We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$326
View deal
Booking.comUS$333
TripadvisorUS$326
Orbitz.com
Hotels.comUS$326
eDreamsUS$333
CheapTicketsUS$326
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveller rating
558
42
17
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
558
42
17
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water lovers the turtle shaped pool swing bed small resort perfect place to relax little touches low tide fantastic stay our honeymoon the entire staff heaven on earth white sand ceiling fan sun loungers lobster the cottages spent nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 620 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2019

We were a group of 6 friends booked in Waterlovers for 6 nights.On our arrival there was no one to greet us, after 10 minutes a receptionist turned up.At 11:30 we still had to wait for our rooms.The rooms were okay but really not what we had expected.Our room had no warm water for almost 3 days.The dinner we had on our first day was served luke warm; so was our breakfast. We decided to eat in other restaurants neraby.Kevin and Veronica and the great staff made our stay. They were always there for us 100% reliable and always with a smile and a great sense of humor.The Italian Manager seemed to avoid us as much as she could.
" All in All " we had a nice stay in Waterlovers but we do believe that the Hotel is over rated in price and comfort..

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rudikenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Thanks for your review. Sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay as you expected.
We had a very good feedback from the rest of your group (the other 2 couples that came with you, and actually also from your wife) but we understood from the start that you were not having the best time.
We understand that your wife was sick and you were quite tense about it.
Probably this also affected the perception of your time with us.
However we did the best we could, and we're sorry for some of the complaints that you wrote,
as we see them in different way. Please allow us to write our point of view about it.
We do not agree that you waited at the reception for "10 minutes" upon your arrival.
The manager actually came to greet you at the reception right away when you arrived,
and she had to wait for you 10 minutes as you were chatting with the safari driver, exchanging telephone numbers, smoking etc She did it with the smile, no problem for us, at this point we're not sure if you saw her anyway.
Regarding your complaint for the room ready at 11,30, I hope your agent told you that our check-in is normally at 12,30, so we actually gave you a courtesy to get it ready 1 hour early. (if you didn't receive the information from your agent, where you booked your holiday, I guess you can complain with him). So from our point of view, we were expecting to have a "thanks" rather than a complaint for this. The problem with the hot water instead, it was unfortunate, but for what we know it was only for one day (the boiler element of that room got broken, not that we could do anything about it, but we fixed it quickly). the room above you in fact was sharing the same hot water (one solar with boiler serves 2 rooms in the same unit, and they confirmed that the water was not too warm only for one day). Regarding the fact that the meal was lukewarm, it is quite strange, as we serve the meals with the food covers, just to prevent the food to get cold. The waiter told us that some plates were removed the cover from you while he was carrying the others (maybe you refer to this?) . Anyway normally the good thing of serving our guests at the table and not through a cold buffet is just to make sure the meals are cooked at the last minute and served directly to our guests. Which is definitely our policy.
The fact that you think that our manager tried to avoid you is really a pity, as she really went the extra mile for you. She was so close to you that you told her about your past, including all the story of your life and the problem with the health of your wife, plus she helped you to change the mattress for your wife several times, when she mentioned that it was a bit too hard for her, trying really to assist as much as she could. And she took care of the cake for the birthday that was celebrated with us from one of your group. And she listened to you any time you went to the manager desk (many times) . We're sorry that you did not appreciate all her effort.
On the other side we're happy that you appreciated the effort of the other 2 staff representing the management (our 2 assistant managers Veronica and Kevin) as we know that they have also assisted you a lot and contributed actively to make your holiday a better one. Regarding the last comment for the price, we have to say that you didn't book with us, so having booked through an agency, we cannot take any responsibility about it , sorry. Said so, we wish you good luck for your wife health and we hope that you will have better time the next holiday, wherever it will be. All the best from the Waterlovers "extended" family



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019

Three stars for a three star hotel, the definition of three stars on TripAdvisor is average, four stars is very good. My review falls somewhere in between which would be 'good'.

I would give the resort five stars for the staff, too many to individually remark upon, but I will give a special mention to Kevin, a resort manager, incredibly kind and calming. When an issue arose with our follow on safari trip which was arranged by the resort and was not rectified for a few days he was continually reassuring and attentive. If you do arrange a safari through Waterlovers (and their recommendation of Saruni was absolutely fantastic), I'd recommend getting confirmation of your internal flights before you arrive at the resort.

So to the accommodation, we had the Lion Suite, on first impressions we were impressed with the space and the view. The room is dark (even with the lights on) and although there is an air-conditioning unit, the room isn't sealed so it is fighting for effect. The room did often feel damp; towels will not dry in the bathroom and if not aired will become musty. The wi-fi was good, but TV lovers, beware.. I didn't see one in the resort.

The outside space is good, the pool spacious and clean and sun loungers readily available. Once again the staff are fantastic and appropriately attentive. The bar is well stocked, but in my six nights at the resort I didn't have properly cold beer. The beach is impressive, apparently the third most popular in Africa. The sea is clean and pleasant to swim in. The beach is expansive and would be a joy to walk on if it wasn't for the ever present 'beach boys' trying to sell you their wares. It could be a little awkward at times, but you have to be polite and ultimately firm with them.

We stayed on a full board basis, the presentation and options were good and the portions large, but the food was not to our tastes.

Overall, in my opinion the resort is a little tired, but what made the place a worthy stay was the staff, they really make the difference.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReefKeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2019

Dear Reefkeef, thanks for your review, we're glad you rated our property with a "good" vote according to you. Maybe the 3 stars are not really making justice for this, but we take your words for the overall experience as more important than the rating itself. We're glad that you appreciated the efforts and friendly professionalism of our staff. Indeed we're here for you. We saw on the emails that for the safari we had offered a package that you decided to modify to have your return flight to Nairobi instead of Diani to catch your return flight back home. That new programme was bringing a new flight back with 2 hrs and 45 minutes earlier compared to our original programme. We didn't think this was going to have a major impact on your safari. For this you complained and we accepted the complaint, and did all we could to change the flight for you and the lodge booking to modify restrictions due to the safari park fees, and the lodge policy. We paid for all that from our side. I hope you are happy that we went the extra mile for you. Regarding your stay we saw that against the typical weather condition in this season, there was quite some rain that made the environment humid (everywhere around here, as we have tropical forest reaching up to our garden) Normally October is a good time for the beach in Kenya, as the humid season is supposed to be pretty finished, but this one is going to be an unusual one (as everywhere else the weather is changing unexpectedly). For the lack of TV in your room, our philosophy is to disconnect. So we decided on purpose not to put it in some of our rooms. We offer music stations and free ipads with free wi-fi for who doesn't want to disconnect. On top of it, for real TV lovers, we do have also an accommodation with 42 inch flat screen and DSTV satellite TV and much more to connect , including sound system, ipads and bluetooth speakers (even if it is slightly more expensive than the double Suite that you booked, and if you look at our conversations, we also offered it to you in our first email in reply to your enquiry one year ago). For the darkness in the room, our Suites are equipped with 2 big windows, 1 is 3mt x 2mt in the front, and the other one is 3mt by 1,5 on the side of the room. If the curtains are open normally there is a good light, even without the lights on. (on a normal day). Plus there are 4 are windows with concrete vents and inside shutters, which if are left opened too, allow a decent extra light and ventilation into the room. Plus you have the door leading into the terrace on the front (to the beach) which you can leave open for extra light or air or just for extra view over the Ocean. Plus the room has a ceiling fan and an air conditioner for extra ventilation and dehumidification. So we would say that normally there is the possibility to have good light and ventilation in the room. For the food, our cusine has an Italian flavour, maybe that was not of your taste, but we appreciate that the presentation and options were good and the portions large for you. The staff was offered the possibility to read your feed back, and they are very grateful for your opinion! We hope to have the chance to host you again in the future.
All the best from
The Waterlovers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019 via mobile

Excelent management and staff. They have very individual, upscale approache to the clients needs. Very romantic place with beautiful ocean view. Rooms - artistic decorated by combination of Italian-Kenian style.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KrysiaTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2019

Dear Krysia,
thanks for sharing your experience with all our holiday seekers!
It's really nice what you wrote, and it means a lot to us.
Much appreciated!
All the best from the Waterlovers "Tribe"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2019

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights just relaxing and enjoying the lovely room and beach area. The staff are so friendly and take very good care of you. Most cottages face the beach area. There is a shallow pool plus nice loungers on the sand. Food is good. It’s secluded and family friendly too.
We loved it’

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank annpG5608ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo Valentina, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Thanks for this fantastic review. We're glad you took the time to share your experience. You'll be always welcome here with us!
All the best from the Waterlovers "extended" family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Waterlovers and it was a great surprise for us. The resort is small (less than 10 rooms) which gives a touch of exclusiveness. The exotic decoration of the room is lovely. Food is good especially the breakfast. Staff is friendly and well trained (special mention to Abdallah).
To summarize, you don't have to hesitate!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FredXXIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

Thanks a lot for spending these wonderful words for us.
It's been a pleasure to host you, hope to see you again.
All the best from
the Waterlovers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews