We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$331
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$331
View deal
Booking.comUS$333
Orbitz.comUS$331
TravelocityUS$331
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
548
41
17
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
548
41
17
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water lovers the turtle shaped pool swing bed small resort perfect place to relax little touches low tide fantastic stay our honeymoon the entire staff heaven on earth white sand ceiling fan sun loungers lobster the cottages spent nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2020 via mobile

The title I have given to this review was my first thought when I arrived at Waterlovers and my opinion didn’t change as the week then went on. We stayed in Giraffe cottage and loved it. It wasn’t one of the very closest to the beach, but it was still just steps away, and we never tired of waking up to see that stunning beach and sea view. The room was beautiful, as was the bathroom which had a good high pressure shower and constant hot water. Each room has a balcony or terrace with table and chairs from which to enjoy the lovely beach view.
We booked bed and breakfast only, to keep our options open for going out for dinner. However, food at the Waterlovers was so good that we chose to eat dinner there more often than not. We especially loved it when the tables for dinner were set up outside overlooking the ocean. That said, there are some very good eating places nearby, or a short tuk tuk ride away, so it is worth exploring local restaurants as well if you can tear yourself away.
Overall, our stay was outstanding and all the staff we encountered were unfailingly delightful, smiling and helpful. We are already planning a return visit, hopefully next year. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank Calmcglaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo Valentina, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2020

Thanks a lot for this marvelous review! Much appreciated.
It's thanks to guest like you that we love our job every day!
You'll always be welcome!
Hope to see you soon
The WL "extended" family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020 via mobile

On first arriving I was disconcerted about the narrow unkept dirt track that leads to the hotels entrance some 100 metres off the main road. Upon further query, it was confirmed this was the only access to and from the hotel.

Our first dinner was not great, I had beef on skewers, the beef for me was way too tough, but it should be noted we did arrive after the dinner service should have closed.

The staff are very welcoming and accommodating. Due to our late arrival, full check-in was deferred u till the next morning. All the serving staff were very quick to respond. And polite and respectful.

There is some hassle as you go o to the beach from vendors, not the hotels responsibility but it does detract from the experience.

The WiFi is rubbish.

Rooms are a nice size, very clean with A/C and a ceiling fan. The pool is well maintained and the sun loungers are comfortable, well spread out, but could do with more in the shade.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Travelgoat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo Valentina, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Thanks for your kind feed back. It' been a pleasure to host you.
We're glad you had a good time.
Maybe your ranking was a bit strict, but we appreciate your words.
Yes because of your late arrival, we had to warm up your dinner
after the kitchen closed, so maybe it was not as
good as when we're able to serve it right away.
For the wi.fi we're sorry for the inconvenience ,
and in fact we've been between
the first (few) hotels to install the optic fibre from Safaricom (Vodaphone group) in Diani,
however there is still some times when the provider is not stable.
Hope to have the chance to host you again.
All the best
The WL team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome and this continued throughout our 6 day stay.
The Giraffe cottage is fantastic with all the extra giraffe touches.
The hotel and grounds are so peaceful. If you choose sun beds near the beach say a firm no to the hawkers and they will go away. Watching the stubborn camels was always fun.
The food is lovely and the Dawa cocktail!
Such a nice touch to receive a parting gift when we checked out.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Thank you to the whole team for a fabulous stay with you.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LynnWColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccardo Valentina, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

What a nice feed back!
Thanks from all of us! It's been a pleasure to host you,
and we hope to see you soon!
All the best from
the WL "tribe"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2020

We spent 5 days and nights with the ektremly firendly, clever, serviceminded an humorous staff of Veronica, Valeri and Kevin. We enjoyed every second. Everything was perfect: rooms, restaurant, bar, garden, location and beach.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank Terri190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricfort5, Direttore at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Amazing review! Thanks a lot for sharing!
All the best
The WL team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020

My Mother and I stayed for a few days at the end of our safari trip and had the most lovely time. We were amazed at just how beautiful the resort was, afro chic describes it perfectly. The food was lovely, the staff were friendly and attentive and the whole atmosphere was just relaxing and peaceful. We want to come back already!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lucinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricfort5, Direttore at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2020

Dear Lucinda,
thanks for your time to write this stunning review!
We hope to see you again soon
to show you all our sincere gratitude
from
The WL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews