We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
798lennardv
Johannesburg, South Africa

A true country experience with spectacular views

Review of Roodepoort Farm
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 May 2018
We wanted nature and birding opportunities, and this farm provided it and more with spectacular views of sandstone cliffs.

Fortunately part of the farm is working, albeit in a lazy farm life sort of way, otherwise it would feel really isolated for city folk. There are a few staff around to assist when needed, but you are otherwise left on your own to explore. Oh, and a very friendly flock of sheep to provide some entertainment.

We stayed in the Tintin Trailor, as Lexi's was booked and the two houses are just too large for two people. It turned out to be a great experience. Very cosy but at the same time comfortable for two, with all the amenities to make self catering easy. May be a little hot in midsummer, but lots of cool trees to enjoy surrounding it.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 050
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 023
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 050
0.4 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 563
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 563
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 313
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 300
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 300
0.5 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 717
  • Protea Hotels
  • Booking.com
    R 1 717
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 528
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 528
  • eDreams
    R 3 528
0.9 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front garden
R 1 500
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 484
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 500
1.2 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
View of the Main building and garden area
R 1 100
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 100
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 045
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 100
0.3 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free parking
R 3 378
R 2 381
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 940
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 940
1.4 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free parking
Restaurant
R 1 582
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 582
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 057
  • Vio.com
18.5 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free parking
Restaurant
4x4 Lodge 2
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 670
  • Agoda.com
    R 670
  • eDreams
    R 670
0.8 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free parking
View more hotels in Clarens
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
6
1
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
1
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Comfortable farmhouse that makes a good base for a long weekend. Bits and pieces need maintenance - door handles that fall off etc. fridge and stove is not nearly big enough for the capacity of the house. Water super temperamental. But overall the beds are comfortable, the hiking trails are great even for kids and we had a good family weekend.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ruggerob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Under angry cumulonimbus clouds and vertical sandstone cliffs we rear fine Angus Cattle, grow beans, soybeans and maize on Roodepoort Farm outside of Clarens. It is here where we have built, restored and renovated 2 warm and glad villas flanking the stately centenarian farmhouse. Every Friday night there's a steady cloud of dust that leads to Roodepoort Farm from the metropolis, Coolers in the back, and exited kids on the back-seat and eager folks wanting to kindle friendships and relationships.

There are 3, fully-equipped, self-catering villas available plus 1 additional rondawel, not equipped for self-catering, that can accommodate 2 people, also available. All units are non-smoking units but smoking is allowed outside of the units, but cigarette butts are to be disposed of safely in the provided ashtrays or trash cans as this is a high fire risk area. The water is from a fountain so it is safe to drink and there is cell phone reception in the area. Remember to bring your own torch, Tabbard, two point plug, firelighters and matches.

You can have a lot of fun in a Jozi minute, but there's some things you can't do inside those city limits. And that is what we bring to you. Roodepoort Farm in Clarens offers many activities for the visitors including nature walks, opportunities for birding and photography. Mostly it's about having you relax in comfort and for you to experience the beauty and tranquillity of a working farm.You might also get a glimpse of the free roaming Blesbuck, Duikers, Reed-buck, Rhebuck, Eland, Jackal, & Baboons

This region is truly breathtaking with caves, dams, and other great land features that are exposed and weathered from the dawn of time.

Please stay on the roads and leave the gates as you found them. Should you wish to use the Weber braai please bring along your own charcoal and firelighters. Wood will be supplied for 1 night only. Please take extra care when making a fire in the built braai area during windy periods and dry season. Austin, the house-man, is available to do the dishes and make the beds at an extra charge, please pay him directly.

All units can be reached with a sedan motor, unless very muddy or snowy. There is a cycling route around the mountain, 20 km, and a 5 km mountain climbing excursion which you may attempt at your own risk.

You can come as you are as there ain't no dress code, just some rural rules that you need to know: Don't mess with the bull as he can get real mean; Don't forget to shut the gate; Stay out of the beans; If it is green and steaming, don’t step in it; Respect all things great and small; Do not play with fire, and treasure the memories.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank Antonv1094
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2018

This is a very nice place to unwind and enjoy the spacious pretty surroundings. The unit offers everything one would require to make the stay an enjoyable one. This is a working farm, sheep calving and cattle surrounding the unit.
On the downside is that bats have nested in the apex of the thatch and there noises disturb ones sleep the whole night. If this problem were rectified everything thing else was top class.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Froneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2017

It is situated outside Clarens on a farm but really wasn't a problem to drive into town- having stayed in Clarens itself, I actually preferred the remoteness & peace of the farm. We stayed in the large farmhouse- very spacious and beautifully decorated. Lovely kitchen with everything you need including a view onto the cows grazing in front of the mountain!! Really it was just perfect- could not fault one thing. Austin helps clean and tidy the place so you really can just rest and relax. Wish we stayed longer! If you love nature, this is perfect! Can't wait for our next trip!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johancherisev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2017

What a lovely weekend at Lexi's, you will not be disappointed. The unit was so quaint, but with more than enough facilities. Cutlery and crockery to feed an army, complimentary rusks, milk and bottled water. Seriously comfortable bed. Absolutely stunning views (especially from the bath!!). And the peacefulness. We saw one other person during the weekend, and that was Austin waiting for us upon arrival. Oh, and the cows that grazed behind the unit. Other than that, nothing. It was sublime. We will definitely be back! I'm not sure how chilly it gets in winter, but there is a gas heater for the bedroom and an electric heater for downstairs. A fireplace would have been ideal, but that would mean we'll never leave the unit! Thank you so much Anton and Lene!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews