We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Froneman
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Tranquil

Review of Roodepoort Farm
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Mar 2018
This is a very nice place to unwind and enjoy the spacious pretty surroundings. The unit offers everything one would require to make the stay an enjoyable one. This is a working farm, sheep calving and cattle surrounding the unit.
On the downside is that bats have nested in the apex of the thatch and there noises disturb ones sleep the whole night. If this problem were rectified everything thing else was top class.
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 1 050
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    R 1 563
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 298
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 717
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    R 3 920
  • Vio.com
    R 3 528
  • eDreams
0.9 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front garden
  • Priceline
    R 1 500
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 484
  • eDreams
1.2 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free Wifi
Free parking
4x4 Lodge 2
R 670
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free parking
View of the Main building and garden area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 045
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 2 381
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 089
  • eDreams
18.5 km from Roodepoort Farm
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Clarens
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
6
1
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
1
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 9 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2017

It is situated outside Clarens on a farm but really wasn't a problem to drive into town- having stayed in Clarens itself, I actually preferred the remoteness & peace of the farm. We stayed in the large farmhouse- very spacious and beautifully decorated. Lovely kitchen with everything you need including a view onto the cows grazing in front of the mountain!! Really it was just perfect- could not fault one thing. Austin helps clean and tidy the place so you really can just rest and relax. Wish we stayed longer! If you love nature, this is perfect! Can't wait for our next trip!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johancherisev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2017

What a lovely weekend at Lexi's, you will not be disappointed. The unit was so quaint, but with more than enough facilities. Cutlery and crockery to feed an army, complimentary rusks, milk and bottled water. Seriously comfortable bed. Absolutely stunning views (especially from the bath!!). And the peacefulness. We saw one other person during the weekend, and that was Austin waiting for us upon arrival. Oh, and the cows that grazed behind the unit. Other than that, nothing. It was sublime. We will definitely be back! I'm not sure how chilly it gets in winter, but there is a gas heater for the bedroom and an electric heater for downstairs. A fireplace would have been ideal, but that would mean we'll never leave the unit! Thank you so much Anton and Lene!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

This was one of the most beautiful places I have stayed at. We stayed in the cottage for two nights and were truly spoilt.
The facility and view are exactly what we wanted for my wife and my weekend away.
True farm style living. Breathtaking views of the farm and mountains. Surrounded by nature in all its glory.

We didn't interact with the owners, but Austin greets us upon arrival. He even checked in with us the following day to make sure all was ok. Apart from the unruly neighbors that moved into the house next to us on our second night, who placed loud music to 2am, we thoroughly enjoyed it.

If you want a peaceful stay ( without the noisy neighbours) and enjoy such a beautiful part of South Africa, do yourself a Cavour and book Roodepoort Farm!!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We stayed in the massive 5 bedroom farmhouse, which was very clean and comfortable. Just a pity about the rat, which thieved our food and forced us to pack everything away every time we made food. Scared my Wife so much that she refused to go into the kitchen alone, as we saw the thing any time of day!!

Also, the farm is so badly sign posted that we got lost following the GPS coordinates and ended up driving a 4*4 route in our Sedan at night... Very friendly neighboring farmers pointed us in the right direction fortunately (seems its happened before).

The owners are not present and you get welcomed by an extremely friendly man that cleans and manages the house at a charge. All in all, the hike up the mountain is nice but we wont return as Clarens does have many better alternatives.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jason_Terence
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews