We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$996
US$814
View deal
Hotels.comUS$814
CheapTicketsUS$814
Orbitz.comUS$814
TravelocityUS$814
Trip.comUS$996
TripadvisorUS$814
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
257
21
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
257
21
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel lovely boutique home away from home felt like home relaxing vacation south coast large pool amazing place seafood donald beatrice diani beach safari kenya chefs properties
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2020

The best part was the chef. He cooked up amazing food, and catering to some of our more idiosyncratic requests. We did not stray from seafood and vegetarian options, and in the latter there was some of the better Indian food I've tasted.

The rest of the staff were decent. They tried their best but there were obvious gaps in their professionalism. The welcome to the hotel was slightly awkward and left us feeling unsure what to do. Waiter service was ok, but not great. We were a large group, so I can understand that creates complexity for what seemed to be an understaffed hotel (because of covid, I expect).

There are really no facilities at the hotel other than beds by the small pool and beds overlooking the ocean. Even the board detailing tides and activities seemed to be stuck on a day long past. So if you like some activity in your vacation, you may want to look elsewhere. If you want to be lazy and do nothing, this could be a good place. The beach is a public beach, and you can try to negotiate activities with some of the beach boys - mangrove forest canoe trip, glass boat, camel rides, etc.

The rooms are very nice. No need to get an ocean view room unless you plan to spend time in your room instead of on the beach or by the pool. Wifi was pretty good everywhere.

Room tip: You likely will spend very little time in an ocean view room. Maybe worth it if you like to see the ocean upon waking up in the morning.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank faura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle Mathews, General Manager at Elewana AfroChic Diani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2021

Dear Rahul,

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor; it was a pleasure hosting you and the family. Chef is very happy to read your compliments and glad that you enjoyed the food and that all dietary requirements were met as requested. We are also pleased to know that you were happy with the rooms and good wifi connectivity.

We take your highlights on areas you saw that need improvement and we shall endeavour to make the necessary improvements.

With warmest wishes

Joab and The Elewana AfroChic Diani Beach Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2020

Had recently stayed at Afrochic for 4 nights with a large group of friends and children. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience (rooms, food, hospitality and service from staff). No disappointments at all to share. All positive comments and would definitely like to come with my family and friends again. Keep up the great work!!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kenberryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle Mathews, General Manager at Elewana AfroChic Diani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2020

We love having groups of friends and children as everyone gets to enjoy all elements of our hotel. Thank you so much for your lovely review ... and yes, please do come again.

Warm regards

The Elewana AfroChic Diani Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2020

Absolutely amazing.
What an amazing stay my wife and I had.the best place for people looking to come and unwind and relax with amazing beach right at your doorstep and even better food. Very friendly and accommodating staff and very important to see that they have good covid protocols that they are implementing.cant wait to come back soon.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shafiqd2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle Mathews, General Manager at Elewana AfroChic Diani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2020

I'm in the process of writing to Tripadvisor to arrange for a 6th star! Thank you for acknowledging the COVID-19 protocols that we've put in place; we are trying our utmost to ensure the safety of our staff and guests. I'll let the kitchen know about the food and the rest of our staff know that you found them friendly and accommodating. We're all waiting for your return.

Warmest regards

The Elewana AfroChic Diani Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2020

Beautiful location right on Diani beach, very professional, helpful and friendly staff. Lovely room with a view, exceptional dining and wide choices of cuisine. Beautiful, pristinely clean pool, great for lap swimming too.
Small, intimate, quiet and elegantly stylish.
Small spa, very nicely done and good choices of therapies.
Highly recommended!

Room tip: second floor seaview suite
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 733pareshd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle Mathews, General Manager at Elewana AfroChic Diani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Thank you for your wonderful review Paresh,
We take great pleasure from your writings on the details of Elewana AfroChic. We are also pleased you enjoyed the service, food, and the friendliness of the staff. We aim to always offer high quality and personalised service with enthusiasm.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warmest thanks from us all

Joab and the clan at Elewana AfroChic Diani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2020 via mobile

Perfect getaway after COVID madness. Great hotel, wonderful, wonderful staff. Delicious food. Clean and spacious room. Nice clean good length pool. Live the swinging beds at the beach sipping on coconut and munching on cassava crisps.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sunspotter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle Mathews, General Manager at Elewana AfroChic Diani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Many thanks for your review.

We are so glad that you chose Elewana AfroChic for your break after a longtime without travel; and we're delighted that the beach location and hospitality of the staff was able to give you much needed relaxation.

It will be a pleasure to host you again on your next trip to Diani.

Warmest thanks from us all

Joab and the clan at Elewana AfroChic Diani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews