We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, well equipped cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
dove is in the fore front of the picture, manifold is the left hand side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
dove is in the fore front of the picture, manifold is the left hand side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
dove is in the fore front of the picture, manifold is the left hand side
Sky Sports room (with all Sky programmes and bt sport) has 55 inch tv and surround sound
Other side of Sky sports room shared with 2 other cottages but little used as others have own sky tv
Geese pond which is a magnet for many visitors to the village
Cheese shop adjacent to the geese pond also brings in many visitors
Hartington Hall open to non-residents for food/drinks has best beer garden in the UK!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adam H
1 review
“Cosy, well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Lovely, cosy and warm cottage which is well equipped for a self catering holiday. There is sky T.V. in the cottage and both sky sports and movies in the shared entertainment room which is an added bonus. There are books to read and the owners have put together a selection of recommended walks and things to do. The owners are clearly passionate and take great pride in this high standard cottage. There's plenty of storage space and the shower is great. Not the most comfortable bed or pillows but was sufficient for our 4 night stay. There is Wifi but it has a very weak signal, also parking is very tight so be careful when pulling in and out. There are some fantastic walks close by in the beautiful village of Hartington which is full of character. Buxton is only a 20 minute drive away and there's plenty to do. (I would highly recommend Poole's Cavern). This cottage is ideal for a quite break with outstanding scenery. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Well equipped kitchen
Liked least: Wifi and parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hstuartar...
essex
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just the place for a autumn break.
We spent 3 nights here in November, walking during the day and relaxing during the evening. Dove Cottage gave us the perfect location.
Hartington is beautiful and the surrounding countryside is awesome. We just did local walks of about 5 miles, but these were challenging for us inexperienced walkers.
The cottage had everything we needed, it was warm and cosy. The kitchen was very well equipped with good quality saucepans etc. The laundry room was very welcome to was our clothes after our walks and the massive airing cupboard meant clothes dried quickly.
As mentioned the parking space is interesting, parking sensors had a field day.
We didn't use the newly fitted television room, but could see that would be a good social venue.
All in all a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIS-Saint...
Saint John, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations and location”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I stayed here for a week, using Hartington as a base for walks in the Peak District National Park. The location was excellent, providing easy access to many walks. The unit was perfect for my needs. A very comfortable queen bed, a fully equipped kitchen, a large bath for soaking in after a long day's walk, and a great downstairs living room with Sky TV. There was off-street parking (a little tricky to access, but pretty easy to get the hang of). The owner has stocked the cottage with numerous materials on local walks, in case you've come unprepared. WiFi is a little sketchy - it helps to be on the far side of the cottage. There is a store across the street which can provide you with your grocery (and beer) essentials. I definitely hope to come here again (and with luck my wife will be able to join me next time)!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and location
Liked least: I needed to send an international money order as a deposit - a little worrying if it had ever gotten lost in the mail.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely homely place with everything you need”
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Lovely place with all the mod cons you would need for a weekend or a week away in the Peak District. Ideal location for walkers or people wanting a quite get away, but only a short drive from Buxton, Bakewell and Matlock.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJones198...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First experience in the Peak District and in a cottage of this sort. Would definitely go back!!!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Upon entering the village of Hartington, it was exactly as I'd imagined and wanted. A quiet, rural and picturesque village, miles away from busy, chaotic cities. We were pleasantly surprised that the owners had already set up a Christmas tree and a complimentary bottle of wine was awaiting our arrival, which was a great start to our short stay, The village is known for being a starting point for many long walking routes leading through the Peak District, which would be fantastic for the avid hiker or anyone looking to take in some scenery. For us, we opted against any trekking due to the time of year, but were more than happy to enjoy the comforts of the cottage, which was beautiful and homely. Nearby, there are pubs and a tea room, which are both great. But if you feel like you are eager for a bit of the city, then Nottingham is only an hour's car ride away, with Manchester and Birmingham city centres being about a 90min drive to each. I am only sorry we didn't get to stay here longer, as this was an ideal getaway for anyone wanting a peaceful, relaxing and tranquil vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$28
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing