We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$144
View deal
Agoda.com
US$146
US$117
View deal
Hotels.com
US$138
View deal
Expedia.comUS$146
PricelineUS$144
Trip.comUS$130
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 086)
Filter reviews
1 085 results
Traveller rating
560
304
115
57
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
560
304
115
57
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon restaurant marco's bar private pool well maintained gardens superior room main restaurant south coast half board breakfast and dinner animation team great holiday out of this world beautiful resort low tide day safari salome lbr
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 1 085 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2019

We have been on holiday at the Leopard Beach Resort from 8th till 29th November 29 and we had a fantastic holiday.

Acco: We booked a deluxe room in block1, ground floor, room 109, a nice room. Mattresses were good.

Food: All food was excellent (we booked all-inclusive), with plenty variety in the food. Once a week we went to one of the specialty restaurants (Lemongrass, Thai specialty or Saffran, Indian specialty), both very special, highly recommended.

Pool/beach: a nice swimming pool, plenty of loungers around pool and beach. The hotel made clear agreements with sellers at the beach, who adhere to this, no problems.

Excursions: we booked ours with a reliable local agent, Rizo tours & Safaris (attractive rates!). We had a 2 day safari to Tsavo East with overnight stay in the beautiful VOI Safari Lodge, a short excursion (sailing) through the mangrove and a trip with the glass bottom boat. As said, the contact person for that agency is reliable, his name is Morris Juma. I can provide you with his contact details if you wish.

Last but not least, the hotel staff do everything to ensure that you have an unforgettable holiday. Lucy & colleagues (animation team), Bakari (beach), Queen (drinks on the beach), Salome (client relationship manager) who helped us excellently, Sofia, Janet, Mary and Daniel (restaurant Horizon) and James-Robert McKay (fruit juice).

Great African music: Apart from the daily program, 3 or 4 times per week there is a group of musicians (a fantastic voice) singing African songs, such as Brenda Fassie's Vuli Ndlele, a beautiful song. Once you've heard that song, you'll never forget it.

We have had such a good time that today we have decided to book another 3 weeks in February, so we WILL RETURN to the Leopard Beach Resort soon.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hans v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kioko-Musyoki, General Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2019

Dear Hans,

Jambo and merry Christmas from Diani.

We sincerely thank you so much for posting such a lovely review relating to your stay with us.


We are glad that you loved everything in its entirety ranging from our chef cuisine, the accommodation, the service and the overall staff friendliness.


We hope to be of service to you in the future.



Kind Regards,

Kioko Musyoki
Team Leader
Leopard Beach Resort and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2019 via mobile

A great resort on Diani beach, nice bungalows and great selection of food at the restaurant. What let’s it down from 5 stars is:
- You have to buy drinks at dinner
- Rooms are dated

What makes up for it is the staff are amazing!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Sjc997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kioko-Musyoki, General Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2019

Dear Guest,

Jambo and warm greetings from Diani


We thank you for your brief visit and for taking time to make this review.

We are glad that you had an overall good stay.


We hope see you for a longer stay I the future.


Kind Regards,


Kioko Musyoki
Team Leader
Leopard Beach Resort and Spa.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2019

Another beautiful stay at my favourite hotel in Diani. The Leopard team always treat me as family and the welcome is out of this world.For that reason on leaving I booked one of their beautiful villas for a December break Many thanks to all the team especially Esther,Jacob,Salome,and Winfred

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kioko-Musyoki, General Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2019

Dear Guest,
Jambo and warm greetings from your family at Leopard Beach Resort thanking you for your loyalty and continuebusiness support and for taking your time out to make this review.

We are glad that you had a lovely stay with us and that you will be comming back to see us next month.

Salome, Winifred, Esther and Jacob pass their greetings to you.



Kind Regards,


Kioko Musyoki
Team Leader
Leopard Beach Resort and Spa


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2019 via mobile

Horrible room,service,food everything! Very racist property as seems they prefer to deal with the loads of foreigners at the property! Probably worst experience for me at the coast never coming back here. On the last day they switched off the aircon to ensure I was out by 10am only to realize the rush was because my room was being given out to a foreigner from upstairs room who wanted a room on the ground floor. Cocktails were expensive yet very poorly mixed it was like guess work. Did not have a good time at all!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank janeem2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kioko-Musyoki, General Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2019

Dear Jane,

Greetings from Leopard Beach Resort thanking you for buisness support and taking your time to post this review.


I remember we met when you needed help in our kids club and we had a hearty encounter then.
You never shared any of these sentiments as it would have been a better way of addressing your concerns.

We normaly host a rich diversity of various nationalities and I regret that you felt sone racial undertones.

Our values and our established cooperate culture ensures that all our guests treated equally.


Kind Regards,


Kioko Musyoki
Team Leader
Leopard Beach Resort and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2019

We love Asia but decided this year on Kenya with a combination of beach and safari. Leopard Beach Resort & Spa was recommended by Travelbag as one of the best resorts so we took the plunge even though it was relatively expensive compared to
the Far East. We booked for 4 days at the Leopard, 4 days on safari, and then 5 days back at the Leopard.
We arrived mid September and our initial impression was very positive. The main complex which included the reception,lounges,bars,restaurant and swimming pool all looked great, as did the beach. A good start.
We were shown to our accommodation which was very clean and of good size with a
comfortable bed,fridge,safe,TV, air conditioning etc.,and a patio outside. The only disappointment was that it was in one of 6 rather stark looking individual blocks of 20 (10 up and 10 down) and with no privacy on the patios. Perhaps the addition of some trees around the blocks might be a good idea as would fence panels to separate the patios.
Having been en-route for some 18 hours we made having a shower the first priority
which is when we discovered that both hot and cold water supplies to the blocks are
salty - very salty. On the plus side our room was kept impeccably clean by the maid
throughout our 2 stays. We did have a problem with the wc on our second stay which after 3 repair attempts by their maintenance man we resolved ourselves but thats another story.
The staff at Leopard Beach are all very helpful and extremely friendly, so much so it was hard at times not to feel that management has drilled that into them. There were no language problems for us as almost all the staff spoke English. There is regular in-house entertainment which for the most part was good to excellent.
Moving on to the beach it is private though when you walk to the sea you are likely to be approached by locals trying to sell you goods or trips and they can be quite persistent like anywhere else in the world where unemployment is very high. Be warned also that it is a bit tricky going for a swim in the sea as there are plenty of
rocks and broken coral to negotiate before you reach any depth. Beach or reef shoes are an absolute must. The alternative is the large swimming pool and there are more than enough sunbeds and parasols to go around. There is also plenty of tree cover at the back of the beach, again with sunbeds. Towels are provided .
Breakfast was as good as we have had anywhere - excellent, and during the day we
could get a snack such as a pizza (at extra cost for us as we were half-board) all of which is freshly cooked to order - and they were excellent too.
However the evening buffets were well below the standard we would expect from a 4* resort. There initially appeared to be a large choice until we realised that the resort is catering for the tastes of numerous nationalities, so after a couple of visits we could see that our own personal options were pretty small, and unfortunately they are also the same every night. But what we found totally unacceptable ( as meat eaters) was the quality of the lamb and beef. Usually disguised by thick gravy it was only when wereturned to our table and attempted to eat it that we discovered much of it was gristle and fat, the sort you would only get with cheap cuts of meat. More often than not we would give up and leave it, going back to then pick something we didn't particularly want but had to make do with. Even the chicken legs were pretty scrawny with more bone than meat.
For what we paid ( which was more than double that which we would pay for similar accommodation in the Far East) we would expect meals of much higher quality than
the Leopard are providing. What I would say to the Leopard Head Chef and/or management is that if you cannot supply good quality meat,then don't offer it at all.

Eating out is an option with a number of restaurants within a 20 minute walk ( or 2/3 minutes by tuk/tuk) although if you have paid for the evening buffet in your package then quite rightly you might feel a bit aggrieved paying again for a meal. Walking outside the resort during the day is perfectly safe and its a pleasant walk to the local supermarket (where alcohol is very cheap ) , and there is also a Barclays Bank. Walking along the roads late at night is not advised - for the little it costs always use a tuk/tuk or taxi, and some restaurants provide free transport both to and from.
BTW: Drinks at the Leopard ( and most of the other resorts on Diani Beach ) are very expensive, especially the spirits and cocktails, and they use the same cheap brands you will find it the local supermarket. A no brainer !

Would we go back ? Probably not. We came to Kenya primarily for the safari, but thought for what it cost the Leopard Beach Resort had to be as good if not better than similar resorts in the Far East. Sadly it does not even come close which indicates the management have no idea of what they are competing against.

Room tip: Ground floor units in the blocks have a patio, first floor units have a balcony. Both are vulnerable to monkeys if you leave doors open
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsGotToBeAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kioko-Musyoki, General Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2019

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leopard Beach Resort. Thank you for taking your time to post a detailed review.

I am glad that you enjoyed the accomodation, the hotel layout and the staff friendliness.

I have noted your comments on food and shared your feedback with our executive chef for the necessary follow up.


We thank you for the buisness support.



Kind Regards,



Kioko Musyoki
Team Leader
Leopard Beach Resort and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews