We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$332
US$229
View deal
Expedia.comUS$229
Hotels.comUS$229
Trip.comUS$332
TravelocityUS$229
CheapTicketsUS$229
eDreamsUS$229
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveller rating
540
200
47
20
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
540
200
47
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low tide tractor ride beach banda colobus monkeys catch of the day the penthouse seafood octopus little piece of heaven mombasa airport salt water beautiful beach sea view water sports our honeymoon meal times indian ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 813 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2020 via mobile

Went in for a day visit... package included buffet lunch and afternoon tea with swimming... We were picked by a tractor tour van that drove through the low sea water levels to the island hotel... welcomed by a glass of orange juice... spent the day... we returned by boat in the evening... food is good, can be better... the GM Mr. Andreas found time to notice we were new arrivals and said hi over lunch hour... he also bid us farewell in the evening at the reception... superb leadership from him... the entire staff is helpful, some can do with standardized uniforms including shoes even made of rubber from discarded tyres...
several pools for use... large spread private beach... superb experiential touristic product... Will definitely bring family along...

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank D1798YGjamesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands at Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Hey James,
Thank you for dropping by to scoop your own share of what Chale Island paradise has to offer the world. we appreciate all the collective and individual compliments you have branded us with. It is good to know that generally your impression of our facility after your day excursion is superb to the extent that not only will you revisit us but you will also bring your family along. we look forward to hosting you again. Karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2020

This is simply paradise - crossing to the highland via tractor, wonderful staff, the foods, the rooms, swimming pools, beach and the attendants, Kayaking, Gazi village tour, highland trip, everything was splendid. My family and I are eternally grateful. We will be back for sure. God bless you all.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hndeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands at Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Hey Harrison,
We couldn't agree with you more with regards to Chale Island being a paradise. Welcome to the bandwagon of those who have been swept off their feet by the soothing beauty and magical atmosphere only found in Chale.
We are glad your stay was amazingly successful. we are so pregnant with anticipation after your promise to come back. we will be here waiting for you with open arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2020 via mobile

I absolutely loved how clean and peaceful it was. An ideal hotel to relax and rejuvenate. From going by truck or boat to the island to the beautiful sandy beach to the bandas and pools. The food could have been a little better but that won’t stop me from returning.
I had my little girl and her cousins and while they weren’t any childrens activities per se, they were content to be in the 3 pools one being a salt water one or going for ocean reef walks.
All in all, I would recommend it for the couples, single travelers and families looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank meerabella33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands at Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Hey Meerabella,

Tranquility, serenity and peace are just but a few of the attributes of Chale Island paradise. Thank you for availing time out of your probably tight Schedule to put down such a beautiful review for us. We hope that our atmosphere enabled you to rejuvenate and unwind from the cacophony and commotions of urban centers.
It is good to know that your probability of returning to Chale Island is almost certain. we are eager to host you again. Karibu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2020

The small resort is located wheater 2hrs from Mombasa airport or cca 15 min from Ukunda airstripe. Since its situated on a small island you will be brought there on a tractor trailer with seats at a low tide or aboat at a high tide. The resort is the only building on the island so in case you might need sth the friendly staff will be very helpful, or you can go yourself off the island to the closest village in Chale or Diani.
The rooms are spacious, and most of them with a sea view. The furniture of the rooms has a bit confused style and will need some proper renovation since the humidity presents quite of an issue on the coast. Cleanliness of the rooms has to be improved. The hotel offers a lot of food variety and tasty dishes. The staff and the manager are very pleasant and helpful. The spa is located a bit further away from the rooms in a very delightful area of the resort. There are like small open cottages connected with the bridges in the forest with salty swamp underneath. Has a great effect on the relaxation since you get to hear the creatures in the forest during your treatment. The beach looks astonishing covered with white sands and being cleaned several times a day. The resort has 3 pool areas which you can use, when the tide is low. In the resort they offer you several options regarding water sports and trips, actually everything you might need during relaxed holidays. Was a very pleasant stay and hope to see you again!!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mermaid1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands at Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2020

Hey,
It is quite reassuring that albeit the minute hiccups here and there you still managed to imbibe the best out of Chale Island paradise. How awesome it is to know that your entire stay in general was such a tremendous success. Thank you for all the compliments you have showered upon us, we shall pass your praises to all the departments you have mentioned just so they know that they contributed to the ultimate success of your vacation.
It is worthwhile to mention that the chale Island family, derived plenty of joy by hosting you, this explains why we join you in hoping that we shall see each other again during any of your future holidays.
In conclusion we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020 via mobile

A pitty for the staff( like waiters, cleaners, barman etc. ) that you are not able to get small notes for tipping, only 1000 ksh. We tried offen to change for small notes( 100, 200,500) at the reception, in the restaurants but they were not able to change.
As foreigners we do not have Mpsea.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zwartewaterland01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews