We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The ideal holiday location for this area of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Les Fontaines Cottage Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Les Fontaines Cottage Exterior
12 x 6m Pool Cottage Entrance - Closeup
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Les Fontaines Cottage Exterior
12 x 6m Pool
Cottage Entrance - Closeup
Cosy Lounge with Woodburning Stove
Cottage Dining Kitchen
Landing in Cottage
Double Bedroom in the Cottage
Double Bedroom in the Cottage
Twin Bedroom in the Cottage
Sunset from Garden
A Warm Welcome Awaits!
Najac - One of France's Prettiest Villages
Pont Valente at Cahors
Nearby Watersports
Winetasting at Cahors, Marcillac & Gaillac Vineyards
Millau Bridge - Highest in the World!
Birds of Prey Sighted Daily
A Regular Visitor to our Garden!
Often Seen After Dusk
Medieval Villages in Every Direction
One of the Many Abbey Cloisters
La Roque Gageac in the southern Dodogne
Medieval Town of Carcassonne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Martiel, Aveyron, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pbvh
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The ideal holiday location for this area of France !”
Reviewed 5 September 2010 for a stay in August 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Excellent accommodation (we stayed in the cottage) and very welcoming hosts who can provide all the help and guidance you need for places to visit in the surrounding area, whilst leaving you alone if that is what you require.
We visited Villefranche, St. Antonin Noble Val, Albi, St. Cirgue Lapopie, Cordes sur Ciel, Millau Viaduct, Belcastel, Villeneuve, Figeac and Rocamadour amongst others and can recommend all of them - we were not disappointed !
Also for restaurants we can recommend Terre et Galets in Villeneuve, L'Epicurean in Villefranche, Au Rince Cochon in Limognes en Quercy and La Petite Folie in Promilhanes.
You do need a car to get around though !
The local village markets are not to be missed and whilst busy in high season are still well worth the excursion. The pool and garden are always a wonderful area to come back to relax and unwind !
We also managed (with Andrea's assistance !) to book a hot air balloon ride for a dusk flight over the local countryside - a great experience !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dlminbc
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical holiday at Les Fontaine”
Reviewed 30 September 2009 for a stay in August 2009
1
person found this review helpful

I can’t emphasize enough what a fabulous stay we had at Les Fontaines. The owners, Andrea and Stephen were charming and helpful hosts—never intrusive but always available to provide suggestions, directions, and information when asked.

We stayed in the cottage, which is a self-contained, beautifully appointed building which is attached to, but separate from the main house. We arrived to find that Stephen and Andrea had stocked the fridge with essentials and a lovely bottle of wine! Stephen has lovingly restored this building from virtual rubble and he is quite a craftsman. The cottage had a large kitchen with eating area (we never cooked!) that included a dishwasher and washing machine, in addition to the stove/oven. There was a comfortable living room with stereo, satellite TV, and DVD/VCR. They also had wireless internet available. Upstairs, there are 2 bedrooms – one with double bed and the second with 2 twins, and the bathroom.
Everything one could need for cooking was provided, as were linens and bath towels. The place was spotless, and we had no troubles whatsoever.

They also have 3 B&B rooms in the main house, which again were very nicely decorated and fully booked while we were there.

Les Fontaines is quite secluded with lovely gardens and a beautiful swimming pool, with lounge chairs and shade umbrellas. You will definitely want to have a car if staying here, but the closest village – Martial is in easy walking distance. It’s a small village, basically with a boulangerie and an aliementation. Villefranche de Rouergue is only about a 10 minute drive and we did most of our shopping there.

This is a fantastic place to use as a base for exploring the many medieval villages that are nearby. We stayed two weeks and spent mornings visiting nearby villages and put on over 2500km on the car! Some of the prettiest villages in France are in easy driving distance of this beautiful area. If you would like a beautiful and tranquil spot that has at least a dozen great restaurants and many historic sites to see near by, then I highly recommend Les Fontaines. We were there in August, when even rural France is quite crowded with tourists and it is extremely hot (so the pool was lovely to look forward to after our drives). I have been in that area in the fall - September/October and the weather is usually very nice then as well, and not so oppressively hot. If we go again, we’d probably go during these months when it is not so crowded and if we could, we would stay longer!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison59
Macclesfield, Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect holiday destination!”
Reviewed 25 August 2009 for a stay in July 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Les Fontaines is the perfect holiday destination tucked away in a picturesque little hamlet where you can relax in the most beautiful surroundings.

We spent just a couple of nights in the B&B last year and loved it so much we decided to go back for longer. We have recently spent the most idylic week there with our 17 year old daughter and my mother. A holiday at Les Fontaines is ideal for any generation.

The cottage has everything you could possibly need and more. Its like home from home and furnished to the highest standard as is the B&B. Not only do you have the pool to swim in or relax by but if you are a resident in the cottage you have the use of bikes, pool table, dart board and exercise equipment - everyone is more than catered for. In addition you only have to take a short walk down one of the lovely lanes to find more picture postcard corners that can only be found in France.

From Les Fontaines you don't need to travel far in any direction to see some of France's most beautiful medieval villages, towns or cities and not a thing is spoilt. Whatever your interests be it art, history, walking, cyclying, canoeing, food and wine or whether you simply just want to relax in the sun Les Fontaines is the perfect place to come for a holiday.

Andrea and Steve having something very special. They are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. It would be very difficult to find somewhere that would surpass Les Fontaines and we certainly will be going back again and again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robo37
Sheffield, England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A French holiday gite that is perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 31 August 2008 for a stay in August 2008
1
person found this review helpful

My family (me, my husband and 2 teenage daughters) have just spent a delightful week in the gite at Les Fontaines.

Not only did the gite have all the comforts of home, including dishwasher, microwave, washing machine, TV, DVD player (even a hairdryer and iron), but also beautiful bed linen, comfortable beds, a very modern bathroom and a lovely comfortable lounge where we found it very easy to relax.

Outside there was a gas barbeque for our sole use, table and chairs and also a pool table, darts board and excercise equipment. The girls loved playing pool and darts when they weren't in the pool, sunbathing or using the bikes that are provided to explore the area and go blackberry picking!

The pool is gorgeous, large and very clean. Sun loungers are provided and there is also a table and chairs.

Andrea and Steve who own the property (and also do Bed & Breakfast in the main property) are the loveliest couple you could wish to meet. They are extremely helpful and can't do enough to ensure you have the best possible holiday - however they are not intrusive which we liked but they were there when we needed them.

The area around their home is beautiful - what picture postcards are made of! We ate at some fabulous restaurants and met some of the friendliest people you could wish to meet.

A car is essential though, even if only to fetch food from the supermarket although Martiel is within walking distance where there is a boulangerie.

I can't recommend this place enough - perfect in every way!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddingt0...
Cambridgeshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 2 July 2008 for a stay in June 2008
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking to relax and unwind then Les Fontaines is the perfect place to do it.

The B&B plus self catering cottage are owned and run by husband and wife team Andrea and Steve Cam.

On our arrival my husband and I received a warm welcome from Andrea and her dog Bracken.

My husband and I stayed in the cottage which was beautifully decorated, and more than adequately equipped for our needs. Andrea and Steve had provided us with complimentary wine, water, tea and coffee. The kitchen contained, cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washing machine along with cleaning detergents for the above mentioned items.

Andrea and Steve gave us a tour of the B&B which was wonderful, the rooms once again beautifully decorated.

The property also had a fanastic swimming pool, which was enclosed and had laser sensors in accordance with the French laws on Health and Safety.

Andrea and Steve were perfect hosts, advising us on places to visit etc., we were never disappointed.

There are very few places that my husband and I would return to but this property and its owners are an exception.

The property and setting are beautiful, set on the edge of a small hamlet but within easy driving distance of Villenfranche de Rouergue. It is also set on the edge of the Aveyron/Lot/Tarn & Garonne border and within in easy driving distance to some of the 'Most Beautiful Villages in France'.

To summarise: Lovely hosts, wonderful setting, immaculately presented accommodation with easy access to many beautiful medieval towns.

Bliss :]

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Everything. Lovely hosts, wonderful accommodation, tranquil setting.
Liked least: Nothing to complan about
Visit was for: Romantic getaway
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$74
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing