We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Utter Heaven : superb location and view - and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Cockleshell
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Cockleshell
Views from the private patio overlooking the bay St. Michaels Mount
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Welcome to Cockleshell
Views from the private patio overlooking the bay
St. Michaels Mount
Spacious open-plan Kitchen / Living area
St. Michael's Mount
Even more views!
Causeway at Night
Plenty of natural light
Patio View
Spacious bedroom with 4-poster bed
Bedroom
Bedroom
En-suite bathroom
St. Michael's Mount, seen from the patio
St. Michael's Mount at sunset
The View from Cockleshell
The View from Cockleshell
The View from Cockleshell
The View from Cockleshell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Marazion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
avidtrave...
DC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Utter Heaven : superb location and view - and dog-friendly”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This was our second trip to the cottage, which looks out directly over St. Michael's Mount: a view of which it's impossible to grow tired, as the seascape changes hour by hour. There is also a private terrace directly in front and, despite it being January, we had some glorious sunshine, enabling us to sit out for a while.

The cottage is modern, light and airy, with windows over the whole frontage, and is fully equipped throughout. We stayed for four weeks this time, and felt very much at home (dishwasher, tumble drier and washing machine make life easy).

The cottage is sited at the end of a narrow lane, with no passing traffic, so you are ensured peace and quiet. The noisiest disturbance is from the gulls flying right in front of your window: heaven!

The living area (upstairs) has huge sliding doors, which we opened most days (weather was very mild). Lovely to hear the waves and gulls and feel the sea air on your face, from the comfort of the sofa.

Marazion itself is a great little town, with some super eateries and a good Post Office/Shop, so it makes a convenient base. The beach is lovely and you are near Penzance for larger / other shops. Meanwhile, the owner of the cottage, Sue, is so welcoming. The wine/cake/first-night dinner are a lovely treat (and nice toiletries in the bathroom).

We'll certainly return to Cockleshell Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Parking in public car park in town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2015
Many Thanks for taking the time to review us after your second visit. We really appreciate your comments and are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Cockleshell and will look forward to you returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish J
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow, what a breathtaking view!”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We had a really fabulous week.
From the moment we entered the cottage we were blown away!
The little 'Welcome' sign at the end of the bed, the cleanliness, the quality of all the furnishings and the fabulous view of St Michaels Mount all made it a memorable first impression.
A menu card on the dining table with the dinner that had been thoughtfully placed in the fridge ready for us to cook for our first evening meal together with a good bottle of wine.
It was beyond our expectations and we were truly grateful.
The cottage was equipped with everything you could possibly want.
We walked miles each day along the beach with our springer, even in the wind and rain!
Marazion has everything needed but there are 3 supermarkets within a few miles.
We visited Sennen Cove and Falmouth enjoying walks and excellent lunches at both.
Mainly though we were too happy to be at Cockleshell to venture too far!
We cannot recommend it enough and look forward to returning in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was beautifully presented and the view outstanding
Liked least: Parking was difficult but not something the owners can change
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2015
Many Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your comments and are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Cockleshell.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I don't normally bother with reviews but felt I should on this occasion. I couldn't fault the whole experience from booking through to the cottage itself which has the most stunning unspoilt views over the bay to St Michaels Mount.
The extra touches including dinner on arrival (which bearing in mind we were arriving late on the Saturday) were lovely. Marazion itself is on your door step with some lovely pubs/restaurants. If I were to fault anything it would be the fact we had to walk to the parking (although we were able to drop everything off at the cottage just not park) but that's to be expected considering its location and I'd have cockleshell cottage and the views over 'on the door parking' any day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2015
Many Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your comments and are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Cockleshell.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best View I've Ever Seen From a Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is a very well equipped holiday cottage in the lovely small town of Marazion. Check the website to see the list of all the amenities available because it has a lot! You are also given a warm welcome with flowers, some groceries and a meal (that just needs to be heated up) when you arrive. These are all lovely touches on top of the real selling point... the most breathtaking view you could hope for on a UK holiday. From the large window in the upstairs living area or from the downstairs outside patio, you will be mesmerised by the totally private, unobstructed view of St Michael's Mount. Only you have this angle of this fantastic view as the cottage is effectively the last house that you can only access by walking along a cul-de-sac of 5 houses close to the sea wall. From a distance, you can watch the comings and goings of people walking along the causeway in low tide or watch the boats ferrying tourists to and from the island during high tide. We spent a week here and, even though we visited some other lovely places nearby, nothing could beat the view from Cockleshell Cottage. It might not be the cheapest rental in Marazion but it really is an amazing cottage and well worth paying that little bit extra for. You also are provided with a car parking pass for some of the car parks in Marazion. All in all, a superb cottage and we would be tempted to return in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2014
What a lovely surprise today...Thank you so much for reviewing Cockleshell so quickly, it is really appreciated, and I am sorry I didn't get to meet you this morning, before you left. Your views are very important to us, and we are pleased you had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe F
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage & Stunning Views”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned after a week’s break at Cockleshell Cottage. Even before arriving at the cottage I received a text from Sue wishing us a safe journey and a text will be sent when the property is ready.

Upon arrival we were welcomed with a card wishing us a nice vacation and advising that a dinner had been prepared. Very nice!!!

Views from the cottage overlooking St Michaels Mount were amazing; the weather was excellent and couldn’t have wished for anything better. The cottage was equipped with all mod cons and felt like you were ‘home from home’.

The neighbours were lovely and always went out of their way to chat every day.

I would certainly recommend this cottage…………..5*

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cottage & stunning views
Liked least: Parking but not the end of the world!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2015
Many Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your comments and are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Cockleshell.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$532
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing