We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$740
CheapTicketsUS$740
Orbitz.comUS$740
TravelocityUS$740
TripadvisorUS$740
eDreams
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
256
21
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
256
21
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel lovely boutique home away from home felt like home relaxing vacation south coast large pool amazing place seafood donald beatrice diani beach safari kenya chefs properties
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2019

Stayed here with my family for 4 nights; they are very flexible with special meals for children and accommodating varying meal schedules. The occupancy was about 50% at the time which gave us the opportunity to enjoy the property without the bustle of a crowded hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank SWachira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Elewana AfroChic Diani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2019

Many thanks for your review. It was a great pleasure to host you and your family here. The chef is particular delighted that you enjoyed the food and the flexible meal times. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Afrochic in the near future.
Warmest thanks from us all
Joab and the team at Elewana Afrochic Diani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2019

After ten long days of safari, my family and I were ready to relax at Diani beach for four nights. I can only be grateful to all the reviews here on TripAdvisor that we chose Afrochic! It was unbelievably relaxing, perfect for unwinding, beautifully done up rooms and above it all amazingly warm service. I will most certainly come back here if I visit Diani beach again!

Firstly, each of the ten rooms in Afrochic is different, and every one of them is lovely (I actually saw all ten of them and hence can say this confidently!) each of them have a different theme and the entire room is done up to match the theme. Having said that however, their absolutely best room is their executive room called Punda Milia or the Zebra room. We were fortunate to have been upgraded to this room and I can safely say that a portion of our enjoyment of the property came from being in this room!

The food at Afrochic is amazing, and can also be comfortably customised as Chef Massoud is very interactive and always ready to accommodate the guest's requests. We had a gala time eating different cuisines everyday (made vegetarian for those of us who were pure vegetarians), thanks to Chef Massoud and his team's efforts. I would also strongly recommend that you opt for an all-inclusive package, including alcohol (if you are alcohol drinkers) as their inclusive alcohol list is the most extensive I have ever seen anywhere in the world. They also bring the food and drinks up to your rooms, so you can chill in the comfort of your room. The service is so warm and Afrochic's team really go out of their way to ensure your comfort. While each one of them are competent and warm, Lillian, Norman, Sandra and Diana really helped us out, and with their happy smiles and genuine warmth, made our stay smoother and more luxurious. Joab, the hotel manager was always at hand to handle any issues and was so friendly, asking after our comfort everyday.

The beach is right in front of the property and is super clean, with white sands and lovely blue-green water. And the swimming pool is a great communal area. Our family enjoyed several happy times playing beach and water volleyball while the kids swam about in their floats. For those with little kids, there is a kiddie pool, with untreated water. The normal pool is deep for little kids and they will need floats (unless they can swim well).

To sum up, I would HIGHLY recommend Afrochic to anyone. I couldn't have asked for a better ending to my Kenya trip!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Elewana AfroChic Diani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2019

Dear Jenna,

What an incredible review- wow!

Thank you so much for your wonderful and detailed review. We are delighted that you all had a good time and could unwind after safari. The Executive Suite is definitely a well deserved indulgence, and we're so glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for recommending Elewana Afrochic to the Trip Advisor Community.

It was a pleasure hosting you and the family and we look forward to welcome you back.

Warmest thanks from us all,
Joab and the team at Elewana Afrochic Diani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2019

The ambiance is welcoming & friendly staff. Personalizes services. You can never miss home when your are Afrochic, I would say home away from home. Suitable all ages . Fresh food and the chef will cater for all your dietary needs.

Room tip: easy access to the beach
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andiaebony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Elewana AfroChic Diani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2019

Many thanks for choosing to stay at Elewana Afrochic and for the incredible feedback! It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your sister. Reading how you felt at home and were impressed with services, the meals prepared by the chef and had an amazing stay is delightful, has been wonderful feedback for our entire team!

Eagerly waiting your return in the near future.

Warmest thanks from us all,
Joab and the team at Elewana Afrochic Diani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2019

Excellent manager and chef, wonderfully friendly, personable and very customer oriented staff.

Only downside, beach boys that become rude and aggressive at times and a clear hindrance but not the fault of the hotel. Personally I wouldn’t mind a small addition to the hotel cost for the beach to be cleaned up as the plastic waste is increasingly obvious.

Great stuff all round - keep it up

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Elewana AfroChic Diani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2019

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor! It was a pleasure hosting you and the family here, at Elewana Afrochic Diani.

The Chef in particular is very happy to read your compliments and glad that he was able to make your holiday a delicious one!

We at Elewana Afrochic echo your words of keeping the environment clean and by this we do not use any plastic at the hotel and banned plastic bottles and straws over a year ago. Our team also participates in regular beach cleanings and sensitization in collaboration with our neighbours.

It is a pleasure hosting you and we all look forward to share Afrochic with you and your family again.

Warmest thanks from us all,
Joab and the team at Elewana Afrochic Dian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2019 via mobile

My second time at Afro Chic…this time to celebrate with my Dad 80th birthday. Joab and his team made sure we had all the arrangements planned and set up.
Jenarose welcomed me and took personal responsibility to help put the gifts in each room and the welcome sign was decorated. She made sure welcome garlands were made for everyone.
Donald helped us during the day with a smile and accommodating 14 different requests.
Chef Masud took personal care for our food again accommodating 14 different meal plans. He makes amazing meals… pizzas on request, delicious crab, lobster!
The rest of the team Sylvia, Betty, and so many more a big thank you!
You get to know everyone personally at Afro Chic the staff made a huge effort to ensure we were comfortable and relaxed.
The rooms are beautiful at Afro Chic, comfortable beds, kept clean, a cookie jar placed on your bed side each night with fresh milk in the fridge for your morning tea and coffee.
The hotel has a turtle hatchery and we were blessed to be there at the right time. Their commitment to saving these turtles, each staff member came to help and get these turtles into the water.
Afro Chic or rather the Elewana group use no plastic in the hotels, recycle to preserve the environment.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gauri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Elewana AfroChic Diani Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2019

Dear Gauri,

Wow! What an incredible review and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful, informative and extensive review of your stay with us at Elewana Afrochic. Wonderful of you to mention many of our staff by names- they will be thrilled when I share this high praise with them- thank you!

It was a privilege celebrating your Dad’s birthday with us and we are glad that you all had a great time here and were even lucky enough to have seen the turtles hatching.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you, your family and your friends back to Elewana Afrochic very soon!

Warmest thanks from us all,
Joab and the team at Elewana Afrochic Diani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews