We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
58
43
14
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
43
14
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underfloor heating restaurant downstairs easy access to everything choice of restaurants my wifes four poster market square safe parking central location clarens brewery walking distance on arrival pleasant experience rooms are spacious enjoyed our stay self catering violet
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Red Mountain house has the friendliest staff and the tastiest breakfast you could want. I have already booked there for next year. Highly recommended. I cannot wait to go and have a weekend there again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gavinwkruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Charming b&b, we stayed in a well appointed unit, with a full kitchen, fireplace, big clean full bathroom and a king sized bed, with fresh crisp linens. The unit also had a sleeper clinch, so our teen could sleep in front of the fire :-)

Definitely worth a visit. Right on the square so walking distance to all the restaurants.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

This is in a central position overlooking the village green in Clarens. There’s a nod to an Alpine lodge in the design, and it’s old fashioned in a good way. The fireplace in the room would be great in winter. Sherry in the room & sweeties/biccies provided were a nice touch.

The flip side of having a central position is that there was quite a bit of noise from downstairs. There will be quieter places to stay in Clarens.

Clarens is deffo worth visiting - it’s very relaxing and cool in both senses of the word! Also close to Lesotho and an ideal jumping off point. It’s surprisingly easy to get there and relatively hassle-free at the border. I’d recommend going - it’s so different to SA, so it’s almost like you get two holidays in one.

The most irritating thing by far here was the WiFi. It throws you out every 2 minutes - quite annoying. Also valid only 2 days so if staying longer, be warned and get plenty of codes.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We stayed at Red Mountain House on 22nd January 2018 with friends. Fantastic hotel, amazing views we had the four poster rooms. Rooms extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bed was so comfortable, it’s the best nights sleep I’ve had in ages. Breakfast was served in a restaurant around the corner by the green in the beautiful town of Clarens.
During our stay our friend was taken ill. The service and help we received from Violet was second to none, she arranged a doctors appointment as soon as we informed her our friend needed medical treatment. She even took him and his wife to the doctors surgery and into the surgery.
We would like to thank Violet for her help and to let her know that our friend is 100% better now.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Veron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Right in the centre of Clarens very comfortable rooms with nice features (especially the balconies). Next to a brewery and some nice shops. To walk Clarens on foot of start your bikeride or touring northern Drakensbergen.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 179jackv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews