We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
marischka48
Johannesburg, South Africa

The Best Night's Rest

Review of Ridge Road
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Mar 2021
We stayed at at the LA Poste apartment and were treated to crisp clean linen and the comfiest bed. We loved how close to everything we were and yet completely private relaxation in our little apartment .
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 050
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 050
  • Priceline
    R 1 050
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 050
0.4 km from Ridge Road
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 563
  • Priceline
    R 1 563
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 563
  • Vio.com
    R 1 563
0.5 km from Ridge Road
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 079
  • Priceline
    R 2 079
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 079
  • eDreams
    R 2 079
0.9 km from Ridge Road
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 905
R 1 631
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    R 1 631
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 631
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 631
0.3 km from Ridge Road
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front garden
R 1 500
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 500
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 500
  • eDreams
    R 1 500
1.2 km from Ridge Road
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 850
  • Priceline
    R 1 850
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 850
  • Vio.com
    R 1 850
10.6 km from Ridge Road
Free Wifi
Free parking
4x4 Lodge 2
R 670
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 670
  • Agoda.com
    R 670
0.9 km from Ridge Road
Free parking
R 3 523
R 2 381
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 940
  • StayForLong
  • Priceline
    R 2 382
1.4 km from Ridge Road
Free parking
Restaurant
View of the Main building and garden area
R 1 201
R 1 100
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 100
  • Trip.com
    R 1 103
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 100
0.3 km from Ridge Road
Free parking
R 1 851
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 851
  • Vio.com
    R 1 031
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 089
18.5 km from Ridge Road
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Clarens
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
17
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
3
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2021

What a beautiful and tranquil villa and great value for money with lovely service. We enjoyed our stay and would suggest this to anyone. The ridge road country house is a must see/stay. Thank you for our wonderful stay.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jesicaself
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2021

We booked Ridge road house and cottage for our family Christmas. Everyone one of us were very impressed with the accommodation and location is exceptional. We will definitely revisit and stay a couple of days longer to explore more.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ydav2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2020

The access road is so badly washed away that you can only access the property with a bakkie or 4 x 4 .
The staircase is TOTALLY illegal and unsafe. One of my friends actually hurt himself on the staircase.
The maintenance is not done.
At + R600,00 per person per night for bed only , you expect MUCH more.
Views are amazing.
Bedding clean.
This was my second stay ( first stay was +/- 6 years ago and I mentioned all the same problems) Not much changed in 6 years.
You expect much more than 2 x R500,00 "Pick and Pay" braai's.
I stayed in the basement. The bathroom is at another level and is 1 meter x 1 meter with a shower under the STEEP wooden staircase.
The wooden floors are in such bad state that if someone walk's down the passage, the beds in the rooms bounce up and down.
EXTREMELY noisy. Not sound proof AT ALL !!!

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephenlrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2020

We had a really lovely stay, the space gorgeous and I love the bath and the big bed. The fireplace was also a huge bonus. Great location and you can walk everywhere from there. The light in the living area was not working and the toilet was also running- there was also no WiFi details for us to use.I think for the price you pay- it could have been a bit better as well (considering we also told them it was for a special wedding anniversary)

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AJVanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2020

We absolutely loved our stay at The Windmill Cottage. The house is so charming, we all just adored the design! And the views are truly magnificent. We spent our time hiking, swimming in the pool and drinking sundowners whilst enjoying our time way from the city. The cottage is very well equipped with everything we needed making our stay extremely comfortable and pleasant. We all fell madly in love with Fus, the Irish wolfhound, and wish we could have packed him in the car with us when we left. We would recommend Ridge Road to anyone and everyone looking for a quiet, calming and beautiful escape.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AnnElizabeth6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews