We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grouse and Claret”
Review of Grouse and Claret

Grouse and Claret
Ranked #16 of 37 Restaurants in Clarens
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: For over 10 years a family run pub and restaurant. Great menu. Live music venue over weekends. Very well locally supported as well as our wonderful regular weekend 'local' visitors. Check our Facebook page for updates on food and drink specials as well as live music updates.
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Good place to be. Seating outside and inside. Also around the pub. Friendly staff. As we sat down we got snax --- for free!! Where do you still get something for free? At first we only had drinks and were about to walk the streets to find the best plave to eat. It was the Grouse... The best Pot pie I have ever had!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MirieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Our evening was really lovely...we had dinner in the dining area and despite the pub reputation, it was quite romantic. Our waitress, Penny, was so helpful! And really made a point of checking in to see if we needed anything. The other waitrons were also very friendly and, when Penny was busy, were quite willing to serve us...which is a welcome change from the usual: "It's not my table but I will send her".Their Mussel Lips starter dish is definitely a feast to the senses!As our main course we had their Eisbein which is probably the best we've ever eaten! Meal was finished off with Fudge Picasso and coffee. Their coffee is definitely not the best but sufficient.High ranking staff were clinical at best but the waitrons'great attitude more than made up for it! In conclusion, yes the menu is limited (due to the size of the town, one can hardly expect any restrantaur to cater to every individual's needs) but well balanced in terms of "something for everyone": what they do have on the menu is definitely well prepared and delicious.Thank you for making our final evening really special, Penny!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MelH1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

This is a must visit. Book early to secure your table - it is very popular. Fast service, friendly waiters. The fireplace is so nice in the cold evenings. Enjoy the oxtail - for meatlovers - succulent and soft.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank kobusp2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

This bar has a nice evening atmosphere which is different than during the day. The staff link in with the customers and talk to them to create a pleasant atmosphere. There is a large range of drink options and the food is fast and tasty.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Sour butternut soup... Need I say more?
The manager tried to justify the very bad tasting soup by saying they add orange juice. Citrus doesn't make butternut soup taste off and sour. She tasted the soup (from my plate) and said sorry, but that is how they make it. Did not even ask if I would like something else. Luckily I had lost my appetite by then.
On a positive note, the waitress was very sweet and felt really bad about the disappointing food.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leonew253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grouse and Claret also viewed

 
Clarens, Free State
 

Been to Grouse and Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing