We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great time was had by all”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gemstones private pool Swimming pool with mountain view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Gemstones private pool
Swimming pool with mountain view
Swimming Pool for your exclusive daytime use.
Apartment Entrance
Beautiful Terrace View
Main entrance to the villa
Alfresco breakfast area
Dining Room
Spacious Airy Lounge Area
onsuite bedroom
Kitchen
Entrance from guest private terrace
Garden Photo
Apollo Beach in central Moiraira
Moraira Central Avenue
Moors and Christians - local festival in June
Moors and Christians - local festival in June
Sunset from the Villa
Moraira Marina
El Portet - Local Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Moraira, Costa Blanca, Province of Alicante, Valencian Country

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sally J
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great time was had by all”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I went on a family holiday. My sister had stayed before. I would highly recommend staying here. The self contained apartment is well furnished and very very clean. Towels changed daily. Lovely breakfast and owners very knowledgeable of the area and will recommend some great places to eat.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnfashm...
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than an Almond Toblerone !”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful



I followed the tip and titled the review in one sentence of my experience , apologies for any confusion as many will not share my love of almond Toblerone ! 

We stayed at Gemstones from 20th July for 6 days , and I would say that the title describes the experience , as the 2 hosts are without doubt a couple of Gems . 

Gemstones comes with it's own Butler - Bartender - Concierge - Waitress - Domestic - Sommelier - Chef and - Tour guide - etc , topped with a secret ingredient - Lola !
In fact to be precise - - -all those ingredients “are” Lola topped with the additional ingredient of Michael .

Lola is an invisible wiz that every day , cleans - replaces towels and pillows - spruces - sweeps and mops - - so that when you return after a serious busy doing nothing the whole day through day - It's as if you've just arrived .
(oh ! and your Tobelerone remains untouched )
I am fairly sure the the inside of our apartment was getting bigger as the week progressed ! Cleaning erosion !

The pool is fantastic , the hosts organise the sun to heat it up to exactly the right temperature for you , and they had clearly booked up away vacations for any and all of the nasty bite-y things for the duration of our stay ! 

The Villa has everything you would expect , including a TV . Which apparently it has been known for guests to actually watch . After experiencing the delights of Moraira and the area , the thought of someone sitting and watching TV will make you cry . 

Talking about the area , what a great place to be and explore .
We would like to say we drove until we got lost , enjoyed the experience in whatever beautiful area of where we found ourselves and made our way back whilst enjoying the lovely sense of freedom that this gave us etc .
However , we were actually given specific detailed instructions from our very knowledgeable hosts - - and - - - 
got lost anyway - - - - several times . 

We were advised that if we wished to avoid squishing ourselves amongst hordes of screaming crying sand eating small people and umbrella wielding adults in varying degrees of scary undress , then a secret beach location used by the locals was a brilliant alternative choice .
On this beach there is an amazing bar serving locally caught fishy wriggly things that were indignantly eyeballing you for invading their personal space just a few hours earlier . 
Top tip , take a snorkel with you , and after you have totally embarrassed yourself stumbling and falling over the large rocks before falling into the sea , you then get to swim up to your lunch and apologise personally beforehand . 

Apparently the way to find this amazing place is to drive to the top of a mountain and back down the other side . 
We found the drive up - - , but failed miserably to find the route down the other side! and managed to continually fail at this for about 3 hours . Eventually deciding not to be beaten , we parked up and climbed down the cliff ! . 
Nothing more to add other than we survived , it WAS worth it , and we wouldn’t recommend be taking that particular route ! 
The beach is rocky not sandy , and you should bring some kind of shoes .
Those rubbery type shoes would be ideal , high heels and loafers not so much . If you choose to go barefoot be prepared to look like geriatric weebles that very much wobble and definitely DO fall down - - - - often !

There are other beaches to go to , Calpe is sandy and very popular , as is Javea and Denia. 
Calpe is larger than Javea beach and about the same distance from Gemstones . Denia is a bit further on . 
There are things to do on the beaches , jet-ski - kyak - explore caves - inflatable bouncy things on the sea - and lots and lots of bars . 
Or , you can just book a lounger and an umbrella . Sorted . 

One of the great things about Moraira is the abundance of good places to eat . We went out most nights , but we always had in mind that we were returning for a late night drink on our terrace , to watch a beautiful sunset over the distant hills . Magical . 
Casa Toni is one of many restaurants we visited , as recommended by our Hosts . The setting is top class , the food not bad , and the price very reasonable . It is advisable to book ahead , well maybe book each entire person not just the head . You can take a chance and just turn up as we did one night and consume a few Toni Tina's whilst you wait an hour or two for a table . 
hmmmmmm , I think we had a meal that night ? - - - - 

Back at Gemstones , Breakfast is served on the terrace every morning , overlooking that same beautiful view .

If you wish to indulge yourself in a greasy full English , El sid's in Moraira square will satisfy all of your cholesterol cravings at a very reasonable price . 

so satisfied with our stay , I actually forgot I had left several pieces of Toblerone in the fridge ! ! ! 

Now that's unheard of ! ! 

All in all , you would be hard pressed to find a better place to stay , better hosts , and definitely not this reasonable .
Ok guys - - - - did we leave anything out ? is the cheque in the post ?
Until the next time - - - - - - (very soon we hope)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonusTwin
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Encore”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our Second visit to the most wonderful place to stay in Moraira - We had an incredible time in 2013 and could only hope this was matched in 2014 when we booked - Our expectations were again surpassed with none of the charm of the property or our hosts diminishing in the slightest. The incredible weather, the pool, the pure relaxation all complemented by 2 of the most wonderful people you could wish to look after your vacation. Again the recommendations made by our Hosts of where to go left us amazed - every single recommendation was spot on and it really was the icing on an absolutely fabulous cake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Peaceful Location
Liked least: Having to Leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenBak...
Breda, Nederland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Honeymoon destination!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

In august 2011 my (then brandnew) wife and I booked this villa for our Honeymoon. Not knowing what to expect, the villa as well as the hosts made our honeymoon more than perfect. When we arrived we found a bottle of champagne and a fresh bouquet of flowers waiting for us in the villa!

Even though it has been over 2 years know, we still talk about our honeymoon quite often. The wonderful breakfast in the morning out on the patio, the after-breakfast swim in the private pool, evening bbbq's and a late night drink in the jacuzzi really made our Honeymoon so great that we'd get married again just to be able to experience it all over again!

Every evening when we came back from the beach the villa was totally clean! Fresh towels, clean bathroom, new bedding etc. Michael and Lionel are wonderful people and took care of us as if we were family! They did everything they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible and I can say that they succeeded!

We hope to visit these wonderful people again someday :)

God bless you guys!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The service of the hosts and the facilities around the villa (Pool, BBQ, Jacuzzi etc.)
Liked least: It was quite hard to find the villa since it didnt show on my navigation.
Travelling group: Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonusTwin
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Holiday”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were both wanted a great relaxing holiday and our expectations were exceeded by choosing to stay at Gemstones. Our hosts were delightful and helpful. The property was superb and cleaned every day with fresh towels by Lola. The pool was incredible and we spent hours relaxing there. Breakfast was served every morning and was fine tuned by our hosts to suit our taste during our stay. Their knowledge of the local area helped us make some informed choices. We have already booked for next year - If you see a space in the calendar grab it before it goes and treat yourself to a great get away !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hosts and relaxation they created for us
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$78
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing