open fire while watching Zebra, Warthogs, Impala, tortoise, Ostrich pass through was something else! The welcome was very friendly and informative, the service and food was excellent. The rooms are well equipped and luxurious. The local knowledge and insights provided by Toni and Vincent really helped expand our knowledge of the surrounds, the flora, the fauna and the lifestyle of the area.
I would highly recommend the Sunset lodge as an experience. We will definitely be back!
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vincent van Rooyen, General Manager at Sunset Lodge & Safaris, responded to this review
Responded 03 Feb 2021
Dear Sam and Ellie, thank you so much for the review on Sunset Game Lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed having you guys at the lodge and look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 322
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 322
1.1 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 506
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.0 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 313
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
Free parking
Pool
    1.7 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
      R 22 500
    • Agoda.com
      R 17 521
    • Expedia.com
      R 23 115
    8.9 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 21 397
    • Expedia.com
      R 25 615
    9.8 km from Sunset Lodge & Safaris
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Guernsey Private Nature Reserve
    Reviews (73)
    Filter reviews
    73 results
    Traveller rating
    69
    1
    2
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    69
    1
    2
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews kruger park perfect hosts south africa perfect stay wild animals toni safari meals hoedspruit lodge drive buffalo warthogs stories tours game dream
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    29 - 34 of 73 reviews
    Reviewed 1 July 2019

    We had the privilege to stay at SUNSET GAME LODGE for a couple of days. This was (to say the least) an AWESOME experience. Dewan was very friendly and helpful, the rooms (in our view) was 5 stars. The surroundings were nice and quite as one would expect, being in the bush. If we ever had the change to go back – We will definitely be staying at SUNSET GAME LODGE again. No doubt at all ….

    Date of stay: June 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank A B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Vincent van Rooyen, General Manager at Sunset Lodge & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2022

    Thank you for your friendly review and for taking the time to write the review. Much appreciated Sunset Management

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 October 2015

    We absolutely loved this lodge not only because it was beautiful and our room was stunning and the food was amazing and the safari tips were unbelievable (I could go on).. but because the hosts, family and Kylie were just fantastic, absolutely amazing!

    So friendly, so welcoming, so helpful and created a great homely and relaxed atmosphere.

    I would recommend the lodge to ANYONE.

    A special thanks to Devon & Kylie for looking after us so well and to the twins for teaching me how to play UNO again!

    What a fantastic place. :)

    Room tip: All are fantastic - we were in room 2 which was unbelievable!
    Date of stay: September 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Hobcocks
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Big_Thank_You, Owner at Sunset Lodge & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to post your amazing review, Hobcocks

    You've said so many wonderful things about Sunset Game Lodge, and you're right, a bush experience truly comes alive when you share it with the right people. We do our best to give each of our guests just the right amount of attention during their stay. Some people want less and some more. Whichever it may be, we try to get it perfectly right from our side.

    Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Greater Kruger Park area

    -- Dewan

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 September 2015

    We stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary and all we can say is WOW. Excellent base for the day trips to Kruger, wrap up warm tho for Jeep trip at 5am! The family run lodge was what made this such a special occasion (other than the Safari!). The whole family got involved and we were made to feel like part of them. Having everyone sitting together to eat was a great touch as we chatted and traveled with Canadians, Dutch, Americans, Australians and Italians!

    The food was great and sitting under the tree for outside evening meals just added to ambiance. The rooms were huge and very comfortable and you must get to the viewing deck at dusk to watch sunset over the Drakensburg mountains.

    Can't recommend this place any higher - well worth the visit and a great family to stay with.

    Date of stay: August 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank davel450
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Vincent van Rooyen, General Manager at Sunset Lodge & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2022

    Thank you for your friendly review and for taking the time to write the review. We apologise for the late response. We are the new owners since February 2020, we have made numerous changes to the lodge including a restaurant and deck overlooking the waterhole and welcome all our guests around the new boma. The new restaurant and deck ensures that everybody gets beautiful sightings of the animals on a regular basis.

    Much appreciated Sunset Management.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 September 2015

    Sunset Lodge 4 days on safari in the Kruger National Park and we have slept in Sunset Lodge a cozy Lodge with good staff. Outdoor dinner with Campfire, was excellent. Funny stories with the other safari guys.
    The lodge is lying in the concession, there we had a morning and evening game drive. It was great to see the rhino in real, yes yet though. Hope that poachers stop. Sex don't make me laugh those Chinese know nothing of being great tall protozoa, where we really care.
    Sunset Lodge also has a terrace, where you can enjoy the zebras and ostriches and other animals. Really great to sit here.
    The rooms were large a fine shower a table with coffee, tea, milk and sugar, and of course a kettle. If you in August to the Kruger Park is going to do or a warm coat, because it's really cold. Especially if you are on an open car that wind it seems net or 10 degrees below zero.

    Room tip: Great place to relax in the room, sleep as a rock
    Date of stay: August 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank joke d
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Vincent van Rooyen, General Manager at Sunset Lodge & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2022

    Thank you for your review. Sunset Game Lodge is certainly one of the best options for close up viewing of animals.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 September 2015

    Friendly hosts, great ambiance, even better food, and an AWESOME safari experience! My friend and I went at the end of may and I couldn't have asked for a better trip. I will be there, same time next year.

    Date of stay: May 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    2  Thank Michele L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Vincent van Rooyen, General Manager at Sunset Lodge & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2022

    Thank you for your friendly review and for taking the time to write the review. We apologise for the late response. We are the new owners since February 2020, we have made numerous changes to the lodge including a restaurant and deck overlooking the waterhole and welcome all our guests around the new boma. The new restaurant and deck ensures that everybody gets beautiful sightings of the animals on a regular basis.

    Much appreciated Sunset Management.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews