We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
getaroom.com
US$260
US$201
View deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
PricelineUS$260
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 697)
Filter reviews
1 697 results
Traveller rating
831
550
181
66
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
831
550
181
66
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main restaurant nyama choma all inclusive package animation team water aerobics great holiday evening entertainment room attendant indian ocean wasini island cleaned daily out of this world low season hotel grounds seafood pools safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 1 697 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2019 via mobile

The receptionists will leave you hanging to serve foreigners with no apology.Took 4 visits to the reception (from meeting) to complete a check in. We watched as fellow guests were served madafu at the same check in. The cook on Feb 19th gives away all the we have been in queue waiting for to foreigners. We walk away. At lunch, a naan cook cuts me off to "malizia hawa". I check out on Feb 19 morning leaving my bag for safe keeping with reception. Unfortunately it remains unattended until 6pm amid multiple requests. As I collect it to leave I'm only sternly asked whether I have handed in their key. A porter watchs me struggle with my bag (did I mention being 6 months pregnant). The uphill is too much and so I opted to bring it back to the reception, drive over, and throw it in the car. Our group has a litany of dissatisfaction from our stay. Toilets closest to the meeting room have no water... The rooms... But the worst is the discriminatory, arrogance and indifferent treatment from most of the staff. I would never wish to step back there! Arrgh! The F&B and the waiters are good though.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
4  Thank Kenyanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

My family and I, have been vacationing at southern palms for the last 18 years. Tried out a number of different hotels in coast but none of them beat Southern Palms. The hotel is very well managed.
They have an amazing team, very friendly and always eager to help staff.
The food has always been delicious. The chef never fails! There’s always different varieties of food and different cuisines. I honestly can’t get enough of the food!
The rooms are clean and very comfortable, with an amazing view.
I’d definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who’d want a relaxing yet exciting vacation.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jankidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2019

Dear Jankidave,

Thank you for taking your precious time to write this absolutely awesome review on your stay at Southern Palms and the great recommendation! We were extremely excited and it’s indeed an honor to hear you have been vacationing with us for the last 18 years.

It was a pleasure for us to have an opportunity to make your stay and holidays with us an enjoyable experience. Our team were delighted to hear that you had such a good time with us and we're looking forward already to welcoming you back again!

Thank you once again for choosing Southern Palms Beach Resort for your stay.

With kind regards
Nellie Njonjo
GUEST RELATIONS MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2019

Worst holiday ever, lousy food, lots of noise and to make things even worse the staff are liars. If you are looking for a peaceful holiday with nice food, you have to avoid this place. We stayed at this horible place in July 2016, but TripAdvisor didn't gave me another option then to choose July 2018.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2019

Dear Guest,

We realize that you stayed with us in July 2018 and had earlier stayed with us in July 2016 and are very sorry that the resort did not live up to your expectations.

Many of our guests have great praise for the good food and also staff due to their friendliness and wonderful service. It would have been the management’s desire to meet with you during your stay to address all your concerns so as to continue enjoying the rest of your holiday. We shall however follow up to ascertain what transpired during your stay.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for what we trust would be a much more enjoyable stay.

Thank you and best regards
Nellie Njonjo
GUEST RELATIONS MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2019

Very good hotel.
Room - indeed updated. BUT! cozy, very clean and comfortable. We liked it. Lived in 268, garden / pool view; quiet, fine.
Food - very good. Nice grill bar. Perfect food in main restaurant. Super beach bar and snack bar. Good variety, good local drinks. No poisoning, no stomach problems.
Pools - big, clean, warm water. Enough sunbeds around. Excellent pool bar.
Didn't use massage or sport room in the hotel, so can't say anything about this. On the beach, left side from hotel found very nice local massage, worth to try it.
Beach boys - annoying, no doubt. But it's the East Africa! It's part of culture. Be polite with them - and after some days they will become your friends.
Internet. Was very good in reception. Very poor in rooms. Very good in beach bar. It depends. So can't complain. It wasn't a problem for us.
Animation. Evening program was too late for us. so only 3 evenings we went to look at it. It was fine.Can't say anything bad.
Staff. It is the best thing in this hotel. Smiling, helpful, attentive, honest. They made our holiday better. I can't except name of the best person. They all ARE the best. Thanks!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 787ingad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Public Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience of your stay at Southern Palms Beach Resort! It gives us enormous pleasure to read of your appreciative comments and to have had an opportunity to make your holiday in Southern Palms Beach Resort a memorable experience.

Thank you once again for choosing Southern Palms Beach Resort for your stay. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With warmest regards
Nellie Njonjo
GUEST RELATIONS MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2019

We stayed at this place for three nights*from 31st-3rd February 2019. It was just a memorable stay and i would recommend anyone to visit.
Best part is the professional service at the reception to the restaurants and the housekeeping guys.
The reception guys helped out in organizing the surprise birthday cake for my girlfriend and all was very well executed from the surprise birthday cake and room decor.
Good service from
1.Mwakazi the receptionist and the other receptionist who gave us a room to refresh on our last day before leaving,
2.Mary Wamuyu and Ali from the restaurant
3.Gideon Kimonge the housekeeper.

Some cons though;
1.You can do better in Entertainment especially in getting the audience engaged and in the mood and also play some holiday feels music and not kwangaruu and all that stuff without real meaning of a holiday.
2. Improve on your structures..too old school. renovations could be better from the beach front shades to the rooms.
Its 7.5/10 for me and i would definitely come back.
Thank you!

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank Boniface0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2019

Dear Boniface,

Thank you for taking your precious time to write this absolutely awesome review of Southern Palms and the great recommendation.

It's such a pleasure to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday during your stay with us. We are so pleased that we were able to make your holiday a memorable success. Thank you also for appreciating our staff and also the surprise birthday hosted for your girlfriend.

Our team were delighted to hear that you had such a good time with us and we're looking forward already to welcoming you back! We have however noted your concerns and shall follow up for improvement.

Thank you once again for choosing our Resort for your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards
Nellie Njonjo
GUEST RELATIONS MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews