We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”
Review of Castle in Clarens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clarens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle in Clarens
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed in the Castle for two nights an it was a truly amazing experience. The attention to detail on finishes throughout the castle is second to none. The love and effort that has been put into creating this dream is really apparent. I really could not fault it one bit. Our GPS took us straight to the main gate, which is about a 5 minute drive from the tar road on a dirt road, we traveled in a 4x4 so this was no problem at all.
Bokport is a walking distance from the Castle and offers lots of fun activities, we did clay pigeon shooting and my 18 month old son did the toddlers pony ride, both were very enjoyable.
The town of Clarens is a short drive away and is a lovely little town, with lots of nice restaurants and a wonderful micro brewery where you can sample some good beers and ciders.

All in all we had a great short trip made memorable by our stay at the castle, we would defiantly return, but for longer next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Spursfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 155 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Food was great. Excellent service and friendly staff. Welcoming was nice and friendly. Attention to maintenance on some units but overall good. Some units are difficult to find. The snow surprise made us forget about everything else. It made a great ending to our stay. We really find our stay pleasant and very tranquil. Will definitely go back next year. Thank you again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikkie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Staying in the Castle is truly a once in a lifetime experience. The attention to detail is just phenomenal. I fell inlove with this place the moment I saw it and was sad that we only had 1 night available to stay here. The Rapunzel room has one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on and having a bath is so heavenly with the sun setting right behind you. The kitchen is equipped with probably even more things than your own personal kitchen.
A must is to order the breakfast. It really adds to the fairytale as the 3 course breakfast comes delivered in treasure chests! What a magical experience. i will definitely be back!
P.S, when you book at the Castle, you get the whole Castle for yourself, so it is really romantic and special!

Room Tip: The view from Rapunzel's room is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarstenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarens
7,1 km away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
308 reviews
8 km away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
159 reviews
39,7 km away
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Maliba Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tsehlanyane National Park
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26,9 km away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
87 reviews
0 km away
Black Mountain Leisure & Conference Hotel
15,4 km away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 34 in Clarens
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in Clarens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in Clarens

Address: Clarens, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle in Clarens 5*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing