We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
113
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews town square police station beautiful village bird life the owner attention to detail great mountain delicious breakfast within walking distance one night underfloor heating comfortable rooms great weekend beautiful view great hospitality thank you so much pleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

I checked in yesterday to the most beautiful room. Spotless. Sheets so crisp that I would like to take them home with me. The most beautiful view and a charming host - could not wish for more. Breakfast today was superb. My room overlooks the garden and the mountain. It is so quiet and peaceful. The room is perfectly appointed and attended to by wonderful staff. I will definitely return to Clarens and Patcham Place.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Trek814822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karelmeyer, Owner at Patcham Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you for the kind words.

I will pass your compliments to the staff.

Regards

Karel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

I don't know where to start :) everything about our stay was absolutely wonderful. Karel and his staff were so welcoming and attentive to our every need. Patcham Place is situated in the prettiest part of Clarens, yet close enough to the square in the center of town. our room had everything we needed to feel right at home, from the fluffy white towels to the crisp clean percale linen to the view from our balcony which was simply gorgeous. Looking onto a lovingly tendered garden with an abundance of bird life to keep you smiling, or star-gazing at night or simply relaxing and taking in the breathtaking view of the "Rooi-Berg" which seemed so close you could almost touch it. We had amazing breakfasts every day, lovingly prepared by Karel, whilst watching the birds in the garden. We can definitely recommend this little piece of heaven.
with fondest of regards
Gwen and Avril

Room Tip: All the rooms looked gorgeous with lovely views
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 831gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karelmeyer, Owner at Patcham Place, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Gwen and Avril
Thank you so much for a fantastic review and the recommendation. We really appreciate it.

We are looking forward to your next visit to our lovely town.

Regards

Karel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Patcham place is a superior and charming accommodation, right in the hub of Clarens. The room and the little extras provided, right down to the free vouchers all contribute to an excellent stay. The breakfasts are great quality in a lovely setting and the gardens are beautifully tended. Every which way you turn you see the care that has been taken to make it an excellent destination.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Journey486638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karelmeyer, Owner at Patcham Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for the review and the highlight on the location, gardens and breakfast. We really appreciate it.

Regards

Karel and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Absolutely fabulous! An outstanding Guesthouse. Beautiful, clean and luxurious unit with an awesome mountain view. The finishing touches, biscuits each morning, felt like a home away from home. Loved the under floor heating and fireplace! The owner very friendly and helpful. Walking distance from the main square and hiking routes. Would definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Exploration248096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karelmeyer, Owner at Patcham Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the fireplace and heating in our self catering unit.

We are looking forward to your return.

Regards

Karel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Nothing to complain. Quiet and comfortable rooms with all the little details which make for a pleasurable stay, great breakfast, excellent service. Easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants in Clarens. Also close enough to Golden Gate so you can hike there but enjoy the comfort of a private B&B.Can recommend Patcham Place any time

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karelmeyer, Owner at Patcham Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for the recommendation and the mention about the comfort and details in the rooms.

Regards

Karel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews