We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$96
PricelineUS$109
Trip.comUS$362
TravelocityUS$96
Orbitz.comUS$96
CheapTicketsUS$96
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
47
35
18
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
47
35
18
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kite surfing school rooms are clean beach maintenance coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2018

This could be a nice hotel if they concentrated on what is there instead of doing building work.
The entrance from the road could do with a tidy up to make it more welcoming.
The rooms are spacious, beds comfortable and bathroom roomy but could do with brightening up. Our balcony was unusable because of the water discharge from the air conditioning leaving a puddle and green mould. The air conditioning wasn't that good so you tended to have it on all the time. A fan would have been useful and cheaper to use!
Grounds, pool and beach are small but tidy. The Masai is very helpful regarding moving beds and making sure you are comfortable.
Breakfast is lovely with plenty to suit all tastes. Fresh fruit platter a must.
The restaurant food was very nice. Food and bar service was good with staff friendly and cheerful.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kenyajunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2018

I stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights, very nice hotel on the beach, our room was sea view, amazing! it was spacious, the bed was very comfortable with mosquito net. Big shower and clean bathroom. all the staff was so kind and helpful.
the restaurant is very good and the breakfast is rich
20 minute drive from shimba hills.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlottaI5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

I find Blue Marlin unpretentious and lovely place for an afternoon spot. Its next to the beach so it has lovely views.
I have only gone there for lunch and the food has been always been delicious. We went to have lunch and drinks this October and had some issues with the mixologist at the bar for making the wrong cocktail and he made noise to us when we returned the cocktail. However our waiter Simon turned around our experience and we had a lovely time. I would go there for their King prawns- very delicious.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 286luckyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

The pictures are so nice.. and paradise it could be.. BUT
Bad management I guess.
No WiFi although promised. Noisy Construction work ongoing the whole day. We had two people that got ill with fever and had to stay in the room, which was a disaster. No proper airco, a bathroom covered in fungi so you could hardly breathe, and aggressive monkeys trying to break in. And they succeeded.. plundering the fridge and leaving feces on the floor as a thank you... just because the window didn’t lock very well, (and anyways you also need fresh air).
The building is also quite open, you can see people taking a shower in their room... and the construction workers could indeed watch everything which felt like no privacy at all.
On the beach harassed by sales people of all kinds and no relaxed swimming because of Kite surfers all over the place thanks to the school next door.
And quite far from facilities for which you have to arrange transportation. After dark I am not even sure about safety..
Staff were nice although they did not seem very supported by sr. Management. Food in restaurant is decent but the place is not very inviting.
Place with potential for the future but really disappointing today.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jankL8772CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

After a friend of ours recommended this hotel, my wife and I booked it. Then we checked the reviews and were a bit concerned. Insects and blood stained sheets!! Anyway, since my wife and I are seasoned travellers, we knew better than to base our opinion on a couple of disgruntled tourists. What we found was a lovely hotel, helpful staff, good security (thanks to a Masai who kept watch 12 hours a day), lovely food, super 4-poster bed and nice room. Admittedly there was some work going on, as they try to add a 4th floor to the complex, but unless you stayed in your room during the day, you would be unaware. Who goes to Diani Beach and stays in their room during the day anyway? The doorstep beach was amazing. Beautiful white sands and all manner of water sports (not my thing though). A small warning - if you want to go for a relaxing walk on the beach, forget it. There are endless locals approaching you with the intention of selling you stuff and offering glass bottomed boat trips etc. and lots of stray dogs. The locals are just trying to make a living, but to be honest I got a bit tired of it after a few days. It's a public beach, so if you want peace and quiet, stay on the hotel grounds and sit on a sunbed. The Masai ensures none of the locals hassle you in the hotel grounds. You can catch a tuk-tuk anywhere you fancy for a few quid, by hailing them off the road. It's very safe, even at night, but make sure the tuk-tuk takes you door to door. Driving is a bit dodgy in Kenya. Pool is small, but nice enough for a break from the hot sun. all in all a lovely place to stay, contrary to some of the reviews. Oh, and the Swahili Fish is to die for!!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews