We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 1 757
Breakfast included
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
511gh
Sasolburg, South Africa

Scottish history lesson

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 May 2022
I am not sure whether to define this as a guest house or hotel. The Management have a very hands on approach. There are not many rooms but some are connected by a passage making them very suitable for families. Although our room was small, it was clean and the necessary complementary tea and coffees were provided. The installed wall heaters increased the temperature in the room with any noise.
The guest house is located within the town enabling one to walk to the curio shops and all the eating houses, should you not wish to eat at the guest house.
The décor on the walls in the dining room / bar provides one a small look into the history of Scottish Clans. The fireplace in the dining room / bar creates a cozy atmosphere when lite. The guest house were not shy to light the fire.
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 1 726
  • Priceline
    R 1 726
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 726
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 726
0.2 km from Highland Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 050
  • Priceline
    R 1 050
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 002
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 002
0.5 km from Highland Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 563
  • Priceline
    R 1 563
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 563
0.4 km from Highland Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 830
R 2 547
  • Priceline
    R 2 830
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 547
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Highland Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 717
  • Protea Hotels
  • Booking.com
    R 1 717
  • Priceline
    R 1 715
0.3 km from Highland Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 850
  • Priceline
    R 1 850
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 850
10.7 km from Highland Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front garden
Booking.com
R 1 500
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 500
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 500
  • eDreams
    R 1 500
1.3 km from Highland Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 646
R 2 381
  • Priceline
    R 2 646
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 646
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 646
1.5 km from Highland Quarters
Free parking
Restaurant
4x4 Lodge 2
Priceline
R 670
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 670
  • Agoda.com
    R 670
0.8 km from Highland Quarters
Free parking
Expedia.com
R 1 710
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 710
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 710
  • Vio.com
18.5 km from Highland Quarters
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Clarens
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
12
2
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
2
1
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2020

This guesthouse/hotel has an excellent location, very close ( a few minutes of walking) to a lot of restaurants and shops. We had difficulty to find the manager on reception. We asked the waiters at the restaurant on the premises and the friendly lady was called. The room was cozy, very clean and neat. It is however very noisy especially in the mornings - street noise, and guests as well as management were talking very loud outside the rooms and the rooms are not soundproof. If you looking for some quiet I won't recommend as sleeping in is not an option. Don't opt for "breakfast included". There are many of the other little cafes for breakfast with a much better menu. The restaurant is looks quite busy so I would assume has great food?
We will not return, rather to quieter area.
Read more

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LiveSimple4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2020

Comfortable bed and linen and spacious rooms. Only missed having a place to put my suitcase and also missing a bar fridge or milk for coffee. Not very well managed. Breakfast only from 8.30 so not great for business travel.

Room tip: Ask for a room away from the street
Date of stay: September 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grietduplessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2020

I went on a weekend away trip to Clarens. It is a beautiful town and the people are friendly and quite helpful. The staff at the accommodation have a small restaurant which makes lovely fresh breakfast. Most the shops and sites in the city are a walkable distance or less than a 5 minute drive away. It's very convenient.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaqhaweM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2019

My husband and I were visiting Clarens from 29-30 July 2017. The Highland Quarters is perfectly situated within walking distance to most of the shops and restaurants in Clarens. They have a very impressive intimate bar of their own where we enjoyed special gins and whiskeys.

We visited over a very cold weekend, but the room was so warm and cosy. The rooms are modern, very neat and clean and serviced daily.

Reception staff were very welcoming and our breakfast delicious.

There is free onsite parking.

I'll only ever stay here if we visit Clarens again.

Definitely recommend.

Date of stay: November 2018
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ane_lottering
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2019

This was our 1st visit to Clarens with our cycling group. Had an amazing weekend cycling. Beautifully decorated rooms, comfortable bed and everything was perfect. What an amazing manageress they have. Bronwin went the extra mile to see to all our needs and requirements. A real busy bee who has the interest of her patrons at heart. Nothing was too much for her. She is so bubbly and full of energy. Bronwin you are an absolute asset to Highlands Quarters. Restaurant staff were friendly and helpful and food was delicious. We will definitely back.

Room tip: All the rooms are lovely
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anonymous5659
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews