We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knock Out View Clarens
Ranked #6 of 39 Clarens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Walking distance to town centre, I'm a regular visitor to Clarens and first time here and recommend it. Clean functional and very comfortable. Basic kitchenette but adequate for coffee and snacks. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gareth851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 186 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2015

Our family of five was booked in to Knock Out View in December 2014. I received my confirmation email a few days before arrival (very professional!) and even spoke with Marlene on the phone as we were going to be arriving late. Unfortunately when we got there we found our room already had bags in it. It had been double booked.

Julia, the on site manager, did find us an adequate alternative but I remain disappointed with the reaction and handling of the situation by Marlene, the owner. Having not had any communication from her I wrote her three weeks later, asking if she would reimburse us part of our payment, as we were sure the alternative accommodation was less expensive than Knock Out View. Her response was to send me the invoice she received from Safarinow, detailing her costs (!!) and describing the incidence as "unfortunate". An apology is still outstanding.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2015

We stayed in the cottage called Faith. Very nicely decorated - would just like to may be have some space to pack clothing as we were there for 4 nights. There are no cupboards, we had to live out of our suitcases. Also no place to hang clothing. Which makes it a bit problematic. It has everything you need for a basic self-catering establishment. It is nice and central, walking distance from everything.

Room Tip: Cottage called "Faith" has a nice parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

It was very nice, we had a wonderful stay. Knock out view is near everything and we walked to the town. The rooms was very clean, they cleaned every day. There is enough parking, we didn't have any problems

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mariaanm2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015

This place is very conveniently situated. The room, although VERY small was always very clean, towels changed every day, and enough utensils on the kitchen area, thanks to a friendly staff member.Since its built out of timber, one was inclined to hear your next door neighbor.
The name 'Knockout view' , rather misleading! I looked straight out onto the car-park and Main rd....!! Misleading advertising, I would say!! The 'view' is for the larger family unit ONLY! I was booked in for 7 days....when calling Marlene(owner) to find out about wardrobe space, I was told it was an overnight place and there were 3 hooks on the wall, next to bathroom door...Well really! Since she NEW I was going to be there for a week, clearly with cloths for that period, some arrangements could have been made! I followed instructions set out to enable me to get Internet connection, but this didn't work either, much to my annoyance! I eventually manage to get this issue sorted myself....I just feel that Marlene to whom I spoke to and then also sent a cell message to, could have replied!! She never bothered! She was quick enough to ask for the balance of my weeks stay in advance, (since I have already paid half when booking) the night before I left Johannesburg, which I promptly did! I felt as a owner of such an establishment, she could have made a small effort to accommodate me as to regards my issues....?? I will most certainly visit Clarence again, but will make better and more pleasant room arrangements.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ignatiusv2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.7 km away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
294 reviews
1.7 km away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
149 reviews
0.1 km away
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
Mt Horeb Manor B&B
#1 of 39 in Clarens
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Clarens Eddies
Clarens Eddies
#2 of 39 in Clarens
308 reviews
1.1 km away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#2 of 33 in Clarens
227 reviews
0.8 km away
Clarens Retreat
Clarens Retreat
#3 of 39 in Clarens
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knock Out View Clarens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knock Out View Clarens

Address: 175 Main Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Clarens
Price Range: R574 - R1 394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knock Out View Clarens 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knock out View is in the main street of Clarens, walking distance from galleries, shops. The name Knock out View comes from the view of the 2 Self-catering units, accommodating 4 persons each. Open plan kitchen / sitting room. Fireplace. TV, WiFi. View on the mountains from rooms and deck in front. Braai area. Apart from the 2 self catering units there are 3 Overnight NO VIEW units, accommodating 2 persons each. Double bed. Shower. Sitting corner. Limited kitchen utensils. Outside deck with weber. A cereal breakfast can be ordered at an additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Safarinow, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Knock Out View Clarens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing