We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely stunning - we will be back!”

Review of Villa Chrysoula

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kalami, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ros D
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning - we will be back!”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from two lovely relaxing weeks at Villa Chrysoula. The villa is beautiful, the views are stunning and Tony & Julia are delightful hosts.

The villa is clean ( villa cleaned and linen changed twice per week), and well laid out with 3 air-conditioned bedrooms, two bathrooms, a small TV lounge with Sky News, a cool central hallway, and fully equipped kitchen including fridge freezer, microwave, water cooler (much appreciated) and filter coffee machine. There is wi-fi in the villa (although this doesn't reach the pool area). There are two separate patios and further balconies off the hallway and main bedroom. The immaculate pool area is elevated with stunning views across towards Albania. The pool was cleaned several times a week, and there were ample sun beds, two umbrellas and welcome additional shade provided by the surrounding olive trees.

Kalami is a lovely traditional village with enough restaurants and supermarkets to give choice but not too many to be over-commercialised. We recommend Sakis water sports - go in the mornings for water ski tuition with Louise. We would also recommend The White House restaurant for choice and quality of main courses, and especially Dimitri's restaurant for the warmest welcome and absolutely amazing deserts. Alison, Dimitri and Lynsey (and their lovely driver George) provide a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere with great food and service. We ate there several times during the two weeks and never left disappointed. Alison also runs the Corfu Riding Centre with really well looked after horses ( including several rescue horses). They run both beginner and more advanced rides through some beautiful countryside and beaches.
Things I would have like to have known before I arrived:
1. The villa is only about 1 km from Kalami village and beach ..... But that is 1 km vertically! It is possible to walk to Kalami and back - I did it every day for bread and basics - but it is not an easy walk, only for those who are sure footed and of above average fitness. The best route is the "goat track" from close to Dimitri's - ask Alison to show you - but even this is very steep and not suitable for children.
2. There is no local shop in Gimari,and Dimitri's is the only restaurant really within walking distance, so you do really need a car.
3. The roads in Corfu - especially the small roads to the coastal areas - are very narrow with sheer unguarded drops in some areas. The driveway to the villa is also very narrow and very steep. We only had a Citroen C4 and still felt that a smaller car ( if you can manage with one) would have been a lot more practical.
Overall though, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Villa Chrysoula and would unreservedly recommend it. We will definitely be returning. Thank you Tony & Julia!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, cleanliness and the views
Liked least: The steep driveway to the villa
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilRevie
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful place and extremely friendly owners.”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here for a week in May and everything was great. The place is truly beautiful and you were made to feel completely at home. Thanks!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cantchoos...
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Was it a dream??”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Tony, Julia thank you. We had a fabulous time here and are very keen on returning. This was the first time we'd done such a holiday with our little boy and it couldn't have been better. Tony met us at the airport and drove us to the house, even stopping on the way to stock up at the supermarket and fishmonger's! He then organised our boat tickets over to Paxos where we stayed at Villa Christina (separate review added) and took us to the port. We couldn't believe how kind this was of him. We also couldn't believe how beautiful the house and it's location were. There was so much space and so many different choices for outside seating, all with glorious views. The house is easily accessible from the coast road yet also far enough off of it to be blissfully peaceful, and also a lovely little walk down a path to the beach and village. The pool was a fantastic bonus and you could stand all day looking at the views from the poolside. The house was well equipped, we're planning on building a similar barbeque at home now. I hope I've done Tony and Julia justice in these reviews, I really must stress how great they were and what a brilliant, stress-free holiday we had. It's not often we say we'd return somewhere as it's a big world with a lot to see, but we would undoubtedly return here in a flash.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxation
Liked least: Not knowing which terrace to sit on!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veritable
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great house in a great location”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed here for only three days but could have stayed much much longer. The house is magical with split levels that each offer the most amazing views of colour laden gardens, crystal blue water in the bay below and the astonishing Albanian hills as a back-drop. This house is nestled deep up a mountain side that, on first attempt at night, made for a nervous car ride, but then seen in daylight, was a visual feast - every corner turned revealing yet more breathtakingly beautiful vistas and charming houses that grip to the sides. Corfu itself is amazing and I would recommend it, the village and the house to anyone. The house and pool was spotless and very comfortable, and with 4 adults, the two bathrooms with two toilets was especially "convenient", and Tony, the owner could not have been more helpful or charming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the comfort and the location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sulina10
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“so peaceful and relaxing,”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed in Villa Chrisoula for 4 weeks, we found it so relaxing and peaceful, we did not want to leave, the pool was great and the views breathtaking, we would sit there of a night just taking in the views, the pool was lit up at night, the bed rooms had air conditioning which was great,the views from the bedrooms looked over to Albainia and the balcony between them was great , the villa has 3 balconys to sit on we were spolit for choice, it has a lovely large kitchen with dishwasher ( who wants to wash dishes on holiday) 2 bathrooms one with a bath and washing machine, the other has a shower, it's in a small village, so you can live the Greek life the owner's Tony & Julia, are lovely and cant do enough for you to make your stay so perfect, there is also a large barbique which is great you do need a car for the villa, I cant recomend this Villa enough, it's perfect,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool, spent most of our time there
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing