We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely place - highly recommend”

Review of The Coach House

Front and driveway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front and driveway
Looking through to Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Front and driveway
Looking through to Dining area
Front of The Coach House
entrance Hall
Living room
dining area
Dining area
Dish washer
Washing machine and cooker
Kitchen
DownstairsCloaks room and shower
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Bathroom
Walled garden
Walled Garden
Hay making
Horses in the next door field
Jevington church
Views
Country walks close by
Country walks along the lane to the downland path
Walk through the woods close by
Walk along Green Lane minutes from Coach House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Jevington, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KarenA456...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would not recommend.”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

When we stayed at The Coach House for 13 nights, It was a very unpleasant experience. The property was dirty and the facilities were inadequate.
It was apparent that the house had not been cleaned satisfactorily in a long while because we found all the surfaces to be dirty and there were spiders and cobwebs everywhere. The soft furnishings were stained and smelly and the kitchen appliances needed to be cleaned before use. No cleaning products were provided apart from two dishwasher tablets. We had to purchase a tumble dryer because the washer dryer listed on the website did not exist. The vacuum at the property was dirty and full , so we provided our own.
The tiny shower leaked and the light above was faulty. There was nowhere to store toiletries in the shower, so we left a caddy. The mixer tap over the bath fell apart twice and there were nasty stains on the kitchen ceiling above the food preparation surface. Due to lack of cupboard space we had to store food in bags on the floor and there were no wardrobes to hang clothes.
We complained to the letting agents when we returned home but because we did not receive a satisfactory apology or assurances that any of the issues we raised would be dealt with, we have no alternative but to leave a poor review. We were told that our complaints could have been addressed if we had notified them when we arrived but as it was a Sunday afternoon we needed to make the place habitable for that night. They would have been fully aware of all the problems and we did not feel that things could have been rectified in the short time that we were there.
We were not reimbursed for the tumble dryer as we had not left it behind.
The two good reviews on TripAdvisor need to be balanced with our experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
We at Chesters are mortified at this dreadful review written about this lovely Coach House. The people staying there at the moment could not believe it either in fact their words were ' are we staying in the same house'. These people did not once ring or e-mail us in all of 13 days stay. Kate is also mortified at their comments as she is particular about her standard of cleaning, as for the dryer, we would have given this couple a refund if they had left the dryer behind, but they took it with them when they departed. We have always had such lovely comments and reviews from guests who have stayed at The Coach house. We wonder if they had time to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and Jevington Village. !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pioneer65...
1 review
“A lovely place - highly recommend”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great location within a short drive of the coastal towns and coastal walks in E.Sussex, and within a lovely little village with pleasant local walks. The local pub is a short walk, and does good food, but the coach house is fully equipped for self catering. The coach house was well prepared for us, including thoughtful touches like the complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us. There was a problem with the shower when we first arrived - all sorted cheerfully and without fuss immediately after the owner was made aware. In any case, the lovely free-standing bath tub in the upstairs en-suite was an attractive alternative! The washing machine was great, and with a clothes line available outside in the yard (and a drying frame available inside if needed) we didn't need to pack so much. The beds were comfortable and clean, and the layout of the coach house is well designed and cosy, with good storage space available. We didn't use it, but there is a hose/sunken drainage feature outside in the yard which would be useful for cleaning walking boots for example. The yard itself has seating for sunny evenings. In short, the coach house was perfect for us, and we would definitely go again given the opportunity. Also, the deposit was returned to us with no fuss - also grateful for that. We'd love to visit again one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT MODERN COTTAGE WITH GREAT WALKS”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Situated in a quiet no through lane off the main road winding through the village of Jevington. Although it can be a bit of a rat run at peak times, Jevington is a lovely little village with pretty cottages, a parish church, a very popular local pub and excellent walks up onto the South Downs in either direction.

The Old Coach House is straightforward and convenient, with parking off the road, immediately outside the property. It is situated just behind the famous "Hungry Monk" cottages (reputed to be the inventors of Banoffee Pie when formerly a restaurant).

Entrance into open plan lounge/diner/kitchen with wood flooring, electric coal effect fire and central heating. Lighting on dimmer switches and side table lamps. Large screen TV with full range of Freeview channels.

Kitchen was fully equipped with latest dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, full oven and hob. Small shower room off kitchen lobby, which whilst small, provided a loo, wash hand basin, heated towel rail and shower.

The first twin bedroom was situated off the lounge area and provided a large 3 drawer sideboard, twin beds, bedside tables and lamps. Door into large 'airing cupboard' containing central heating boiler and clothes airer. No other clothes hanging facilities.

Stairs climb out of the lounge/dining area to the first floor where the smaller second bedroom (Double) was situated in open gallery area with a few pegs for hanging clothes. An excellent adjacent bathroom offered a loo. wash-hand basin and large bath with only hand held shower.

There was a side door out of the dining/kitchen area onto a paved patio/garden area with two wooden bench seats and gate out to parking area. This area is surrounded by a low brick wall about 4' high. Narrow planted borders on 2 sides with wall of stable block providing the other boundary. The yard also provided a reel hose which we used to wash the dog down with ~ very useful for dog owners!!

The cottage was warm and convenient in so many ways, that we would thoroughly recommend this property for those looking to access the East Sussex coast and countryside. Very close to Eastbourne and within easy access to Brighton and surrounding places of interest. Especially a wide range of walks onto the South Downs and the nearby Friston Woods for great dog walking.

We highly recommend The Eight Bells pub in Jevington (just a short walk via the churchyard) for great pub food and a wide range of beers and ciders ~ very dog friendly! We visited on an open-mike night ~ great fun, great atmosphere. Also The Tiger and Thai Restaurant in East Dean are only a short drive away.

The cottage was comfortable and convenient and although lacked a few extras experienced in other self-catering properties, was worthy of our 5 star rating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation and modern facilities.
Liked least: Lack of hanging space and slow internet access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
" Thank you Peter for giving such a detailed review of The Coach House and so pleased you enjoyed your stay come again soon "
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing