We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BWM55
Durbanville, South Africa

Very comfortable large room, very central

Review of 278 On Main
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Dec 2020via mobile
Lovely large room in Central Clarens. Walking distance to restaurants and shops around the Central Square. Lovely welcome by staff and Owner. Large bathroom with both bath and free standing shower. Shower was especially good after long drive. Most refreshing. The beautiful blanket shop below our rooms was special and we were told about the meaning of the different emblems etc in the weaving.

Breakfast was basic but sufficient. Once again serving staff were most pleasant and helpful.

Many thanks to all who made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.
Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sue Campbell, Owner at 278 On Main, responded to this review
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Thank YOU for taking the time to post a review, much appreciated - we love Clarens and what we do and hope to see you again sometime!!
Sue and Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 563
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 563
0.4 km from 278 On Main
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 050
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 050
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 050
0.5 km from 278 On Main
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 079
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 079
0.8 km from 278 On Main
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 017
  • Protea Hotels
  • Booking.com
    R 2 017
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 017
0.4 km from 278 On Main
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front garden
R 1 500
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 500
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
1.3 km from 278 On Main
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 940
R 2 381
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 940
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 940
1.5 km from 278 On Main
Free parking
Restaurant
4x4 Lodge 2
R 670
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 670
  • eDreams
    R 670
0.9 km from 278 On Main
Free parking
View of the Main building and garden area
R 1 100
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 100
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 100
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from 278 On Main
Free parking
R 1 754
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 851
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 054
  • Vio.com
18.6 km from 278 On Main
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 850
  • ZenHotels.com
10.7 km from 278 On Main
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Clarens
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
18
10
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
10
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed it here allot. Great location and the room was clean and pretty. The bed was nice and big and the pillows I loved. The bath was really stunning. Very spacious room. The owner was friendly and helpfull.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank annekebekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichelleC8827, Manager at 278 On Main, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2019

Thank you for taking the time to post a review - and for the compliments - we loved having you to stay and hope to see you again!

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We loved the beautifully decorated rooms, the food was delicious and very friendly staff. And the location was just perfect - we walked everywhere. This is an ideal venue for families as there is a lounge and kitchen (plus courtyard) where we could all get together when we weren't out and about in Clarens.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfd909
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle C, Manager at 278 On Main, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for your review Rosalie, we're so pleased you enjoyed your time in Clarens and your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

We stayed at 278 on Main last weekend (17-19 Aug) and enjoyed every second. The food was delicious and the service impeccable. We had a great experience from making the reservation to check-out. Michelle is so lovely and all the staff members made my son (6 yrs old) feel special. The accommodation is so central yet just out the hustle and bustle of the town. It is so convenient because we were able to walk everywhere. We stayed in the Ruby room which is stylishly decorated with the biggest bath. The heating was spot on and a little jug of milk in the fridge was a special touch. We can highly recommend staying at 278 on Main and look forward to going there again.

Room tip: Central location
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle C, Manager at 278 On Main, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review Mariana - we all thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay - your son is so well behaved and just delightful! We look forward to seeing you in Clarens next time.
Michelle and all the staff at 278.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Although I didn't stay here personally, I booked a friend of mine here which was traveling with us. The room was large and cosy with attention to detail. Sue and here staff were very welcoming and helpful. Will definitely go there next time.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoinette23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sue C, Manager at 278 On Main, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

What a lovely compliment Antoinette - thank you!
We would love to see you next time,
Warm regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

What an ideal position for walking to all amenities in the town! We found the bed very comfortable and there was good attention to detail,( apart from the tv) We can recommend the meals in the restaurant below.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank jacquino2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sue C, Manager at 278 On Main, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review - it was a pleasure to have you to stay and to dine with us too! We are looking forward to seeing you in Clarens again in the Spring!
Kind regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews