We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$96
View deal
Expedia.com
US$96
View deal
Agoda.com
US$362
US$89
View deal
SAVE US$273
Free cancellation until 21/06/25
PricelineUS$109
Trip.comUS$362
TravelocityUS$96
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
47
35
18
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
47
35
18
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kite surfing school rooms are clean beach maintenance coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2020 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in a family room and a double room.
Positives:
I liked the rooms, minimalistic done in a local style. Comfortable beds, clean fresh sheets and towels. The aircons worked well. We slept well and the rooms were good. The hotel is on the most beautiful beach and sun beds are well placed to enjoy. The open restaurant is also right on the beach with stunning sun rises. The hotel is next to Kenyaways, which offers kitesurfing and watersport equipment for rent. Long beach walks are easy and a couple of restaurants can be found along the beach.
The hotel pool is well kept although at the back of the resort, gives good alternative for see swimming.
Hotel staff were helpful and friendly.

Negatives:
The grounds and buildings are quite neglected although it seems that some renovations are ongoing. Lots more needed.
The food aspects left a "sour taste". Hotel management seem to not realise what important role their restaurant/food plays in this hotel: the gate and reception has signs telling you that no external food/drinks are allowed and this is specifically pointed out to guests on checking-in. This would be ok if the alternatives are good, but the restaurant is a real disappointment and the included-meals should be avoided if possible, especially breakfast. No coffee are provided in the rooms and the restaurant only offers coffee from 8am, for early risers this does not work. Some of the meals at the restaurant were really good, but the restaurant staff and the chef seem to be in a battle and some of the simplest requests we put forward were not accommodated. The restaurant vibe is not inviting, it lacks decor and maybe some music. We could not identify any restaurant manager, interaction was only with waiters, who are not well trained. Although it was easiest to eat at the on site restaurant and we tried it a number of times we just looked for other places to eat after a while.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank vnieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

We were not hotelguests, but we came here everyday to enjoy the breeze and of course the great food. The staff is ever so nice. The owner and his wife very friendly the manager a nice guy.The price of the food is compared to Europe cheap. And our compliments to the chef because he is very good. The wine is great,not like the "vinegar" you get elsewhere f.i. at one of the most praised places at the beach where the food is expensive and not at all tasty) Our waitress Diana (bright eyes we call her) knows exactly what we like. So resuming: GREAT PLACE

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Ingrid d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020

I spent more than a week at blue marlin and had a wonderful experience. The place is gorgeous and perfectly located. The rooms are clean and have everything you need, with a beautiful sea view. The staff and the owner are super nice and always available. The food is really tasty (only down side is that they could have more vegetarian options). This place is the perfect combination between a cozy hotel and a big resort. Cherry on top: it’s right next to a kite surfing school with a cute beach cafe, if you feel like a different meal. Look no more, blue marlin is exactly the beach retreat you’re looking for!!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mcristiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2020 via mobile

We stayed one night (luckily not more) at this place. It started off with the taxi driver picking us at the airport being 30 min late. Arriving at the hotel we found it quite chabby. The so called nice balcony had two chairs tucked in a corner and was everything but cozy. The toilet was leaking and the AC dripping and not going below 27 degrees. Overall disappointing.

The really bad thing though happened at dinner. We were informed when ordering that they were out of avocados and fish. However in the end got some decent tasting food. Then we ordered a glass of cognac and drank it with pleasure for a little while until realizing it was ants in the glass. Response to this was what really blew us off. No apology but being told the glass was clean when it left the bar. In other words simply not their problem. Took the drink off the bill but nothing else. No manager available to talk to.

The morning after upon checking out we got the honor to meet the manager. Might be the rudest person in hospitality ever encountered. She simply explained that it happens that you happen to consume ants and since there were no ants in the food she couldn’t see why our bill should be reduced. She went on and said it happens that taxi drivers get delayed for different reasons. She said they had been fully booked for some time and no one said anything about the AC or had other complaints.

To conclude turning all complaints around and denying all responsibility for it will never be a winner. Just a shift in attitude and a small offer and it all would have been ok. Now they just came out as a place that would rip their customers off at any price.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank CamillaH106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue M, Manager at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2020

Ants do not drink cognac. People do. Ants do not refuse to pay their bills. People do. No need to be monkey to like the trees. You have to be human to love them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2020 via mobile

taxi ordered from the hotel at ridiculous high price (17 dollars) to pick us from the airport wasn't there when we landed. took 30 minutes to get him by phone.
room was small and basic
Air-condition was on the whole day, stayed on 28 degrees.
toilet was leaking
view from the so called balcony was zero (unless you are a monkey that loves trees)
and the manager was an uptight Russian lady that said we are to blame because we didn't complain.
but the beach is amazing
wouldn't come back to this hotel if they pay me

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rafael696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue M, Manager at Blue Marlin Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2020

Ants do not drink cognac. People do. Ants do not refuse to pay their bills. People do. No need to be monkey to like the trees. You have to be human to love them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews