We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$310
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/26
Agoda.com
US$354
US$267
View deal
SAVE US$87
Expedia.com
US$282
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/01
Hotels.comUS$282
Trip.comUS$299
Destinia.comUS$354
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
452
129
25
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
452
129
25
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach front beach restaurant white beach water sports main restaurant kenya paradise coast stretch bungalow diving watersports sunbeds relaxation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel is not too big ... so it has a familiar touch and all of the staff members gave us a warm welcome and the feeling to be appreciated (just to name Frank at the restaurant - who gave us the feeling that he was waiting for us).
The beach itself is wonderful. And regarding trips, Benson for sure is one option, however we tried Kassim (who is always near „Diving the crab“) with Wasini Island and Mombasa (and i definitely cant complain - we would not do the second if the first world be disappointing). So you can definitely give him a chance...
Summary: we had 5 perfect days there (just with some minor issues like, a bit loud ac and not very hot water in the evening for shower - (room 22)... but that‘s all for my complain-list) and well one more downsite: the food in the a la carte restaurant is too good - thats the only reason we were happy not to spent more days, because we would gain a lot of weight

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank I1985QYmarting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Thank you for your nice feedback!! We are heating our water with a solar system, so on rainy/cloudy days the water might not be as hot as during sunny days. Another posiibility might have been, that the other 2 rooms in that building also just used hot water... I appologiese for this and we will check the system again! Hope to welcome you back here again one of those days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

Me and my friend (two girls) we were choosing this hotel according reviews read here on tripadvisor and I have to say that everything was truly like that! Apart from beautiful wide white beach and azul sea, the hotel resort was simply amazing! we really loved all these things: staff - was super helpfull and friendly and attentive. I lost my 100dollars and immediately including manager everyone knew about it and was trying to help me out to find it in the whole arel, in the end I just found it by the room where I dropped it by mistake but the fact how quickly the communicated and was trying to help was amazing. hats off for all the staff! we were really amazed and thanks to them we felt so good they really made our stay different! This was I would like to say hi to SAFARI - waitress that was simply the best:)! We had amazing experience and I would highly recommend this hotel to all my family and friends...
Hotel was enviroment friendly orientated and full of nice ideas, we really liked that! :)
Bush baby feedings were super nice experience as well:)!

and one thing that I would like to warn you is to not to deal nor to buy any trip with beach boys....beach is public if you go there for sure they will approach you and try to sell you something, we like the shop that was on the left side from the restaurant with wooden stuff as souvenirs, but I wouldn't recommend to buy any trip with beach boys! The hotel's area has guardians so noone can step into resort from outside... we were also walking along the beach - it was safe - beautifull walk (but not during the night of course).

Hope you will enjoy:)

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ivi_bsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Thank you for taking your time to write this positive feedback of our hotel! Great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

From the Ukunda airstrip pickup, through the welcome cocktail evening, to the nightly feed of the bush babies, to relaxing around the pool and swimming in the ocean and finally to partaking wonderful restaurant meals prepared by an exceptional Swiss chef, our long weekend was an exercise in delight. The excellent weather helped and the adjacent ongoing [seasonal] renovations did not interfere with our total enjoyment. Our room was extremely quiet and comfortable and hotel/ restaurant staff was always there with friendly and helpful assistance. One evening, we were treated to a hands-on reptile poolside ‘seminar’ by Eric the Conservationist who also led an early [free] morning forest hike the following day. This destination was highly recommended by work colleagues in Nairobi and it definitely lived up to its billing.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Connoisseur-of-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Thank you very much for your positive comments! We are pleased, that you have enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

I would say that the hotel is fabulous...staffs are really attentive n take good care of the guests...loved the rooms...cottage room 32...clean...cosy.
.will surely return...btw Chalet was equally wonderful last year...

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kamlesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you very much for your positive comments!! Looking forward to welcome you back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Nice restaurant with a good view of the Indian ocean from the deck. Waiters were attentive and selection of food good. We ordered a pizza - nice, chicken - good and a fish dish - chunky and dry! Otherwise ok.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 135miriamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for your comments! Sorry, that the fish dish was not to your likes! Kitchen promised to be more careful with the preperation of fish dishes in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews