We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden haven”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Mablethorpe Seal Sanctuary and Nature Centre
A small part of the beach at Sutton-on-Sea
Sutton-on-Sea paddling pool and childrens play areas.
Sutton-on-Sea rose gardens.
Sutton-on-Sea bowling green, gardens and beach huts on the promenade.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sutton-on-Sea, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A hidden haven”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just arrived home after a most enjoyable holiday at the Stables. What a lovely place to stay. Peter was on hand from us turning into the the car park. He helped us in with our luggage and what a surprise when he opened the door to the Stables. Beautiful Accommodation in every sense of the word. Spotlessly clean and everything you could wish for. The welcome pack was great specially the bread made by Sarah. We would recommend the Stables to family and friends without hesitation. We have found a place where we will definitely return to next year. I read a lot of reviews before I booked but cannot understand the comments made by the gentleman re-inadequate. I thing we must have stayed at a different place. We had no problems at all everything of us is positive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to complain about at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabssingh
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place and location”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I, with our daughter (8yrs) and niece (12yrs) stayed at the Stables for a whole week in July 2015.
It had everything we needed for the week, it was really clean and we had no problems all week. Peter, Sarah and Emily were great hosts, very helpful all week with information, local amenities, clear and concise and very friendly and welcoming.

The location is great, Sutton on sea (10 min drive) and Maplethorpe (15 min drive), both have lovely beaches. Skegness was about a 20-25 min drive.
The place was ideal to explore all three.

I had my mobile for internet access, I didn't use the local WIFI.
I got mobile reception too in the area (on both EE and Three mobile), so no problems with mobile connection.
There is local petrol station and Aldi and other stores locally in Sutton on sea and Mapplethorpe.

I would stay again, no doubt and I would recommend it to folks.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review. You are always welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DARREN S
1 review
“The Hidden Gem of a holiday rental.”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We arrived at The Stables on Saturday 18th July and left on Friday 24th July. From the moment we arrived, Peter couldn't have made us feel more welcome, he even helped us unload the car. This is the most well organised place we have ever stopped in. We have been holidaying in Lincolnshire for the last 38 years, and we have never stopped anywhere, where they have a list of instructions for everything electrical.
The accomodation was absolutely spotless and so well equiped. Lovely patio amd gardens outside the front door. We will certainly be coming here again!
A REAL HIDDEN GEM.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was spot on.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for this review and we look forward to seeing you back here soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela E
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic...lovely all round from the accommodation to the people.”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed in The Stables from Monday 16th to Friday 20th with my daughter who was attending an animal course on a farm near Skegness. From the moment I booked on Booking.com to the moment we left Peter could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble and when we arrived he helped us into the cottage with our suitcases which was very welcome after a long drive from Edinburgh. Everything was explained in detail and if we needed anything else we were just to ask. Lovely setting looking right out onto the garden with it's own private little railway built by the owners, not operations at the time of our stay but very quaint and immaculately kept. Telephone reception/internet was intermittent. Peter was even kind enough to look up the opening times of the Seal Sanctuary we wanted to visit as we were slightly out of season. This would have saved us an unnecessary trip if it had been closed. The welcome pack was excellent and the home made bread was delicious. Very windy roads and no sat nav function were my biggest bug but we just took it slow and were in no hurry to go anywhere. Sutton on Sea is a lovely little town, lovely beach and some nice little shops. My daughter needed an emergency doctor's appointment and the staff at the Marisco Practice were absolutely fantastic and helped tremendously which took a lot of pressure off too. Loved our little visits from Tinker the cat for a bit of a cuddle. I would have no problem at all in recommending this place and it's fantastic value for money and we couldn't have asked for any more. Thank you Peter for making our stay a pleasurable one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thanks you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanSliw
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could Have Been Better”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house was very clean and tidy and the kitchen was well stacked. Peter was there to meet us and show us around and so we had no problem getting the key.

Towels were not provided but a set was for sale for £8. I thought this was a very cheap and mean stunt. Of course, when you arrive on a Sunday there's not much you can do but pay for the set, which were very poor quality. We have gone self-catering many times before and this is the first time this has happened. When the on-line advert says 'linen' is provided, this usually includes the towels, not just the bedding.

The central heating was excellent and the house was as warm as you wanted it to be, but the bed linen was extremely inadequate. A reasonable quilt for the double bed but only extremely thin quilts for the singles and no spare bed linen at all. We needed to keep the central heating on to compensate, so the owner would save money on his fuel bills by supplying adequate bed linen!

Also, although we didn't need it, one of the two single beds was extremely uncomfortable. It was a spring base with a very thin mattress, through which you could feel the springs. This is not at all adequate for a fourth person. The two sofas in the lounge were also of very poor quality indeed. Just foam rubber cushions with a cover thrown over them. Not really a sofa at all and not very comfortable.

Wi-fi access was advertised but not accessible. The DVD remote needed a new battery. The shower was tepid and lukewarm at all times, even when turned up to maximum heat. The property was advertised as adequate for 3-4 people, but we were only two and found it very cramped.

Despite all this, it had many pleasant features and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Thank you for the opportunity for the feedback.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen was excellent. The TV reception was perfect.
Liked least: No wi-fi, poor bedding and a tepid shower
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at out holiday cottage. I have to say that I disagree with just about everything you say.

1. Towels. Nowhere on the description of the property does it say that towels are provided. Also, I sent you an e-mail on 2nd February with directions and a copy of our terms and conditions, which clearly state that we do not provide towels. If you didn’t read it that’s not my fault. Why don’t we provide towels? Well, many of our guests prefer to bring their own. Secondly, being a family run small business offering short breaks we felt that we wouldn’t be able to provide enough clean dry towels at the required frequency.
2. The pack of towels that we sold you for £8 (And if you care to check the Argos web site you will find that that is what they cost.) Is not a ‘cheap and mean stunt’! What a horrible thing to say. We like to think that the spare bale of towels that we keep to hand is actually intended to assist our guests who have forgotten to bring theirs.
3. ‘The bed linen was extremely inadequate’ Astounding! This is completely subjective opinion. In the main bedroom there is a king size 13.5 tog duvet on a standard double bed and the mattress is 8 months old. In the second bedroom, which has 2 single beds with light quilts is generally used for children, so maybe it shouldn’t be a surprise when ‘large’ adults sit on them that you can feel the springs. Both beds and mattresses are the same age.
4. ‘We needed to keep the central heating on’ It’s FEBRUARY its cold outside.
5. ‘No spare linen’ So not only do you expect a set of linen that keeps you snug in February without central heating, you wanted a spare set too!
6. The sofas. What planet are you on, the sofas were purchased from a major chain, and have a throws over them to protect them from spills. You are now just being spiteful; there is nothing wrong with any of the furniture in The Stables.
7. Wi-Fi. Instructions are provided for Wi-Fi. We have a tablet permanently connected to the guest Wi-Fi and the previous guests managed to get connected. We state that Wi-Fi is available, which it is. But do remember that Wi-Fi depends on the quality of your equipment, not just the source.
8. The DVD remote needed a new battery – and you could have told me at any time but chose to do so as you were leaving. Had you informed me earlier it would have been replaced in a minute. All equipment and batteries are checked before each hire, but batteries can go at any time.
9. Shower. I have just checked and it seems perfectly fine to me. But then isn’t shower temperature subjective? Unfair to complain about something that is obviously personal preference.
10. ‘Cramped’ It’s a converted stable, it sleeps four, kitchen table seats four, sofas seat five. What are you talking about?
11. Conclusion: When you arrived I explained to you that if you have any problems, if anything doesn’t work, you can’t find anything, etc, just walk over and knock on our door anytime from 8am to 10pm. Did you do this? NO. I always like to see my guests after their first night, just to make sure that everything was OK. I saw you on at least two occasions during your stay, did you mention any problems to me. NO.
12. In fact, during your four night stay, the only problem you mentioned was the DVD remote battery - just as you were leaving, and you said it didn’t matter anyway. Nice.
13. The Stables is a holiday cottage for up to four persons. It is idea for a family stay. If you come out of season, it might be cold and wet, that’s what the heating is for.
14. Your review is factually incorrect, disrespectful, spiteful and nasty.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing