We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$229
View deal
Expedia.com
US$229
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/03
Agoda.com
US$229
US$218
View deal
Hotels.comUS$229
TravelocityUS$229
ZenHotels.com
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (813)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveller rating
540
200
47
20
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
540
200
47
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low tide tractor ride beach banda colobus monkeys catch of the day the penthouse seafood octopus little piece of heaven mombasa airport salt water beautiful beach sea view water sports our honeymoon meal times indian ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 813 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018

We cannot fault The Sands at Chale Island. Firstly, the views are beautiful! Make sure you walk around the island as there is more to see than just the hotel area; we found a trail towards the right side (by the pool right at the front next to the beach) and found another lovely beach.

The staff are amazing and go out of their way to ensure that all of your needs are met. We also had the lowest priced room but it was still lovely. We thought the food was delicious; it was very fresh and always a good range of different dishes.

We spent a few days chilling here after climbing Mt Kenya and going on safari and did not regret it. Thanks for a lovely few days!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LauraG4375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands at Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hey Laura,
Thanks for squeezing time out of your schedule to write about us. we really appreciate. We are happy that for the days you spent with us you extremely enjoyed yourselves. We urge you to make a point of visiting Chale Island again and as usual we will ensure that it is worth your while. Karibu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

If there is any Paradise on the hole world, it it The Sands At Chale Island, Diani, Kenia. It is hard to find any inadequacy and weakness. The beach is awsome. Staff nice and helpfull. the is lots of free space on the beach - so there is quiet and peacefull. Italian "boss" treat You as a family on every day small talk:) We loved hand made pasta and sea food. We miss You much.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piotr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands at Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Hi Piotr,
We miss you too with equal amount of intensity and we cannot wait to host you again during one of your future holidays. We thank you for the time you spared to briefly describe your awesome stay at our Resort. We sincerely appreciate and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here to rest after two weeks of safari and before catching a long flight home. It’s a beautiful place. Getting there is part of the adventure.. landing at a small airport, a transfer over rural dirt roads to n the Diani coast, and then a boat transfer. Hotel itself is lovely though I found didn’t feel quite as intimate and secluded as the pictures imply due to the size. We stayed in a banda- I highly recommend this over the regular hotel rooms. They have beautiful Swahili /Arabic architecture -essentially get your own little house with your own courtyard and outdoor shower and lovely balcony overlooking the ocean . There are a couple of pools all which also look over the ocean so also very pretty . We had the full board plan so ate in the large restaurant and the food was good though nothing spectacular (of course we were spoiled after having been on Safari where the food is amazing !) ; however note there is a small restaurant on property which is a little more intimate .

The island itself is gorgeous -we did not try the spa, but it looked truly spectacular with it sitting in a mangrove forest with birds, monkeys etc. The beach is beautiful too though the one thing I will mention is that at low tide there are beach boys who walk over from the mainland and who will solicit tourists . there’s nothing wrong with it but it’s something to be aware of if you come to the island expecting not to be solicited at all .

All in all a beautiful place and very relaxing . I think that this place could easily go up to five stars if it was a little bit smaller. Or go when it is not full time season and you’ll have the place to yourself and a few other people . Of course if what you want is lots of people around you , then go during full tourist season; but if you are going to enjoy nature , the beach be calm and quiet I would suggest going there before off season.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank luvnicehotels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands at Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Hello,
Thank you for stopping by after your safari. It is our sincere prayer that you enjoyed the trip. We take this chance to tell you how glad we are for the opportunity you offered us to serve you. We enjoyed every bit of it. We are also hoping that Chale Island offered you the soothing relaxation that you were in dire need of after visiting the game reserves.
The question about the beach boys is as follows. The facility’s sphere of influence ends a few meters to the beach the rest is considered a national resource and anyone can access it but the good news is that the beach boys can only solicit their wares to you if you entertain them, otherwise they will not bother you
Thank you once more and we hope to host you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

The moment i saw this hotel on the net, i knew i was going there. My heart was set on it. It was an amazing experience. The location was breath taking.
The beach had white sand and was well kept.
There were many activities like snorkelling, scuba by Padi instructors, forest walk, masai market etc to keep one entertained.
We stayed in the beachside villas and they were spacious and neat and clean.
The buffet spreads were good but overall the food was a bit too bland for my taste and i do see some scope of improvement atleast where the Indian food was concerned.
Happy with my stay.
Selina Benday
30 June, 2018

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 350selinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands at Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hi Selina
It is uplifting to learn that even before you set foot on Chale Island paradise you had already been consumed by its charm. And we are glad that your experience with us was awesome and filled your heart with happiness.
We promise to go back to the drawing board and spice up our buffet spreads even more so that the next time you visit, your stay will be successful all round

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at this amazing property. It is Romantic, beautiful, relaxing and the perfect place to end up your safari. The food is very good, they have multiples and different room types, the personal is friendly and professional!! Highly recommended!!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ReinaMarmota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands at Chale Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hello,
Not only is it humbling but also overwhelming each time a satisfied client of ours puts in an elaborate and distinct recommendation for us. We thank you for all the compliments you heaped upon us, we highly appreciate.
Since we equally enjoyed playing host to you, we eagerly expect your return so that together we can continue to devour the beauty and glamour of this impeccable gift from Mother Nature. Karibu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews