We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
US$194
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveller rating
539
200
47
20
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
539
200
47
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low tide tractor ride beach banda colobus monkeys catch of the day the penthouse seafood octopus little piece of heaven mombasa airport salt water beautiful beach sea view water sports our honeymoon meal times indian ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 812 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2021

I cannot begin to say enough about this resort, island, staff and stay. It's all amazing. The ambiance and atmosphere are just the beginning. The staff are as friends and family. The food is outstanding. Every dish made to spec... in taste and appearance not to mention the vast selection. FYI- I now have 10 lbs to take back off! :o) We stayed a week before going to Zanzibar and immediately realized Zanzibar was a waste and headed back to Chale for another week stay. I can't begin to tell you how much I miss this place since returning to Montana, USA. I hope to be back very soon!

Room tip: Tower rooms in my opinion are best.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrbillone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chale Island, Other at The Sands at Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello,
Immense regards from the entire Chale Island team, we must say that we derived tremendous joy from hosting you in our resort. Thank you for taking your time to share your unforgettable experience in Chale. We are glad your stay with us was such a success and we are waiting with abated breath for your return so that we can commence from whence we ceased. Thank you once more and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2021 via mobile

My family and i finally made it to Chale Island. Wanted to go for almost one year - then corona came.
We spontaneously rebooked our trip and came to this magic place.

First arriving at the island by boat was simply stunning. Really like paradise. The landscape, plants and of course the sea. Just stunning and breathtaking.

We had booked a beach banda for the entire stay. This house was really right at the beach. You couldn’t be any closer.
The beach is just gorgeous. White and fine sand, turquoise sea, comfortable beds. What could you want more?

The food was always fresh, nicely prepared and very tasty. Especially the pasta. I am absolutely picky with pasta - it must be absolutely al dente. They offered italian pasta - my kids and i loved it.

I highly recommend this island. It was definitely a dream vacation.

Also the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The general manager is a very lovely and helpful person and is really interested in making everyone’s stay as perfect as possible.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AppleNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chale Island, Other at The Sands at Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey,
We would like to begin by expressing our gratitude towards you for granting us an opportunity to be at your service. We appreciate that you squeezed time out of your schedule to put in a word of recommendation for us and eventually we are glad that your vacation at our establishment was a success. It is our hope to host you again during your next holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021

Wonderful 5 days and 4 nights on this wonderful island . Staff super nice ; Rooms lovely , Spa/Massage Lady Milie just amazing , a MUST TRY . Buffet was good although not spectacular for this type of hotel . Nature is beautiful and the Colobus monkeys are so lovely ; I missed a fridge in the room

Date of stay: February 2021
Thank Dani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chale Island, Other at The Sands at Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Hi Dani,
We take this opportunity to express our heartfelt appreciation for giving us the chance to play host to you. We thank you for squeezing time out of your schedule to record your wonderful experience at Chale Island paradise via this medium. It was amazing hosting you and we anticipate your return so that we can do this again. Karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021

Spend 4 nights there in the remotest room available (COVID time). The room was amazing but HOT1 The airconditioning could not do anything for the big room. Did not sleep the first night but once they got a fan - it made it bearable
Food was good and location amazing. The tractor ride made it fun.
swimming pool was hot - so started swimming early in the morning!
Excellent spa - worth the visit.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sunspotter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chale Island, Other at The Sands at Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Hey,
It is heart warming to hear that your stay at our resort was awesome despite the minute issue with the air conditioner nevertheless we apologize for any inconveniences caused. Thank you for taking your time to express your experience and observations of Chale Island. Our prayer now is to host you again in the future, make efforts to return we promise it will be worth your while.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2021 via mobile

Exquisite hotel on island.
Clean beach.
Tasty food.
Impeccable service.
Lots of water related sports/activities.
Beautiful and large rooms.
Have a secluded pool.
An excellent getaway for family and lovers.

Date of stay: April 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Camper46252888962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chale Island, Other at The Sands at Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Hello,
Thank you for your short but detailed expression about Chale Island paradise. We are glad we had the opportunity to serve you and hope that we will have the chance of hosting you again the next time you feel like rewinding and getting away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews