We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Priceline
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
23
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
23
6
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I lived in Nicaragua for 2 years (in a small village in the central hills); when my family came to visit the country for the first time, I took them to Isletas El Roble. We rented the island for the day, and enjoyed the private island where we lounged in hammocks, used the pool, kayaked around the lake to view other isletas (gear provided upon request), and enjoyed a lunch of fresh fish, tostones (fried plaintains), vegetables and fresh squeezed pitaya (dragon fruit) juice.

The lodging on the island provides a kitchenette where you can make your own food (though we opted for the prepared lunch), common room area, and bedrooms. We did not stay overnight, but instead rented the island for the day. The staff was very helpful, making sure we had everything we needed and was very responsive via email when we customized and reserved our day trip. I highly recommend this experience-- it's as personal, private, and relaxing as any upscale hotel and you'd be hard pressed to find such a favorably priced retreat elsewhere.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ally-trippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My husband and I spent three days at El Roble a couple of weeks ago. What an amazing place! Boris picked us up in the lancha and in less than 15 minutes we were on the little island and all to ourselves for three days. Francisco and Arlen (and sometimes their sweet 6 yr old son) were our sweet sweet hosts for three days. Arlen made us the most delicious huge meals and Francisco took us on a two hour tour of Las Isletas in the lancha, telling us all about the community there and all the flora and fauna. We could tell how much he loves his community and these isletas. There are only four bedrooms but if you reserve the island even if it's just two of you, you have it all to yourselves for the entire time. We got up early to watch the sunset over the water right outside our bedroom door,and enjoyed the sunset every afternoon from our hammocks by the small pool, overlooking Mombacho. This is a honeymoon get-away if we've ever seen one! Awesomely beautiful and peaceful. The last morning we took the kayaks that they provide and toured all around by ourselves. The whole stay was like being on a big boat but without the rocking! We have the highest recommendation for El Roble!

Room tip: There are only 4 rooms. the two that look out on the water are the best, Rooms 3 and 4, I think.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SontuleSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My husband, two daughers and I loved El Roble! Everything was superb, starting with the ease of making a reservation via e-mail. For our first day, the boat was ready early, and we had a lovely tour of birds on our way to the island. Once there, we were so pleased with the rooms, the service, the setting, and of course the food! We would recommend El Roble to anyone seeking beauty, peace, comfort, great food, all within the truly unique community of Nicaraguans that make Las Isletas their home.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_year_in_Costa_Rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights on the Isleta in March. What an experience. The island is small but they never rent it to more than one party. The couple who takes care of the guests was very nice. The room are comfortable except during weekends because they play very loud music at an other island. You can hear the music very well if the wind is blowing toward the Isleta del Roble. We missed not having a curtain in the shower but apparently the French owner has always refused to put one. Ah these French people always different! But hw put a game of Boules that is great fun. The owner should also install solar panels to run the filter of the pool which now runs only for an hour a day. That's very little especially for a pool under the tropical sun. We left the Island with "a gout de trop peu". You need to stay at least 3 nights if you want to really appreciate this unique lodging facility. That's what we will do next time we visit Isleta del Roble.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TchinBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed at this little lodge for 2 nights and it was a very nice experience. It is not a luxurious hostal but it's confortable. It's on a small island in the middle of the Isletas. The island is tiny and you feel that you are on a special place. The meals are made by a couple who work there and it's very good. There is no air cond. and it's warm (a bit hot) but you can swim in the pool or in the lake. We did the best pictures of our entire trip there.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews