We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$190
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/17
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$200
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/16
Agoda.com
US$200
US$164
View deal
SAVE US$36
Expedia.comUS$190
CheapTicketsUS$190
PricelineUS$200
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 118)
Filter reviews
3 118 results
Traveller rating
1 949
818
224
70
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 949
818
224
70
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kole kole infinity pool jambo team maridadi restaurant tapa tapa bar beach boys evening shows animation team jt safaris day safari deluxe room all inclusive resort water polo our honeymoon see separate review all inclusive drinks indian ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 3 118 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2019

My husband, sister and I booked a visit through a local tour agency to stay at Baobab. We requested to stay in the Maridadi Wing Deluxe rooms however when we checked in, we were booked into Kole Kole Wing. The front desk staff did not mention the change until one of their staff accompanied us to the rooms and we inquired what wing we were. The staff member stated Kole Kole and quickly stated that the Maridadi wing was closed for renovations. He further insisted that the Kole Kole and Maridadi rooms were priced the same and that the Kole Kole wing was actually better…, At this point I was pretty disappointed by the lack of transparency, excuses and lack of clear communication by their staff in letting us know of any renovations before we checked in or at the very least during check in. My husband and I went to the front desk and inquired about the room issue, they reiterated that as their staff person had informed us the Maridadi wing was closed for renovations. We let the issue rest since we figured we had made payment in full, and they didn't have control of the renovations. We chose to place our efforts on exploring the resort and enjoy our vacation.

However, a couple of days later, we were having a meal at the Karibu restaurant which neighbors Maridadi wing and noticed that guests were being checked in to the Maridadi wing. We were disappointed at what we perceived as being misled and I walked to the front desk and inquired from the front desk staff about this, she spoke to her senior who instructed her to tell me that the deluxe rooms we had requested in the Maridadi Wing were still under renovation however all other rooms were open for guests to stay. She also stated that the price of the Deluxe room in Maridadi and Kole Kole were similar in cost.

Unfortunately, for my husband, sister and I the lack of communication and dismissive attitude insinuating that Kole Kole is better than Maridadi and that the cost is the same left a bad taste and created an atmosphere of mistrust. Even though we had a relatively good stay at Baobab we feel/felt that our lack of trust for the staff clouded our stay and we will not be returning in the future.

The meals were good though sodas were flat (no carbonation), staff was pleasant, we enjoyed the gym, pools and beach (beach boys were manageable).

I would suggest to the Baobab staff to be upfront with your/their guests. If a guest makes a reservation and pays to stay at their preferred wing and room respect their choice rather than minimizing and dismissing their disappointment. Be honest with your guests, if you have rooms under renovation say so right away to reduce risk of mistrust.

Guests travel for vacation and to relax and in our case saving money for a long period of time for a nice vacation therefore being lied to or misled breeds mistrust and loss of customers. Perhaps consider empathetic to guests and apologize when you mislead your guests. Thank you.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thirstyearthyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2019

The rooms were good but stuffy because of presence of monkeys, they cannot be airated as one would wish. The Windows are small and only the bathroom window could be opened.
The food was OK, but lacked variety and professionalism in preparation. It was ordinary. Also there were a lot of flies in the dinning area and the serving area as well which made me wonder about hygene.
Some of the waiters seemed to attend more to the white folk as opposed to the locals, they tended to be a bit snobbish towards some of the locals.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2019

The place was okay...good cooks...their chicken is awesome...and friendly stuff cliff and the manager were helpful ....WiFi at this place is only at the poolside and the conference room dressings are not quite pleasing ....though I had a great time .

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ashee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenkauduny, Public Relations Manager at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2019

Dear Ashee77,

Warm greetings from the Baobab Beach Resort and Spa.

Thank you for sharing such a thorough and heartfelt review of our resort. It is incredibly rewarding to hear that you had such an awesome stay in our favourite corner of paradise. Thank you for sharing such incredibly kind comments about the friendly and personable service you were subjected to.

I can only apologise for your disappointing WIFI experience.Please be assured that we take your feedback very seriously and will use it to improve our service and guest experience, going forward.Thank you for bringing these to our attention.

Happy travels!

Kind Regards,
Kennedy Uduny
Public Relations Executive
marketing@baobab-beach-resort.com
Tel: +254 725 777 025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2019 via mobile

This place is amazing. The food is of great quality and their hygiene is of good standard. The staff...they're wonderful, friendly, professional and enthusiastic. The rooms are well organized and big. I only found the layout/landscape of the place to be quite disorganized. The structures are arguably haphazardly placed. I otherwise recommend a stay at Baobab. You'll enjoy it

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Karari_Kariuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenkauduny, Public Relations Manager at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2019

Dear Karari_Kariuki,

Warm greetings from the Baobab Beach Resort and Spa.

Thank you for sharing this very balanced review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you found the Baobab amazing our culinary offerings of great quality and of good standard. We have taken note of your satisfaction with our wonderful, friendly and professional staff but disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with certain aspects of your stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us, as this is the only way that we can improve our service for future guests

Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with the relevant departments and we hope that if ever you return to our hotel, you will find all of these issues have been rectified and addressed.

Happy travels.

Kind Regards,
Kennedy Uduny
Public Relations Executive
marketing@baobab-beach-resort.com
Tel: +254 725 777 025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2019

This hotel that spans a 1-kilometer clean beachfront offers an all-inclusive package that is simply excellent. It sits on 94 acres of an indigenous forest. The food is fresh and the entertainment excellent. They are constantly thinking of new ways to entertain the guests with theme nights that capture the guests' imagination. It is a spacious hotel with excellent rooms. There are varied sporting facilities and activities that are part of the package. They have a gym that is also very affordable. An excellent get away from the hustles of life. I can't wait to come again soon.

Room tip: The level of noise can be determined by the rooms one selects. Those in Maridadri subsection are designed for a quite experience.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenkauduny, Public Relations Manager at Baobab Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2019

Dear Kuffs,

Jambo from the Baobab Beach Resort and Spa.

Thank you very much for sharing such a glowing review of your experience here at the resort. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciated our very unique and beautiful location. Indeed it is ideal for those looking to enjoy quiet beaches and unspoiled nature, away from the crowds.

Each night of the week, our buffets and entertainment have a different theme to cater for different tastes and preferences, and to offer our guests a greater variety of cuisines and experiences. I am glad that you appreciated this.

Due to the nature of the destination, we often get to share remarkable moments with our guests by reccomending different activities.We always feel very honored to be a part of these special moments in our guests' lives.I'm glad that you enjoyed every bit of your time.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Diani and at the Baobab in the near future.

Happy Travels.

Kind Regards,
Kennedy Uduny
Public Relations Executive
marketing@baobab-beach-resort.com
Tel: +254 725 777 025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews