We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$73
View deal
Expedia.com
US$73
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Hotels.com
US$73
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
PricelineUS$77
eDreamsUS$73
CheapTicketsUS$73
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
21
12
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
21
12
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air condition great pool stayed here enjoyed our stay internet beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Located about 200 meters from the beach front this family friendly resort offers everything from Bar, Restaurant, Pool etc. We were looking for a place to stay for five weeks and booked an apartment with kitchen plus breakfast at the restaurant.
Breakfast was awesome, fresh fruit and passion juice are a must when you are here, eggs any style you want and pancakes are highlights to get your day of for a great start.
with our own kitchen we did a lot of home cooking as vegetables and fruits can be bought at many small stands close to the resort. There are two supermarkets, a local one and a frech chain store that allow you to buy anything you may need. Just next to the resort is a Indian store that sells beers by the crate and is much cheaper than the supermarkets as long as you take the empties back.
A couple of nights we ate at the restaurant and very much enjoyed the seafood pasta, BBQ chicken, Shrimp Avocado Salat, to name a few, all was exceptional, bravo to the kitchen staff.
Housekeeping is awesome and the security staff at the gate are very nice, this in fact is true for the entire staff at the Diani Morning Star.
A giant pool located in the middle of the resort is surrounded by old palm trees and big old massive leaf trees, forgot the name but they spend shade in the heat.
We stayed five weeks and time flew by, but we will be back in just a short while.
Asante Sana Team Morning Start for a memorable stay in Diani - we love you.

Room tip: The northern rooms shade on the balcony all day, south has shade early pm.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AlexPschorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2021

We stayed here through an AirBnB booking. Friendly staff and great pool. The rooms were well equipped but we mainly ate out so didn't experience them. Sleepy location and local restaurants were pretty bad but the tuk-tuks only cost 50Ksh each for most journeys.

We ate here once and it was quite nice but we would recommend eating outside the place. The bar was well-stocked however and the staff very friendly.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Journey794441
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 December 2019 via mobile

The resort is very exquisite... very friendly staff,the compound is well maintained and the rooms are spacious, comfortable and well taken care of.We enjoyed our stay.
It's also very accessible...top security measures maintained.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mwarania
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 December 2019 via mobile

Morningstar is a good location to conduct internet based business. Thus far the general noise level has been very good, that is, the location is peaceful.

The Wi-Fi is adequate however it is a no brainer to know a Mobile Safaricom data package will be needed as a connection redundancy.

The customer facing staff seem to be genuinely pleasant and professional people.

The food ordered from the restaurant is of a high standard except the Prawn Cocktail. Avoid ordering the Passion fruit juice.

The apartment is clean but without a washing machine as advertised. All the silver taps and water outlets in the bathroom are severely discolored to the extent the shower tap is encased in a white shell of limestone a quarter of an inch thick.

The swimming pool is clean, well maintained and a pleasure to use. There is no gym and it would be a trivial task to lay a small concrete foundation to locate some outdoor gym equipment space permitting.

An evaluation of a resort cannot be undertaken without reference to the price paid. The quality of Morningstar's offer is not perfect but, after factoring in the low to medium asking price, the Morningstar offer is very competitive.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank maxdM2516SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

Nice little place we had trouble with the air condition but the fixed it
It is so hot there that we spent most our time at the resort lol
Good food are great location it’s not far from the beach and store although it’s to dam hot to walk

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews