We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful accommodation in stunning location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ellesmere

Ellesmere Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ellesmere Cottage
Garden View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Ellesmere Cottage
Garden View
Dinning kitchen with seating for 10 people
Dinning Kitchen
Sitting Room
Lounge with dual fuel log burner
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom's en suite
Master bedroom's en suite shower
View of Grassington village from the master bedroom and bedroom 4
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
House bathroom for bedrooms 2 and 3
House bathroom's separate shower
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5
House bathroom for bedrooms 4 & 5
Patio area
Stables at the bottom of the garden with exclusive use for guests in the right hand store
Private car parking for up to 6 cars available in our 2 parking areas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dpapworth
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful accommodation in stunning location”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was perfect for us in every way. Comfortable yet not chintzy so we could roam the countryside and take off muddy boots in the lobby. Everything worked and there was plenty of space for all of us. A great house to have dinner parties in. So much so that every meal felt like a dinner party! Excellent local butcher and very useful convenience store within a short walk distance. Pubs for every occasion too

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The whole experience surpassed our expectations
Liked least: The knives in the kitchen - but then all holiday rental kitchen knives are abused
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie N
2 reviews
“Honeymoon House”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed in this lovely massive house late Oct - early Nov 15. It was booked to accommodate family (Inc children) and myself over the weekend of my wedding and then housed just me, the new hubby and our little dog for the rest of the week. I loved our stay. Amazed with the location on arrival which couldn't be more central. The garden was great and the house felt homely. LOVE that kitchen and there are so many rooms that even with a big crowd, personal space wasn't a problem. The dining room was a great social space and the living room was large and cosy with a comfy suite to slob on. The bedrooms were all spacious with comfortable beds. Overall I was delighted with absolutely everything and have very special memories of having fun with family the night before the wedding, the chaos and nerves the morning after, then the quiet evenings drinking left over wedding wine and eating cheese with my new husband. I cried when it was time to come home : ( thank you for the special memories Ellesmere. Hope to be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowyer_11
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“ok for price but return of damage deposit is a nightmare”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The property feels a bit uncared for with odds and ends of tired furniture and equipment. There is some damp, as you would expect with a single glazed property of this age. Only 1 of the 3 toilets flushed properly. However, it is probably fairly priced, given its great location.
However, the main problem is the owner’s handling of the damage deposit. He does not offer to return it after your stay – you have to chase him, and how. We also tried contacting Holiday Lettings – who told us that the damage deposit is not covered by the payment protection. We asked for the deposit to be returned to our credit card, as is normal practice, but the owner refused. It is only when we threatened court action that he sent us a cheque. I also have a property on Holiday Lettings and I endeavour to return any funds due to holiday makers within 24 hours not the nearly 2 months it took here. It annoys me that owners like this bring, (the usually excellent), Holiday Lettings site into disrepute.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: difficulty getting security deposit returned
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thank you for your feedback - fortunately yours was a unique case as you refused to accept a cheque or online bank transfer- we were in discussions with you for over 2 months trying to find a way acceptable to you - in the end you backed down and a cheque was sent the same day. In 4 years of being with Holiday Lettings we have never withheld anyone's deposit - even minor damage such as broken glasses are ignored- You certainly were a unique guest !!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumof2_11
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family Get Together”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely weekend, shame about the rain spoilt it for the dickensian weekend, perfect location and the single beds in the attic was so cosy did not want to get up! To say it was a big cottage i thought it was very warm unlike others we have stayed in, ideal for a family get together. I would highly recommend the Indian in the village - very nice. Good place to stay if you have dogs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with plenty of charm, needs a little renovation”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I'd definitely go back as the cottage was great value and had everything we needed and was clean. There was a lot of damp in several of the rooms and the kitchen and living room were very dated and although it didn't affect our stay, after riding over 100 miles in the dales all we wanted was a lovely comfy sofa, but it was a bit old and no longer comfortable. The room we were 'left with' was in the attic and we kept hitting our heads on the beams and as such ended up sleeping in the kids room in small single beds. Not very romantic. It was the worst room though as the other two doubles were really lovely.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2015
Thanks Claire for your comments; I have to say your comments are totally out of sync with other feedback;

I can categorically state there is no damp anywhere!!! - so I find your comments outrageous and totally misleading!!!

I also don't understand your comments regarding the 'room you were left with' ? This is the additional 5th bedroom for guests with more than 8 people and we advise guests that there is restricted head room!!

Finally just to say the 'old sofa' was bought in the last 24 months!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing