We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for snorkeling”

Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Gialova
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 8 July 2018

We snorkeled in the calm waters near the parking area for the old castle and hike to the cave. The water was warm and calm enough to allow us to snorkel to the nearby island.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beach bar"
in 9 reviews
"nice beach"
in 6 reviews
"golden beach"
in 12 reviews
"safe swimming"
in 3 reviews
"calm waters"
in 2 reviews
"great for kids"
in 2 reviews
"original bar"
in 2 reviews
"shallow water"
in 2 reviews
"umbrellas"
in 11 reviews
"sand"
in 9 reviews
"stretch"
in 5 reviews
"pylos"
in 8 reviews
"sea"
in 8 reviews
"beds"
in 5 reviews
"castle"
in 6 reviews
"sept"
in 3 reviews
"nature"
in 5 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

A lengthy sandy coastline which offers crystal clear turquoise waters. Especially in the morning hours when the sea is calm , you feel like you are in paradise .

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Spiros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We stopped at the first bar on the left coming from Gialova. They had very comfortable sunbeds with parasols that were free of charge if you bought a drink. Nice beach , shallow slope into the sea for safe swimming

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Trevor2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

We spent some time at Divari beach both before and after hiking up the nearby peak to visit the Old Castle of Navarino.

We based ourselves at the very western end of the beach just beyond the bend in the mile-long strip of golden sand (past the main straight stretch of beach where most visitors go) just so we would be close to the footpath that leads to the castle. This area is more rugged looking than the main beach, with some driftwood and seagrass scattered on parts of the sand and piles of rock in parts of the water, but it's still beautiful.

It faces Sfakteria island, and at this part of the beach the water is so shallow people can reach the island by walking and just a bit of swimming in deeper sections (this spot is called the Sykia Pass). We did see one couple walking far into the bay on their way to Sfakteria, where the shallow water ends at a triangular sandbar and a small strip of golden sand called Glossa beach.

There were fewer than 10 people spread out along on the western stretch of beach the day we were there, so the place was very quiet and peaceful. The water was calm and several shades of turquoise, so the bay looked very beautiful.

We found it a very relaxing spot to spend our time. We'll check out the main stretch of beach next time we visit the area.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank donnyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Golden beach is a lovely long sandy beach with crystal clear blue water.
A great place to walk, swim or relax on a sunbed at a beach café.
Wonderful views of the bay to Pylos and even better spot to watch the sunset.

Date of experience: September 2017
4  Thank lindadownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Beach (Divari Beach) also viewed

Pylos, Pylos-Nestor
Petrochori, Pylos-Nestor
 
Vounaria, Messenia Region
Gialova, Messenia Region
 

Been to Golden Beach (Divari Beach)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing