We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
eDreams
Booking.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
55
48
14
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
48
14
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for four days and loved it. We had a three bedroom house with two full bathrooms. We had a beautiful patio that looked over the trees. We had a kitchen and were able to make many of our meals at the house. The beach was lovely. They were tours to sea turtles hatching. You must go on a dirt road for quite a while South of San Juan Dr Sur to get here. The restaurant food is good but quite expensive.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank OnAir321239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

The apartment was too small and the bathroom was miserable. Showers were non existent. The location and privacy of the beach however was astounding. Sand and water were to die for. The place is also very close to La Flor where you can take a trip to see turtles laying eggs by night and the babies scurrying to the ocean by sunrise trying to escape the vultures. The conservation effort at La Flor is very impressive. Overall the beach and sands and the Olive Ridley turtles made up for the lack of facilities at Parque Maritomo.

Room tip: Choose the bungalows as I think they are better equipped and more spacious especially if you are an American traveler with a family.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasukis2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Quiet location far away from the cities, the lights and the noise. Completely in the nature just few steps from the pacific ocean. Bungalow was clean and comfy. As this is in the nature you can find in your bungalow or close by some lizard or maybe you are lucky and a beautiful blue bird stare at you while you relax reading a book in the outside patio! I would have stayed there 1 month! They rent (for free) also bikes or canoes.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PaperogaArchimede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Even though it's not a short quick drive from San Juan del Sur, it is most definitely worth it! This beach boasts beautiful white sand, and Costa Rican landscape for scenery. The added bonus is that because it is just that little bit further out of town the beach is hardly ever crowded!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank VPW2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Playa El Coco is a long, beautiful, pristine beach. The waves are great for boogie boarding and beginner surfers.

We stayed in Casa Gerardo, which is 20m from the sea. The house had a functional kitchen which was great. The two bedrooms both had hyper-active, very noisy air conditioning... The units need to be replaced, they probably consume loads of electricity.

The house was very basic for the price (US 160 per night plus tax), not great value, I guess you pay for the location.

There is a restaurant on the beach which has good food, although it is over-priced compared to elsewhere in Nicaragua. Restaurant service is very slow, but then most people aren't in a rush. We appreciated having the self-catering option and there's a small but well-stocked shop on site selling fruit, vegetables, eggs, milk, frozen chicken, pasta, rice, oats/oatmeal, pancake mix etc

Overall a lovely beach and acceptable accommodation that provides the opportunity to enjoy the beach

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank michellelL2772BN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews