We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rialivhuwa
Johannesburg, South Africa

Superb service and Location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 09 Jan 2023via mobile
The hotel is arguably the best hotel in the area. I stayed there for 2 nights with my wife and 2 year old baby. The service was amazing and the staff members were always ready to assist with whatever necessary at any given time, Lefa and the big guy(forgot his name) at the restaurant side were particularly amazing, always paying attention to detail.

Also the idea of having the basin outside the toilet is really a good one, it makes once not to feel like they're using bathroom water as it is with many other hotel.

My only disappointment was the breakfast, for a 4 star hotel I would expect more variety of food available for breakfast, I have been to a few 3 star hotels which offered better breakfast variety than what was offered here. The food is great but there is really limited options of what to eat on a daily basi which can be frustrating, mostly for long duration stays, so some improvement in variety of breakfast choices would go a long way. I would have like to see some cake, ice cream and all that, mostly because also that was a new year's weekend during my stay there.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 050
  • Priceline
    R 1 050
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 045
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 050
0.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Clarens
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 563
  • Priceline
    R 1 563
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 563
  • Vio.com
    R 1 562
0.8 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Clarens
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 079
  • Priceline
    R 2 079
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 079
  • eDreams
    R 2 079
1.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Clarens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front garden
R 1 500
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 500
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 500
  • eDreams
    R 1 500
1.0 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Clarens
Free Wifi
Free parking
4x4 Lodge 2
R 670
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 670
  • Agoda.com
    R 670
0.8 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Clarens
Free parking
R 1 850
  • Priceline
    R 1 850
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 850
  • Vio.com
    R 1 849
10.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Clarens
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 700
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 700
  • Agoda.com
    R 700
  • Vio.com
    R 700
0.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Clarens
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 519
R 2 381
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 926
  • Priceline
    R 2 381
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 940
1.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Clarens
Free parking
Restaurant
View of the Main building and garden area
R 1 195
R 1 100
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 095
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 100
  • Trip.com
    R 1 094
0.1 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Clarens
Free parking
R 1 754
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 851
  • Vio.com
    R 1 044
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 116
18.3 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Clarens
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Clarens
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
145
176
73
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
145
176
73
11
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2022 via mobile

We stayed during the renovation. Unfortunately on check in we were given a room right above the construction area. The elevator was not working. Fortunately when we went down to get our bags Kananelo was on the front desk. Such a happy welcoming man with a great smile. He helped us get our bags and offered to bring them to our room via the service elevator. When he heard our room number he immediately offered to relocate us for which we were most grateful. He is a great asset to your front desk area.
Breakfast as always was in abundance.
There was a cold and a hot area offered every day along with a chef making omelettes etc.
Caldin interacted very pleasantly and even enquired how our hike had been the previous day.
A nice “family style” hotel. The staff for the most part are really friendly and very helpful.

Room tip: Parking is tight, but we didn’t have a problem. Hot rain showers are wonderful. Location is ideal for town.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chescat1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2022 via mobile

Great stay if you are ever in these parts of the world. Close to the town square,local restaurants and pubs. Friendly staff, comfortable beds,good linen and off the street parking available. Everything was up to Protea group standards. Will definitely be coming back.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GladwinM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2022 via mobile

There was only one room available, and I was there with a co worker. I don’t sleep with co workers! I requested a twin room since they only had one room available. They put us in a king, overlooking the lobby. It was loud. And they don’t recognize payments made through Expedia so I had to pay for my room twice.

Room tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the lobby.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank lmelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2022

We stopped over in Clarens on our to Johannesburg and the hotel couldn't have been a better choice. The location is perfect. You can literally walk to the shops and restuarants. The staff was friendly and observed COVID protocol. Its good value for money.

Date of stay: January 2022
Thank Trail495648
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2021

We stayed at this hotel for a family member's birthday weekend. The hotel is located right at the beginning of the town in the main road, and so it is easy to walk to all of the shops and restaurants.

Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good, with enough options for everyone's taste. The bar tender made good cocktails and was willing to mix up different cocktails to what was on the menu, which was very nice.

The room was neat and clean and had everything one needs in a standard hotel room. The bed was comfortable to sleep in.

The area by the swimming pool is nice to sit by and read a book. The children enjoyed swimming in the pool.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teambear2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews