We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$180
eDreamsUS$180
StayForLong
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveller rating
330
259
73
26
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
330
259
73
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach boys bahari room family room wasini island evening entertainment indian ocean pool bar beach volleyball table tennis mosquito net second week f b on a daily basis beautiful beach all inclusive package palm trees white sandy beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 710 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2020

The staff really makes an effort to make sure you'll have a good day! We stayed here via Tui Netherlands, went on safari to Tsavo east and west, went cycling, went to Kebene orphanage, went to the mangrove. On the beach, the beach boys try to sell anything, we went snorkling twice!
The food is okay, we stayed here with Christmas and Newyears eve, the service and food was great on those days! It's a shame, that because of the bankruptcy of Neckermann the resort wasn't fully booked and there cause the staff got payed less but working just as much hours. They live on tips.. So we gave them as much as we could.. Asante sana for the nice experience!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Damendenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianiSea, Owner at Diani Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Dear Damendenie,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We want to apologize for the behaviour of the staff. Diani Sea Lodge pays wages according to the union agreement in full and on time. This was not affected by the Thomas Cook bankruptcy. We do have fewer guest. Our staff receives a percentage of our revenue of the previous month in addition to the regular salary and this might be slightly lower than before.
Again, we apologize if you felt the need to give them money. This should not happen.
Kindest regards,
The DSL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2019

On the booking.com site my booked room was registered as “double room with garden view” but unfortunately when I arrived at the hotel they have different classification: “superior and comfort”.
The superior room doesn’t meet the basic service for a three star hotel. Example in the bathroom I found soap only. Shampoo and other bath amenities are for another room classification.

The drinking water provided in the room are in two reusable bottles, used before. So is NOT any warranty that water is good for drink or the bottles are clean. In one day when I returned to the room I found the bottle left outside down on the floor by the door. Also in one day I saw the cutlery for the welcoming fruit on the corridor floor (see pictures).

How they handle the drinking water and other food the immediate medical threat is cholera and other disease.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bellhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianiSea, Owner at Diani Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2019

Dear Bellhams,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Indeed you booked the "double room" on booking.com. Due to the booking.com system we are not able to name it according to our naming categories. A double room on booking.com is our superior room, which is our basic room.
We do use refillable water bottles as we try to cut plastic as much as possible. We see it not only has an option but as a necessity to cut our plastic waste as much as possible in order to preserve the pristine beach on which we are situtated. The bottles are sterilized each day. That is why they were outside the room, where they are collected and taken to our housekeeping department to be sterilized before being refilled out of 20l mineral water container.
You might have seen cutlery or a plate on the floor as you see it in other hotels when guest set is outside because they do not want it in their room. We apologize that this was not immediately removed. We strictly adhere to HACCP hygiene standards.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us as we try to make everyone's stay enjoyable.
Kindest regards,
The DSL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2019

Second visit and we love it. The food is great, with indoor and outdoor seating. The outdoor cooking and BBQs are fantastic. The staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and efficient. Some good bars and restaurants within easy walking and tuk tuk distance. The rooms are comfortable, not luxury but exactly what we needed and good value. For us, getting out and about is always important so we dived, cycled, went to Mombassa and visited Wassini Island. We also ate and drank outside of the hotel as well as in.

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank PJRG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianiSea, Owner at Diani Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2019

Dear PJrg79,
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. We encourage our guests to explore the lovely surrounding sights and places. Diani and its vicinity has so much to offer, as you just described it so well.
We do hope you come back to visit us .
Kindest regards,
Your DSL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2019

Hotel Diani Sea Lodge is great. Nice staff. Especially good for those who want a great view, Quiet. On the oceanfront, cozy huts. If you don't like the hustle and bustle, lots of people, multi-storey buildings with lots of room for daaaaaug tourists, choose this, quiet, cozy, service, smiling staff, good hotel, and I highly recommend Ogutu for a safari. Ogutu men know and love their job well. The key is to give them as many opportunities as possible to see the animals up close. So feel like a rally Very professional, punctual, reliable. I couldn't help but wonder about their dedication to the work they do. Happy with every tourist who captured great shots. OGUTU, you are unrealistic

Room tip: our room was bahari so we had a terrace overlooking the ocean. Around the garden, monkeys, great.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vilmadmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2019 via mobile

Everything was great! We didn't experience any problems. All questions were answered quickly. Main points:
FOOD:
Is good. Not perfect, but you go to Kenya not to eat for sure. The main disadvantage was a lack of seafood. But in general it's really good.
ROOM:
Clean with a comfortable bed and pillows. A little outdated but it is okay, because it's Africa!
STAFF: Animators (Wiktor, Agata, Agnieszka) are always organising something for guests. If you want something more - just tell them!
SOUVENIRS:
After visiting some shops at the beach and in the Ukunda city I would tell that the best you can get is the shop by the gate of the hotel (at the territory of the hotel) where Kennedy and Peter work! Bargain with them and you would get what you need!
BEACH-BOYS:
There are some good guys which have something good to offer for your money, but for the most of them you are just a bag of cash and they will do anything to get your money without trying to give you back. Be aware!
SUMMARY:
We liked everything at the hotel! We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it! Good luck, Diani Sea Lodge! Jambo!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank brk0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews